We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the Imperial Hotel last Saturday night,were really surprised by the high standard of both accommodation and food,,staff and management were very polite and efficient,.we were amazed at how busy the dining room was but not surprised as the food was delicious and well presented,a hotel with a good atmosphere.We had seen the Tv programme and glad to say it exceeded our expectations,will be back.Josie

Room Tip: very spacious and quiet room at back,second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Josie H
Thank you for your uplifting words, it's nice to hear that we made your stay with us an enjoyable one. The kitchen team thank your for your positive words also. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you be in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
105
130
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. The hotel is very clean and the food is great.
Both Management and Staff were so friendly and helpful. We visit that area a few times a year
as we have friends living in the locality but this was our first time staying in this hotel but most
definitely is not our last .... we will be back. Thank you Mark and Co...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnelll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Vova
Thank you for your positive review. Your kind words are encouraging and ensure we continue to improve our standards here at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had seen the programme on RTE and 3 of us went there last night. Just as well my neighbour who was treating us booked a table as it was very busy. Lovely welcome and great buzz. The food was superb. Varied menu and something a little different too. Portions are substantial but very well presented. We will definitely go back and will be a great stop off going to or from Cork. Well done to Mark and his colleague.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staherIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear StaherIreland
Thank you for your kind words. They make everything we do here as a team worthwhile. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I come back to Youghal for a visit every few months months having grown up nearby and with many relatives living locally. I started making this fine establishment a fixture about 12 months ago. My repeat business is purely down to quality product that they deliver in terms of food, fun, ambience and general feeling of belonging. I love the front bar and it has been kept the same as it was in my Dads youth ( he is in his 70s), love the old worldly feel and the open fire and the random chats at the bar. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and I shall be back in a month or so...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PamNiMhuiriosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear PamNiMhuiriosa
Thank You for your very upbeat review and it is uplifting for us as a team, to know that we are providing a service that you feel is worthy of return visits. We look forward to welcoming you back in a month or so.
Best wishes.
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took a detour to sample the food after seeing at your service last week, Mark was super friendly. The place was very busy but was well staffed. We shared chicken wings to start which are not for the faint hearted but they were the nicest chicken wings we've probably ever had. For main I had the steak sandwich and my husband had a chicken burger. We were both delighted with our choice and the twice cooked chips are amazing, portions are very big, All in all, well worth a visit and we will return soon to stay the night and have a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swtcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Swtcarm
Thank you for taking to the time to sample what we have on offer and we are glad that you enjoyed your hospitality whilst in our care. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First impressions: Old pub. Didnt know what to make of it.
Food arrived and I was WOWed.
There is no need to go into so much detail cos in short its amazing. Check it out if you are in Youghal and if your not down there make it your business to go there. What an experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyCoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear NickyCoyne
Thank you for your very positive words, they are appreciated greatly. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork city
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm from Youghal so have only eaten here but to reiterate what many have said before me regards the food - it's gorgeous. I had lunch here yesterday with my father as we work near by and call in the odd time for food. I had the steak baguette sandwich and he had the sausages and mash. There was nothing to fault, servings were massive - I've yet to finish a meal in here but there's nothing worse then a small helping of food.

My steak was cooked exactly how I wanted it (rare), the twice cooked chips were huge and tasty, the home made onion rings are probably the nicest I've ever eaten and the homemade pepper sauce is also beautiful. My father loved his mash & sausage aswell, which was accompanied by gravy which was full of flavour.

Staff are attentative, atmosphere is always good in there and the place is always busy which is great to see. Top Marks to the lads!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEJACorkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear PEJACorkcity
Thank you for your very uplifting words. They make the hard work worthwhile and its nice for the kitchen team to get a boost as they slog away behind the scenes.
Thank you gain for rating the whole package here, we are in your debt.
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,676 reviews
14.3 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing