We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault this B&B”
Review of Avonmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avonmore House
Ranked #2 of 7 Youghal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I usually stay in hotels but i must say , after staying here, i will definitely be back. The house itself is gorgeous, a big old house, obviously very well looked after.The owners are very welcoming and friendly but not a bit intrusive, as i have found with b&bs in the past! The bedroom was very big and beautifully decorated and it was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in.The bathroom was also lovely and the place was spotless.Breakfast was delicious, go for the full Irish :) A great place to stay with free parking and very near everything.Looking forward to staying here again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the front of the house, lovely big windows and a nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Avonmore House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first real experience with a B&B and our first trip to Ireland. The accommodations were excellent - clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were enjoyed by our whole party and the location to town was very convenient. We walked most of the time. The hosts - Jack & Eileen were welcoming and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend Avonmore House to anyone traveling in that area.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, the front rooms on the top floor have a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Overnighted at Avonmore House in March 2013. Central location, very clean, freshly renovated room to a high standard. Lovely couple hosting us. Cooked breakfast was delicious. Provided helpful advice for our onward journey. Much appreciated.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My partner and I have been travelling and working for almost two years since leaving New Zealand and this is easily the best place we have stayed in the entire time!

The hosts were friendly and helpful.
Try the full Irish cooked breakfast, simply delicious.
We had tea and coffee making facilities in our room.
The room was spacious and comfortable, with an amazing en-suite.
Our bed was large and comfortable, as was the sofa in the room.

The bedroom and en-suite were immaculately clean!
There was free parking in the yard out front.

I really do believe there is nothing you could fault this place on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent one night at the Avonmore House and it was a great experience.
The bedroom was very spacious with a large bathroom (equipped with a great bathtub).

The building is old and well refurbished but you can hear the doors opening and closing and it's quite cold.

The breakfast was great, and the service too. A very good experience overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pralthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice place. We had a very large room on the upper floor with a comfortable king size bed. It had a great shower in the bathroom. The Wi-Fi didn't work well upstairs, but we were able to use it in the sitting room downstairs.

Breakfast included a few choices, but mostly in terms of how you wanted your eggs prepared. There was a little fruit, yoghurt and cold cereal available.

Parking was right in front. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the best B&B we stayed at. Youghal is pronounced y'all. It's within walking distance to town center, clean, and had very large rooms with a full bath. The breakfast was great. Wifi worked pretty well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madtownponydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.2 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
9.3 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore House

Address: Avonmore House South Abbey, Youghal, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Price Range: $105 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avonmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing