We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Avonmore!”
Review of Avonmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avonmore House
Ranked #3 of 7 Youghal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently visited Ireland and had the pleasure of staying one night at this excellent B & B. We stayed in a second floor front room which was spacious, clean and very comfortable with an up to date en-suite bathroom. Our hosts Jack and Eileen made us very welcome and were extremely helpful with internet access, recommendations for pubs/restaurants as well as local tourist spots to visit. The location was within walking distance to local pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay at this B & B again! Excellent value for our money.

Kindest Regards,
Patricia & Bill Binks

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack G, Owner at Avonmore House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, appreciate you took the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

The accomodation was wonderful with all our needs catered for. Our room had all the comforts that gave us a pleasant and enjoyable stay. The locality was very convenient for restaurants and pubs. Our hosts Jack and Eileen made us very welcome and we will plan to return on our next visit. The breakfast was outstanding and all in all we had a grand time and the value for money was just an additional benefit.
Kind Regards
Jerry & Margaret (Bristol)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack G, Owner at Avonmore House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated, it is nice you took the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our room at the front of the house was above average size for a B&B and very comfortable with beautiful fabrics - it even included two armchairs and a coffee table and a jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was delicious. Only a few minutes walk to the centre of Youghal and less than an hours drive to Cork. All in all an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack G, Owner at Avonmore House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, appreciate you took the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at Avonmore House and had a great time there. The location of the B&B in Youghal is suberb, very central, in walking distance for lots of bars and restaurants as well as to the harbour and the beaches. The rooms are very clean and friendly and quite spacious. Bathrooms are very clean and nice (facilities are quite new and the shower was the best we had while staying at four B&B and hotels in Ireland!). Every room has a tea making set and TV; bathrooms are en suite.
The breakfast was lovely and delicious, full Irish breakfast was really "full", including black pudding etc. Best breakfast we enjoyed in Ireland.
Jack and Eileen were very friendly and helpful hosts and gave us great recommendations for bars and restaurants as well as for sightseeing tours.
Thanks again for the very nice stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk_mueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack G, Owner at Avonmore House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Appreciate you took time out to post this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent 3 Day stay with our hosts Jack and Eileen, First class accomodation, comfortable,
spotless room. The full Irish Breakfast was something to behold. The location could not be
better with the proximity of Bars and Restaurants in town. Nothing was too much trouble for
our hosts. Highly recommended. Brian & Kate/ Goldwingers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianKategoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from 2 wonderful nights at Avonmore house, Youghal, Co. Cork. Jack and Eileen were perfect hosts- very friendly.Recommended some lovely restaurants ( Luigi's Sciilian restaurant was fantastic-by far the best!). Beautiful spacious room , with fantastic en suite. Spotless! Great veggie breakfasts and our carnivore buddies were very happy too. Great location. Will def. be back.

Room Tip: We were inon 2nd floor, at rear of house. Quiet. Slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived back to Galway relaxed after a wonderful weekend spent in Avonmore House B & B in Youghal. . 6 of us in total, 3 rooms. Met by owner Jack as we arrived on our Goldwings. . Beaming smile, we immediately felt at home. We were shown to our rooms, all as we had requested. Followed by recommendations where to eat and what to do. All spot on tips by the way Jack, well done. Breakfast and service first class. Jack makes amazing homemade bread. . No request was too much. Goldwing treffen in Youghal won't be forgotten, thanks to Jack and family for warm Irish hospitality. The Galway/Mayo crew

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelforlife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Youghal hotels
0.2 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roseville
Roseville
#1 of 7 in Youghal
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.1 mi away
Glen House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore House

Address: Avonmore House South Abbey, Youghal, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Price Range: $79 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avonmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing