We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Arrived. Late last night booked in had an amazing gormet meal. Rooms are spotless beds comfy and an amazing breakfast !! Buzzing bar and friendly staff !I would recommend if you are travelling through Ireland it's a quaint town not to miss!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul meekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Paul Meekin
Your thoughtful review has been appreciated by all the team here at the hotel. We all work together as a team and try to make it a fun environment for everyone. Thank you again for your thoughtful words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 390 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Really lovely vibe in this hotel. Room was fairly standard but nice / very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar and breakfast; the food was fabulous. Stayed over for the Sean Kelly an Post cycle as Dungarvan was booked out: perfect choice, will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Feoil,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the kind words. The rooms are all currently being redecorated, some finished and the rest being slotted in as time allows, so you should notice a change the next time you are in youghal!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is only a small hotel but has a BIG heart. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, always asking how we were etc. Our room was spotless and spacious. The food was second to none and so reasonably priced for the portion size. Overall a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

The only thing we had an issue with, which may I add had nothing to do with the hotel was Expedia/Venere who we booked with. If you book through either of these companies I would contact the hotel first. I will never book through them again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareski1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Clareski1892
Thank you for your heartfelt review it is very much appreciated i can assure you! It is nice to be described as having a big heart. We strive to ensure our guests all get the attention they deserve whilst in our care. We hope to see you again in the future!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and myself stayed in your hotel for a three night duration from lst to 4th august and enjoyed it thoroughly. The location is perfect and what can we say about the staff only brilliant so courteous helpful and friendly from Mark down to every member. Its so heartwarming and must be great when foreigners visit. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Mary C
We all are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Youghal. Both Mark in the kitchen and myself out front are delighted to hear that the team we are lucky to have made your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have just stayed the weekend, the staff are very friendly, courteous and efficient.
The food is stunning, large portions and tastes so good.
A great place to stay in Youghal.
Wishing Mark and all the staff good luck in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Kevin k
Thank you for taking the time to review us, its nice to hear that as a team we all performed as we should during your stay with us. Thank you for your thoughts on the food and its the kind words of encouragement that make us work at improving what provide!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal here. Though early in the evening, the restaurant was quite busy but we were served quickly and efficiently . The food quality and presentation was exeptional, so much so that we were able to enjoy the generous helpings of all three courses we selected from a varied menu, It left us in no doubt that the chef and the rest of the kitchen staff appreciated that the food they prepare reflects their skill and talent while also respecting their paying guests.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear William s
Thank you for your review. The Kitchen crew appreciate the kind words and they do put a lot of effort into making sure each dish gets the attention it deserves before it reaches its destination in front of our paying guests. Our original plan was to provide quality food at a reasonable price and we strive to achieve that each day.
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for one night this week. We were made to feel very, very welcome by the reception staff. The room is clean and comfortable with an excellent spacious bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurant at night so cannot comment on that, but the breakfast the next morning was very good - probably the best hotel 'full Irish' that I have had in a long time.
Two small niggles - we were in room 12 and I think the room had too much furniture. We felt we were moving chairs around all the time. An easy chair is good, but two and a table in a small room is a little over ,the top. Also there was no soap or shampoo in the room. Only discovered when soaking wet and already late for a meeting in Cork. No big deal, as we say 'it could happen a bishop'.
A good hotel with excellent, staff in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Santiagowalking
Thank you for your review and your kind words about our crew here. I take on board your point with the table and chairs however we have guidelines that we must adhere to as hoteliers and a necessary requirement is "an easy table and two chairs per room". We thank you for your understanding on the shampoos situation and that we can assure you won't be happening again. We learn something new every day from speaking to our guests and getting their feedback and it keeps us on our toes. thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Mark Golden
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,764 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
9.4 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: $99 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing