We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
BÁC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel – great staff”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights with a special offer voucher. The hotel looks quite run down from the outside but don’t be put off as the inside is lovely. The reception, bar etc have all been recently redecorated in a very tasteful fashion. We were glad to see it had been done in keeping with the old style of the building. The rooms are currently being refurbished. We were in one of the ones which hasn’t been done yet but it was still really nice with a lovely large and very comfortable bed and a great view of the sea. The only problem we had was that the window seal was almost completely gone but I’m sure this will be addressed when the room is being re-done. We ate in the bar on the first night and the food was excellent. All the staff in the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our only complaint was that breakfast was a bit poor. The options were very limited and the cooked breakfast and porridge were not great. It was a bit of a disappointment compared to the quality of the dinner. Maybe this is something that the hotel could look into. However, I would still recommend it as a good place to stay in Youghal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

Your kind comments are appreciated by all here, we hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again when are refurbishment works are completed.

Warm wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    68
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
108
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the weekend and have nothing but good comments to say about it.
The staff are beyond excellent and just cant do enough for you. I cant wait to go back when they have finished renovating it as what they have done so far is lovely and modern. The view was briliant when i woke up i thought i was in the middle of the ocean it was beautiful.
Every one in Youghal must walk and the whole way along the strand are exercise machines that you would find in a gym so if you are health conscious and love to walk then this is deffo the place to go. Everything was great no complaints and we will definitely be back for more. About a 40min drive into Cork city which is a shoppers paradise.

Pauline , Michael Butler.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pollywollyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Pauline,

From all the team at the Walter Raleigh Hotel we wish to express our thanks and appreciation for your kind review.

It is always so rewarding to be acknowleged for our efforts in making your stay as pleasant as you outlined .

We hope that you do indeed visit us again here in Youghal in the near future,

Best Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Was passing and decided to stop here for a coffee and a scone as i had heard it was under new management and undergoing refurbishment. On entering hotel you a greeted by a lovely bright, clean reception with plenty of space and some lovely seating areas. We sat in the bar which is a bit dark and could do with some more lighting. We ordered our tea/coffee and scones we promptly received our tea & coffee but where had to wait another 20 mintutes for our scones which in my opinion is far to long when it is something that does not have to be cooked and at a price of €11.80 for 2 scones and a tea & coffee which in my opinion is a bit excessive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to outline your recent experience at the Walter Raleigh Hotel.

We are indeed in the process of renovating the hotel and are delighted our new reception area is to your liking.
I am disappointed that you feel you were waiting too long for scones, they should not have taken so long. Our scones are baked fresh each morning, perhaps they may not have been quite ready at that time of the morning but you should have been infomed of this; please accept my apologies.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My daughter and new son in law celebrated their wedding dinner at this hotel - and it was superb! The owners and manageress could not do enough for us - beautiful Christmas decorations lit the way around, subdued lighting with little coloured spotlights on curtains to create atmosphere, very well trained and friendly staff, a great dance floor - we had a ball!
Everything went like clockwork and I know we were thrilled with the hotel - which is now under new management and , by God!, I know you can expect the best when they finish some of the renovations they are planning. Great value, great food, great time - really I was delighted with the great effort the new owners put into the wedding for us. A great venue for a wedding !

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front and you wake up with the sea in front of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kierangroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kieran,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post that wonderful review, it was very kind of you.

From all the team here we wish Maeve & Tony all the best for their future together!
They are a lovely couple and a pleasure to work with while planning their special day.

We will hopefully see you again soon Kieran when we repoen at the end of January,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a charming old-fashioned hotel with personable staff who are attentive and helpful beyond the call of duty. The hotel is situated in a wonderful location overlooking a seaside park where I played as a young child so bringing back some very happy memories. Breakfast was simple but well presented and contained the best of Irish ingredients. It was also really very good value for money. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Youghal, Co Cork.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the front of the hotel facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind review which is very much appreciated by us all here.

It is always so rewarding to receive kind comments like your own and definately improves staff morale and motivation.

We hope to welcome you here again in the future,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Walter Raleigh Hotel and were very pleasantly surprised having read some negative reviews on here. Firstly, I can't say enough good things about the staff. We travel a lot and they were probably the friendliest we have ever met! We think the guy who checked us in was called Thomas (we asked one of the girls). He was so friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived he just set the tone for the whole weekend and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. He also served us our breakfast the next morning and made sure we had plenty of everything. The same goes for the rest of the staff. They're a credit to the hotel.
We stayed in room 33 on the third floor. It wasn't the largest room we've stayed in and the bathroom was pretty small too, but that's not something that bothers us and it is an old building after all. The hotel bar is immaculate. It looks like it has been recently refurbished. Nothing wrong with the Guinness either. Or the Murphy's. We had the full Irish breakfast both mornings. It was perfect. Top quality food and plenty of it with no waiting around. After breakfast we brought our tea out to the reception area to read the papers and were asked if we needed a refill.
If we ever find ourselves in Youghal again we will definitely be staying at the Walter Raleigh Hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molloy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

From all the team at the Walter Raleigh Hotel we wish to express our thanks and appreciation for your kind review.

It is always so rewarding to be acknowleged for our efforts in making your stay as pleasant as you outlined .

We hope to see you stay with us again in the near future,

Best Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went here on a living social deal,if we paid full price i would be pretty annoyed at the hotel,the staff we beyond friendly and helpful and saved the hotel,the hotel itself reminded me of faulty towers increadibly outdated,would be almost charming if not for the toilet paper thin walls,the lift is beyond scary it shakes and rattles so much.we got a free meal in the hotel,we ended up having it in the bar early as we wanted to look around the town,but the food was bland and basic,tasted like it came from tesco value and upset my stomach so much we had to go straight home the rest of the day ruined.ok if you needed a quick over night hotel but would not reccomend for couples

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HappyDee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us and may I thank you for your kind comments about our team here.

It is unfortunate that you did not bring it to our attention on the evening that you dined that your meal was unsatisfactory as we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify the situation and discuss this with you.

Please be informed that The Walter Raleigh Hotel has changed ownership within the last month and will close in January for work to commence on extensive renovations.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,570 reviews
13.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
9.7 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walter Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walter Raleigh Hotel

Property: Walter Raleigh Hotel
Address: O'Brien's Place, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walter Raleigh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old building, well kept to a high standard. Set on the outskirts of Youghal town, nestled perfectly on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. Beautiful sandy beaches at our front door, with miles of walk way along sandy beaches & country settings. A perfect, peaceful, relaxing setting, enjoy fishing, canoeing, boating, shopping, hunting, clay pigeon shooting, cycling, at The Walter Raleigh we have it all covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walter Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing