We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, i
2 reviews
“All in all a nice stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We are just back from a family break, where we stayed in the hotel itself for 3 nights. The Hotel has a brillant setting and lovely views and only a few steps from the beach.
Inside the rooms are average, but then I wasn't paying for or expecting 5 star luxury either.

The staff were excellent and more than helpful - helping with things as the cot/ and storage of milk for my sons' morning/night bottles.

We ate in the bar and restaurant - both very nice, again, as its a family restaurant, expect movement form kiddies over your meal.

The leisure area and pool area were good too and staff seemed friendly . There are lots of green areas for families to 'kick' a ball around too.

I only had a tiny issue - our room was over the games room. so there was a good bit of noise 'later' in the night from teenagers etc. This would have only effect a few rooms at the front of the hotel. As we had a toddler I was afraid he'd wake up. I would have like to have seen the front of the area 'policed for quietness' after midnight. As there were a few revealers having a full blown conversation very very late into the night outside the front of the hotel. That could have been avoided by a 'quietness policy'. As the area is so peaceful and quiet, the late night conversations could be heard! I said nothing to the hotel at the time -which I should have pointed it out as 'something that could improve'. And I'd like to stress again this issue would only have effected a few of the front rooms.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay. This is a fantastic FAMILY resort. And should our little fella been the correct age, I would have signed him up for the kiddies club.

You will need a car as its a little bit outside of the main town itself. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

for a lovely break.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for your review, I am glad we ticked most of the boxes for you. For the summer months families and children are our main foucs and we do what we can to ensure allare entertained suitably. My apologoes for the noisde from the games room, we try to have this clsed by 10.0opm for this reason but this must not have happened in this case. We look forward to seeing you again in the autumn. Yours sincerely Allen Mc Enery - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    233
    133
    47
    36
See reviews for
574
70
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dollingstown
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just back from three day stay - first time in Cork area.
Had originally booked for an apartment but family circumstances changed and the hotel kindly allowed us to transfer to stay in the hotel without any problems and at fairly short notice.
First impressions were that the location more than compensated for what is a fairly sraright forward 3 star hotel. Rooms and communal areas clean, staff very helpful with all queries including a request for us to view the apartmentsshould we choose to return or recommend back to the family.
There were a LOT of young children and familes (expected as this was mid July) which only became an issue late in the evening in the bar area as there was no enforcement of the 10.00pm "no children" rule.
Food grand - not exceptional. Attractions in the area varied and sufficient for the length of time we were there. Local people (including all levels of staff in the hotel) very friendly - our visit to Youghal town by taxi one evening included a full bar and restaurant review by the driver!
All in all, a pleasant stay helped by great weather and terrific beach. Terrific for family stays - think as a more mature holidayer, I would like a wee bit more luxury!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, I agree with you we are comfortable with our grading and have no effort to make annually when the inspectors come to grade and review the property. Our business is predominantly home holiday families during June, July & August, principally because of the types of accommodation and range of facilities we have, of course the blue flag beach is a huge plus. Good to hear the staff were all helpful and that you enjoyed your short break in East Cork. Yours sincerely Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed in 3 bedroom house. House clean and of good quality. Main concern was the area outside house. I counted at least 30 cigarette butts. The common areas are in serious need a proper cleaning. There is clearly little or no maintenance of the common area landscaping. The houses are expensive but at the very least the grounds should have been maintained to demonstrate this us what we paid for. Sadly this was not the case. The area around the hotel was also very badly maintained.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for you review and I am glad you found your accommodation clean and comfortable. We do have a landscaping copntracor maintain the grounds and also we have our own grounds staff so I am disappointed to hear you dod not find the site clean and tidy. I have put a daily checklist in place since I read your review and this is signed off daily by the Head Housekeper, this will hopefully up opiur appearance levels. Thanks again, Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Quality Hotel Youghal, which was recommended to me by a friend.
As a family of four we decided to stay in one of the lovely, well equipped 2 bedroom apartments, which were "home from home" for us.
Staff at hotel were extremely friendly and went the extra mile in helping us. Thanks to you all.
We eat in the Restaurant and in the Bar on a few occasions and overall the food was very good
Kids camp excellent and I even got treated to a massage in the Spa. It was heaven.
Hope to come back during the kids holidays in October, so see you all then

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymurphyindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I feel the need to write a review on this hotel - we have just returned from an amazing holiday in youghal. we stayed in the holiday homes also and they were superb. kids loved the pool and the beach this is just on the front door of the hotel.

we ate each night in the hotel The kids enjoyed a movie which they never wanted to miss. This gave us time to have a nice dinner in a restaurant that looks out onto the beach - the guy there at night gave us a window table which made us return every night Our little girl tripped and scratched her knee and the girls at reception were brillian giving her a sticker for being so brave. planning to go back again next time with my sisters family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliggy1Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We travelled from Tyrone to visit this "Quality" hotel and development. It took over 5 hours to reach our destination. We had planned to stay for 4 nights. This was quickly changed to 3 nights after 10 minutes of entering the hotel (which had a shattered pane of glass in the front door, dirty glass doors and sandy floors from dust on peoples shoes). Our first impression was not a good one. Then we got our key for our house from a very friendly and helpful Alana at reception. She listed all the amenities and gave us a map of the complex. On booking I had asked for a house close to the hotel if possible as we had 3 small children. This was granted. However, to get to the house, a nettle packed hedge was very difficult to avoid if you wanted to stay on the footpath. The interior of the house was clean and had a nice kitchen-living quarter, however, the bathrooms had cheap tacky lino. On visiting the upstairs there was a sign on the main shower to say it was broken. On looking out the window of the house all we could see was a derelict site with weeds and bushes growing wild-not a holiday view by any means. We complained to reception about the shower and they said a part was ordered, but the duty manager seemed to think that offering breakfast vouchers would appease the situation. We then reduced our stay by 1 night which was honoured (thankfully). Later, our boys wanted to go to the games room which was deplorable. They showed great excitement at the prospect of driving cars and playing air hockey but 4 games had signs to say they were broken. The floor was also dirty. On the next day we used the leisure facilities which we couldnt fault apart from 3 things-the hairdryers in the changing rooms were broken, the bubble machine in the childrens pool had been broken (for 6 years-as reported with a chuckle from attendant) and weeds were the peripheral view from what could be an amazing pool area. In saying that the experience of club vitae was pleasant. I had a massage that afternoon which was lovely but again the floor in the treatment room was not really clean - easy to see as my head was looking down at it during the whole time. That afternoon we went to youghal for dinner-was not even contemplating eating in hotel and had a fantastic time with the children in Perks entertainment centre which had bowling, balls area and great facilities. The kids loved it. We then got back to the house for our last night and had party revellers next door. This went on until 5am. We did not complain to management but left a sour taste especially with 3 small children. In general - the hotel does not understand the term "quality" or "maintenance". With such a fantastic setting this could be an amazing complex. Between "nettles", "Its Broken", the "chip van" at the entrance, creaky beds and floors and the antiquated shop of the 15th century at its door, this hotel and complex needs a complete overhaul. Management must be lacking!! We were close on doing the work ourselves. Thank god for a car and the pleasant days out we had at fota wildlife park and youghal. I hope the hotel decides to reinvest some money into the goldmine they are sitting on. The potential of this complex is just amazing!! I would love to get at it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TyroneTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor, we welcome all feedback and take on board all feedback both positive & negative. At the outset there are a number of things beyond our control, the chip van is not ours and we have tried to have it removed without success to date. The shop across the road is not ours however our guests like the idea of being able to get beach products and maybe an icecream. The hotel is a busy one located right on the beach, having traces of sand everywhere is one of the only downsides to such a location, the sand is carried on shoes and in the wind and we have a full time housekeeper looking after public area's from 1 to 10 daily. We are in the family leisure market and footballs & sliothar's aboud, unfortunately the players might not all get on the Cork team, accidents happen and windows get broken. There is a four day leadtime on plate glass which is the glass that was required. The footpath that you refer to is the property of the council and I take fullly on board your comments, it is lucky we are at the end of a reasonalby quiet road. I have asked them to tend to the roadside. The hotel site is fully landscaped and the grounds are maintained by a landscaping contractor. I am not sure where you were located but we do not own any of the adjacent land, part is owned by a local farmer and the rest by Cork County Council. The houses are fitted out to four star standards and are annually reviewed by Failte Ireland inspectors. There are three shower / bathrooms in all houses, all with linoleum flooring, it wasn't cheap, but is certainly more suitable for upstairs bathrooms than tiling and can be renewed easily. The beds are Sealey beds which are the most expensive contract bed on the market, we have not had any negative feedabck on these before.
I am not trying to be defensive but I am trying not to mislead other customers who read this review, we are a very popular destination for the home holiday leisure market and we take our business seriously, we go out of our way to ensure high levels of customer satisfaction for both adults & children. We are not perfect but do try our best to deliver good customer care, of the 117 reviews on Tripadvisor 84% of these are positive. Yours sincerley Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Booked 4 day trips for elderly and cancelled the last two. The first day was ok . We had orderd chicken dinners which we got but they were bland and not very hot. On the second trip the dinners were cold and had to be sent back to be heated up. Then the tea was served and finished before we got our desserts. When we asked for more gravy we were told we got it on the previous trip and we didn't use it !!! When I paid the bill I complained to the manager on duty .He did apologise but was indifferent. It was v quiet the two days we were there and I feel the quality of the food and service really left the place down. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and has so much more potential.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmullane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
314 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,069 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
18.8 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing