We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service. We fell in love with Jack.”
Review of Roseville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roseville
Ranked #1 of 7 Youghal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly service. We fell in love with Jack.”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

As far as B&B accomdation goes Roseville is perfectly adequate. The rooms are large, but a little dated in terms of decor. The breakfast was v good and the landlady and staff were very efficient. The location is very convenient and Youghal was a real highlight in our tour of Ireland.

But what really won us over was Jack the resident Jack Russell terrier, a real character. He doesn't like to be told what to do it's just that simple. HeeHee!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrilynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed here in July for one night with my partner and to be honest it was enough for me!!
We stayed in this B&B as there was a review in the B&B book of Ireland saying that it was rated highly by lonely planet & the rough guide. I'm not too sure why it is rated that highly but it could be my own personal taste.

The B&B is very quaint with a Victorian feel. I am a fan of modern, bright, fresh and airy accommodation so this was a problem for me! I will give my view of the B&B for other users who may have the same preferences as I do!

The room we were given had a double bed and also a single bed. Over head the double bed the headboard was burnt from the over head reading lights. The room decor is very dated. The beds had a satin dated bed throw on top of the bed sheets, The room was clean but as it has an old feel about it I couldn't help but think that it could have been cleaner! There was a kettle, two odd mugs and two odd spoons stored in the poky press on a cheap plastic tray that had a paper mat on top of it with tea/coffee stains...needless to say I was disgusted with this.
The en suite bathroom was modern with a power shower which is the nicest shower I have ever been in!
The hair dryer didn't work. There was no iron but the proprietor did iron my partners jeans which was very nice of her!
The room also had an LCD TV.

The location is ideal, it is within walking distance of the town so there is no need for the expense of taxi's.
The breakfast we were given in the morning was gorgeous I would highly recommend it.

If you like an old charming B&B's then perhaps this is for you. As I prefer modern accommodation I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danceoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Price was right & super location in the center of town, within walking distance of everything. Accomodations were comfortable and Phyllis was very helpful and provided one of the best breakfasts we had on our trip. Overall, we loved staying at B&B's rather than large hotels and this was a very nice one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Came upon this place by chance and it was obviously our lucky day! The room was lovely and Phyllis very welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more....great breakfast too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this review, April 8, 2017
Thanks for the review in June 2010! Roseville has moved to the next generation and we are taking the time to respond to all the reviews over the years !

Regards,

Richie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

My extended family all stayed at Roseville for about 4 days. We've been visiting Youghal for years. We loved it! We have stayed at several other B&B's in Youghal over the years and this was by far the best. The rooms are comfy, have been recently renovated it appears and the vast majority had their own en suite bathrooms. The breakfast was wonderful - very filling and included for the price of our rooms. Since we stayed in the off season, our rates was about 40 euros a night - with breakfast! Their website (www.rosevillebb.com) advertises rooms at 55 euros a night.

We really felt at home at Roseville. The staff were wonderful, very attentive and helpful. There seemed to be lots of different options - for single guests, guests who want to double up and for families. The bed and breakfast also had a parking lot adjacent - which is key if you've rented car and are driving around Ireland.

As I said, we've stayed at most of the B&B in Youghal over the years. We are definitely going back to this one again and again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vchittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this review, April 8, 2017
Many Thanks for taking the time to review Roseville in Dec 2009 ! Roseville has moved to the next generation and we are taking the time to respond to all reviews over the years!

Regards,

Richie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Very friendly, right in the heart of Youghal. You are just a few minutes walking distance to everything. Great town that doesn't get the attention it deserves. Phyliss was a very friendly and helpful host, great breakfast and a beautiful garden!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rattled_and_Hummed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this review, April 8, 2017
Many thanks for your review in Oct 2009! Roseville has now moved to the next generation and we are taking the time to respond to everyone who review the house over the years !

From all at Roseville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Youghal is a great halfway point between Waterford and Cork/Kinsale with great medieval-era buildings and a classy, reasonably priced bed and breakfast named Roseville. A great facility with a great hostess. Phyllis runs a wonderful establishment in a city that doesn't get the tourist attention it deserves.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashiRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this review, April 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review in May 2009! Roseville has now moved to the next generation and we are following up on everyone who took the time to review the house over the years !

Regards from all at Roseville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
9.5 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
749 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseville

Property: Roseville
Address: New Catherine Street | Youghal, Youghal P36 DP22, Ireland (Formerly Roseville Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roseville Guest Accommodation : Built in 1838, Roseville is a magnificent Georgian residence enclosed within an enchanting walled garden in the centre of Youghal town. This heritage town is at the gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East and is the perfect base from where to explore East Cork and West Waterford. Accommodation at Roseville consists of two magnificently reappointed rooms: the Garden Room and Garden Room Suite. Though part of the house, each room has its own private entrance from the garden courtyard. Both rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and will appeal to the extended-stay traveller. At Roseville Guest Accommodation we pride ourselves on our warm welcome and attention to detail and our unique Room Service Breakfast is no exception. Tuck into fresh homemade breads and preserves, together with juices, smoothies and overnight oats for the health conscious, along with a hot breakfast delivered fresh to your room each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roseville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseville Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing