We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth getting off the by pass for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were driving from Cork to Waterford and decided to drive into Youghal for a snack in the evening time. We wandered up the main street passing a lot f closed and for sale shops and businesses until we came across this lovely place. Theres a pub bistro attached to an old hotel so we decided to have a look. Its a very nice old fashioned place with an abundance of staff, a nice relaxed informal atmosphere and a menu that seriously undersells itself. As mentioned we were only having a snack unfortunately as when i was served the mushroom soup i ordered, it came in a kettle, was poured into a bowl which had a small island in its centre topped with a garnish i couldn't identify but tasted delicious. the soup also was wonderful and as we sat, my wife just had coffee, we watched all sorts of attractively presented dishes passing us to the lucky diners in the bar. the prices were very reasonable, the staff were plentifull and friendly and we decided we would stop off the main road shortly on our wy again to Cork and have the whole shebang. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Hugh B,
Thank you for your very kind words in relation to your visit with ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you again if you are passing by and have time to detour.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

i didn't stay at the hotel but i did have dinner in the restaurant last night - one of the best meals i've had in ages - gourmet quality, friendly service and great price/quality ratio... i had the set menu (three courses for €25), which included an appetizer of fish with thai curry sauce, a main course of chicken with irish bacon and panna cotta for dessert... we were offered extra steamed vegetables along with potatoes gratin... if you're a wine lover, the rioja is slightly better than the chilean... my 3 dining companions were equally impressed with their own selections (steak, salmon, etc.)... we waddled out of there glowing with delight - one of the best meals i've had so far this year!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank LHS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear LHS3,
Thank you for your positive words about your dining experience with ourselves. We always strive to provide a value for money experience here and we are glad that your party left contented by our endeavours. We hope to look after you again in the future.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Based on the reviews of Trip advisor ,we stayed here last weekend and were delighted with our stay. What really stands out is the friendliness and enthusiasm of all the staff. Everyone of them are a credit to this hotel and a credit to Irish hospitality.
Our room, room 2 was facing the back of the hotel and was large and comfortable. The food here is exceptional and be warned, portions are huge. Youghal is a lovely heritage town with plenty of interesting activities. We got the bus into Cork city, a short bus ride away and enjoyed the shopping there.
We would stay here again especially for the very reasonable cost and for all of the facilities on offer. We booked directly with the hotel by e-mail .
Thank you and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear madmartina,
I want to say a heartfelt thanks for the wonderful words regarding the team here at the hotel. Mark in the kitchen and myself out front, are very fortunate to have such a friendly crew here, and it is nice for them to be recognised as being a credit to the industry by you the customer. Thank you and we hope to look after you again should you be in Youghal in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went there on a Christmas do back in 2013 and it was hands down top 5 places I have ever eaten in the portions where massive and so tastey it made me feel bad for not being able to finish them, the pints where good too (and for non drinkers a pint of coke etc where well priced) well worth stopping in if your ever down that part of the world.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Joe o,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on us. We appreciate immensely that you are happy to recommend us as a dining choice and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have nothing but praise for the exceptional service offered by the management and staff of the Old Imperial Hotel in Youghal. Hubs and I very rarely get any time away from our brood, and we couldn't have stayed anywhere nicer. We were very kindly accommodated in Room 8 (The Bianconi Suite) - which is well appointed, absolutely beautiful, and overlooks the old town walls to the back of the hotel. I don't think I've ever slept so well - huge bed, really comfortable. Everything was neat and clean and as it ought to be, and bottled water was left in our room, as well as tea and coffee - especially thoughtful, given the warm weather. We had the most delicious dinner in the restaurant. The menu was well thought out, and our meals were presented so attractively. It is clear that the kitchen is run by someone who is gifted at what they do. Little touches like caramelised walnuts in the salad and home-made marmalades and breads show the love and attention to detail the kitchen excels at. I cannot recommend the hotel and restaurant highly enough. THANK YOU, to both of the Marks, for making our little escape so nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mimzy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Mimzy00,
It was a pleasure having you stay albeit a brief excursion for you, and may I say thank you for your positively exuberant review of your stay. We hope to be able to play host again should you get the chance to escape again.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Old Imperial Hotel. It is conveniently located in the centre of the town with free parking to the rear of the hotel, accessed through an archway from the Main Street. The room was on the third floor, nicely decorated and with Velux windows. Free wifi was also available. There is no lift in the hotel which was not an issue for me as I was glad of the exercise, but may be an issue for some.

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening. The food was very nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant. Hot breakfast is made to order and there is also a cold breakfast selection. I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, which was very tasty and a good portion for breakfast.

The staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and welcoming. They are also very informative on the best scenic routes to travel in the area. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank JNI4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear JoanneNI
Thank you for your detailed and positive review. Your kind words go a long way with the team that we are lucky to have here. We hope to be able to take care of you again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Thank you to all the management and staff of the old imperial for making our break special, my aunt who is a regular customer, we dinned with her last night with her, food was fabulous, staff was brilliant, owner, both marks were fab! We will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Morrisson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Morrisson24
Thank you for taking the time to write your review relating to your time in our care. It was a pleasure having you stay and your aunt is a gem, a pleasure to have as a customer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future sometime.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
20.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: $99 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing