We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently went for dinner in the old imperial and i have to say it was excellent especially there tempura prawns.Good value for money aswell.We didn't stay at the hotel so I can't comment on the rooms but if its great food you after definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eamfwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear eamfwal,
Thank you for your positive words. We appreciate each customer equally and are glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to playing host again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    58
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
117
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great weekend in the old imperial for a group of lads. Friendly service, GREAT food and clean rooms. The location is good as youghal is long and spread out, so this is ideal for getting to everything. We even met the lovely Erin from the front desk out in the town, who recognised us and joined us for a few drinks. Great place, hopefully it will be there for a long time

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face away from the Main Street and may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binomial_equation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Binomial_Equation,
Thank you for your kind words. The kitchen team especially appreciate the positive feedback and Erin plays a blinder at all times and is a pleasure to have as part of our friendly team. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just home after another lovely night in this hotel and as I expected everything was wonderful. Rooms are large and spotless. Food is exceptional for a small hotel I'm not a full irish breakfast eater and love the choice of fish dishes on the breakfast menu can really recommend the smoked haddock with poached eggs but was really tempted by the baked eggs with chorizo maybe next time :) we had the calamari for lunch after seeing other reviews and weren't disappointed washed down by a nice glass of wine sitting out in the sun it was bliss . Staff are all very friendle and helpful. we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manningTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear manningTipp,
Thank you for for your very kind words relating to your stay. It makes it all worthwhile when our guests are happy with their experience. The whole team appreciate the positive review. We hope to see you again and hopefully the weather will be as nice the next time you are in Youghal.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a meal here with my partner on a recent visit to Youghal because of having seen this hotel feature on the tv program "At your Service". We loved the ambiance and the devil may care feeling we got from our visit. We were promptly given menus, and our orders were taken exactly when we were ready.
Our food arrived in a timely fashion, from the kitchen,and I thought I would nearly order the smokies a second time, delicious. I would heartily recommend the restaurant here, and will look forward to a return visit, next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Johnjonea,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to ourselves. We are glad as a team that you enjoyed your meal and everything was as you would expect. We look forward to playing host again should you be in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We hadn't expected to be staying in Youghal but a clutch failure two hours from the ferry forced us to spend two days and a night. We chose the hotel from it' s looks out of a choice of three and we found a gem! An hotel full of character. The room was very comfortable with all the facilities. The Manager, Mark Johnston, who did everything from serving behind the bar to waiting (and managing a tightly run establishment) couldn't do enough for us when he heard of our plight even arranging a late check out for us while we waited for the car to be repaired.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedAdmiral4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear RedAdmiral4
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here. We only wish your stay could have been under better circumstances for yourselves. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again should you be in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hubby had a spot of business in Cobh on Monday morning so we decided to head to overnight in Youghal on Sunday and chose the Imperial.I hadn't seen the RTE programme featuring the hote but had read the glowing tripadvisor reviews. Leaving Dublin in the morning in pleasant weather,the plan was to have a gentle walk for a couple of hours, followed by perhaps a quck dip before dinner. What silly sausages we were - we forgot that it is late June in Ireland and the weather deteriorated as we headed west. By the time we got to Youghal, it was coming down in buckets and stayed that way all day.This resulted in a retreat to the bar with the Sunday newspapers and this is when we got the first inkling that we were in for a treat.
Creamy pints of Murphy and a very good choice of interesting wines by the glass, together with genuinely friendly service and an upbeat atmosphere despite the weather suggested a well run establishment. A couple of hours was whiled away quite painlessly listening to the banter of the very happy staff and the warm welcome afforded to tourists and locals alike.
Our room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with good colour combinations. We had been warmly welcomed by Phil on reception and she immediately dealt with a minor matter in the bathroom. And so to dinner - as others have said the quality and variety of food is excellent. We were served by co-owner Mark G. and he was one of the most relaxed, genuine people we have met in the hotel business anywhere in the world.His front of house expertise is complemented beautifully by the great cooking going on in the kitchen headed by his partner Mark J. Highlights of dinner included a salmon pie starter, beautifully cooked and generously portioned hake with tapenade and what hubby described as the best pork belly he has ever had - and he has had a few!Oh and the superb poppy seed and mini wholemeal loaf with which we guaranteed our inability to do more than just sample one lovely desert between us.We shared a lovely mellow rioja,Zuago Gaston, at the very reasonable price of 21 euros.
Mark G. was bright eyed and bushy tailed at breakfast the following morning and once again, the standard of the food was excellent. Apart from the cold buffet , they offer the kind of cooked choices more typical of 5 star hotels and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and poached eggs with naturally smoked haddock was superb.
We told Mark on leaving that we will return and we will. While hubby was in Cobh for a couple of hours on Monday morning, I went on my own personal tour of Youghal (there's a great free App available now) It is a fabulous town - anyone remotely interested in history or architecture would have a wonderful time exploring the town. The Collegiate Church and it's grounds and wall are worth the trip alone. So see you again Mark and Mark - we are loving your work and can't wait to sample your hospitality and food again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear GoggsDublin
Thank you for taking the time to write you a positive and upbeat review. We all work together here as a team rather department designated staff. You have to be able to laugh and smile as well as doing your job is our opinion here. Mark J and his team greatly appreciate your positive words on your meals. We again, thank you and hope to welcome you again, should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked in a large group (18 people) for a team building weekend in Youghal in June 2013.
All the staff were incredibly welcoming, professional and warm and we all felt very relaxed throughout the weekend.

The hotel rooms were very clean and stylish.

We had a meal on Saturday night which was excellent in terms of quality and value for money, if anything I felt that the portions were a little too generous as most of us waddled out of the restaurant after two courses.

The Hotel is located near many bars and restaurants and a small beach. Yet the rooms were quiet despite being in the heart of town.

We got some local insights from the staff and had a drink in Tynan's Pub down the road - probably the best kept secret in Ireland, if it was in Dingle, it would be the most famous pub in Ireland!

All the members of the group commented on the relaxing atmosphere in the hotel, created by the friendly and efficient staff. Many of them will go back again for the food if not to stay with their families.

Erin, Phil, Mark and everyone else...thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Oisin D
Thank you very much for your uplifting review regarding your stay with us. It means a lot to us that you saw the unity we have as a team, here in the hotel. The kitchen team appreciate the positive words also. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
20.5 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing