We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Family Holiday in Cork”
Review of Carleton Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carleton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Family Holiday in Cork”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've just returned from a 1 weeks stay in a 3 bedroom villas at the carleton village. The house was spotless with lovely crisp white cotton bedclothes and white fluffy towels. All the luxury of a hotel with the convenience of self catering!

The kitchen had everything you could possible need and with a 3 year old and 18 month old was invaluable. There is so much to do in this area of cork, Fota, Leahys Farm, Aura Leisure Centre and of course all the beautiful beaches - enough to keep any family busy for the week. Our only disappointment was that we didn't have a view from the villa which would have been the icing on the cake. Having discussed it with the staff who couldn't have been more helpful we now know what to ask for when we most definitely return next year (or maybe a long weekend this year if we're lucky!)

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a family getaway or just to see this beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Tip: If you really love your views go for the apartments where you are gauranteed a view of youghal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This place was great, we really enjoyed our time there. The apartment had a gorgeous view over the town and the water. It was spacious, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. There is a lovely beach nearby which is nice for walks and the town has everything you need (supermarkets, restaurants, pubs etc). It's easy driving distance to places like Cobh, Fota Island and Cork City too. Very relaxing place, highly recommend it - we have been 3 times now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

great place.ideal for families or couples.Spotless clean grounds.villa was very spacious fully fitted with all our requirements.Small swimming pool on site.Very close to beach,town with lots of restaurants and bars and very close to fully equiped leisure centre.Kids had a ball.will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romantic030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was our second year in Youghal and the views were outstanding. Joan, David and staff attend to your every need. It is puzzling of why anyone would stay anywhere else especially with the convenience, and value.

The are lots of little restaurants in the town to eat at and it is just a short walk to town.

I hope to have many more visit back the Carleton Village.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonB021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Ron,

Thanks very much for the review, we hope to see you and your lovely wife again this year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Carleton Village along with my parents recently. We booked the apartment through the Super Value holiday deals, so we got the week here for €300. Our first impression wasn’t great as the hallways are a bit dingy and smell a bit damp. However the apartment itself was lovely, bright and airy with beautiful views over the ocean from the living room and master bedroom windows. The bedrooms are a good large size; the ensuite especially is very large. The beds were comfortable although there were only blinds in the room, no curtains, so there was some bleed through of light in the mornings. The kitchen/dining/living area was a good size; the kitchen was very well equipped. Although a bit cramped if there was more than one person in it, it was cleverly designed to maximise space. The furniture in the living room was comfortable, but the TV was small and received a very poor picture, it was pot luck if we got any stations at all and if we did the picture was borderline unwatchable. The curtain in the living area was very shabby and looked like it was going to fall off the rod at any moment. The whole apartment was very clean.

The apartment is situated above the town, it is quite far out if you are driving, but there is a short cut if you are walking, but be warned, it does involve a steep climb. All entrances were guarded with gates which required pin numbers, so it did add a little bit of security. The pool, putting green etc was closed for the season so we didn’t get to try those.

Overall we thought this property was good. A little attention to detail would make it great. Putting up some curtains, sorting out the TV and making the entrance a little more inviting would have had me giving this place a 5 star rating. Still, for the price we paid, we thought it offered good value. Youghal is a nice town and convenient for visiting east coast of Cork.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear NCMC,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for pointing out the issue with the Television and Curtains,we have had our maintenance team in to assess the issues and found that indeed there was a faulty cable in the rear of the T.V and that the curtain rail pull cord had been broken. These issues have now been fixed.
Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I booked a 3 bedroom house for a family and friends trip (4 adults and 2 kids) but in the end got a 4 bedroom house, as it was off-season. Can't complain about the price as it was booked as a deal, but not sure I would have paid the full amount on the carelton village website. However it was good value for us.

The 4 bedroom house actually had a pretty small groundfloor area though, it was effectively a 2 bedroom house with the extra 2 bedrooms and bathroom tacked on the side (which I suppose provided a quieter sleeping area).
The house was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The management supplied two travel-cots, although the toddler slept in a big bed in the end, and the blackout blinds were great for getting him to sleep. The house actually got very warm when the sun shone. The toddler loved the playground, and I must admit his Auntie had a go on the slide when nobody was looking as well. The guys got to play (very amateur) tennis too, with racquets supplied by the receptionist, a nice touch.
There are some lovely views of the sea from the patio, but not from all the houses.
Its a pretty good location to walk to youghal and the beach, although the hill is VERY steep for pushing a buggy back up. For those without cars its an OK location to get to shops, I've found a lot of self catering places tend to be away from town a bit.
As it was low season the walled garden with the pool was closed, which we expected, although it would have been a nice sheltered spot to sit on the sunny days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkonianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear CorkonianCouple,

WE delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Carleton Village. Particularly delighted that 'Auntie' got to enjoy the slide, some photographic evidence would prove very amusing? The Walled Garden and Swimming Pool area will open again to guests for the July/August Season
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just had to come on and share our wonderful experience of Carleton Village. Both myself and my husband have spent two lovely weeks in Youghal with our 17 month old toddler.

We booked a fortnight 'off peak' at the holiday homes and secured a great rate with thanks to the help of some Super Valu tokens we had. On arrival we were given an complimentary upgrade to a 4 bedroom villa and a stair gate was provided. Car parking is ample and the village is well lit at night. A security code is required allowing only those resident to enter the village.

We had read the reviews here before going and have to agree with all the great compliments about this holiday village. Spotlessly clean on arrival, copious amounts of towels available, good quality furniture and fittings, bedlinen attractive and suitable and ample supply of kitchen utensils with all mod cons. The outside landscaping is very well maintained too.

The holiday village was quiet, we didn't see anyone else holidaying in the village during our stay, there are some families and young professionals residing there long term but these residents are quiet and bar hearing one neighbour having a hard time starting his old banger of a car each time he was going anywhere we had no complaints about noise or disturbance.

Our toddler had plenty of fun in the playground daily which is clean, well maintained and safe. We had a game of tennis on the courts which are in great condition and open all year round. We had been informed on booking that the kids club, outdoor pool and seasonal reception would not be available during off peak season and we had no problem with this.
Toddler was also very happy in the home, layout was safe for children and comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was an extra treat.

Naturally spending two weeks at the holiday home we wanted to cook at home a lot, our oven temperature didn't work satisfactorily on our first night there, a text to the owner to report the issue was all that was required and the oven was repaired and in perfect working order within a few hours. Communication with the owners is great and the welcome information pack provided in each home is very informative and useful.

We availed of the discount price for residents at the local Aura pool/gym and at Perks funfair in the town. We found Youghal a useful base from which to explore East Cork.

We would certainly stay here again. We will take great pleasure in recommending this holiday village to other families.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Nutty Laura,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you so very much for the fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you and the family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
19.3 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Village

Property: Carleton Village
Address: Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal are ideally located to offer you and your family an activity packed relaxing family break. Only a 2 minute drive from Youghal, Carleton Village offers you an onsite heated outdoor pool, two championship tennis courts, a fantastic playground, The Carleton Village Family Fun BBQ night, *Kids Club and Walled Garden packed to the brim with family fun activities. We’ve even got rainy days covered with our free DVD and local loyalty scheme. All this along with fantastic views overlooking Youghal, the river Blackwater and Atlantic Ocean all set in a 20 acre private secured complex. 40 minutes from Cork City, 30 minute from "Fota Wildlife" and only 2 1/2 hrs from Dublin, Carleton Holiday Homes is the perfect place to start your stress free family holiday. Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal, East Cork No.1 in Family Fun Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing