We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely takeaway”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Doyles Family Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 29 Restaurants in Youghal
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely takeaway”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

the food was lovely and fairly cheap as takeaways go soft drinks a bit expensive though service was fast and fiendly

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rachel012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for basic food.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a take away with a restaurant by the side of it. You are assured of good value for your money and a very enjoyable meal. It might be basic but the staff are friendly and attentive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wont be back”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very disappointing breakfast here, it looked nice from the outside. That and the fact that it was the only place we could find open on a Sunday morning made the decision for us. I should have known when I smelled the old oil inside that this wasnt going to be too good.
Full Irish breakfast was the order, my egg egg was very undercooked, the yolk was still clear in some places so that was scraped away to one side. My grilled tomato was still hard as well but they managed to overcook the white pudding. Toast was cold and despite the promise on the menu on unlimited coffee top-ups, there was no sign of anybody going around offering more coffee, too busy talking to each other behind the counter. The coffee was old coffepot type and very weak so I wouldn't have been going back for too much more anyway. I'm sure there are better places to eat, unfortunately they just weren't open.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr0ginexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hidden beside their chip shop is doyles cafe. It's a food hall type layout with a mix of food from nachos (yum) to full on steak.

I visited youghal on a working trip & found it great for lunch (plus the coffee is great)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eriko411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
654 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Less than Average”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

despite some rave reviews I was disappointed when I recently visited . The service was slow and the portion sizes small ( large chips werent really big enough for 1 !!)

We were not asked what we wanted on our hot dogs so had to spend time washing off the mustard !!

Maybe it just wasnt a good night

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coughandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doyles Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Youghal, County Cork
 

Been to Doyles Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing