We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, charming helpful staff but hotel itself needs upgrading” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabra Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, charming helpful staff but hotel itself needs upgrading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed here as part of a wedding party last year and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful, and really couldn't do enough for us. We had a beautiful meal the night before the wedding in the dining room, and I noticed that it was full of locals and non-residents (always a good sign). Breakfast in the dining room was good, but one minor quibble, the orange juice served is made from concentrate. I can't understand how a chef who produces such lovely food can send out "plastic" juice! The wedding meal was one of the best I've ever had, and the service was efficient. I liked the cosy atmosphere of the funtion room and that the staff genuinely wanted us to have a great time.

So far so good, but I can see how other reviewers had negative views of the hotel. The rooms in the castle itself are beautiful, as is the bridal suite, but some of the communal areas and other bedrooms were a little shabby and I feel were in need of an update. This castle has bags of potential but I think it needs to have some money spent on the decor to live up to its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    276
    89
    38
    24
See reviews for
235
614
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

I didn't enjoy this hotel, right from the beginning trying to make the reservation I had problems and the stay was not much better. I rang to make a reservation and was told in a very curt tone that they do not take reservations outside the hours of 9-5 and snapped when I asked was she sure. Anyway I booked online instead after that as we were attending a wedding and wanted to stay due to distance from our home. I arrived on the date in question and according to my reservation I booked a room in Cabra Castle. At no point in the reservation did it mention the lodges but when I said to reception I'd booked a room in the castle I was told no I hadn't and told to take our bags back to the car and drive around to the lodges. I was not impressed but did so all the same. The room was old, dark, in need of repair and not in keeping with the period in which the property hails! The bathroom had peeling wallpaper, the carpet was worn and shabby some of the furniture was broken, the bed was bowed in the middle due to "use", the lace hanging from the four posters was dirty and the rom was cold. The door also rattled. I again rang reception and explained my disappointment and they offered a room over the kitchen which I declined as she said they don't use it if they can help it so if that was a room they weren't willing to house guests in I can only imagine how much worse it was than the room we were in. We had to walk a short walk outside to get back into the castle but it was raining on the day and not an umbrella in site. The room for the wedding reception was too warm and although the food was ok it wasn't enjoyable because of the heat. It was a cold and wet day so I can only imagine what it's like if it;s warm outside. The following morning we got breakfast and that was very poor quality. I said I was disappointed with my stay at front desk but that fell on deaf ears so I just paid and left . I will never return again. The reception staff were rude and the rooms were not nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erinWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

The grounds are beautiful and the castle is quite an impressive site. Our room was large and spacious but we could hear every footstep of the people in the room above us.

It is worth seeing but its location is a bit isolated with respect to touring the sites.

We were there with a tour group that was leaving early in the morning but we had made our own arrangements to leave a little later. We were supposed to get breakfast as part of the package but all we got was what was left over after the group had left earlier. This left a bit of a negative impression.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstepheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

stayed here for a family wedding have to say the wedding was brill and the meal was fantastic. but earlier in the day I got food at the bar all i got wsas chips they were over priced and hard. I wasn't impressed but the food at the wedding was amazing.
I stayed in the courtyard (no. 76) large room with double bed and single bed. the room has a tv, kettle and bathroom some storage space as well what more could you want.
i thought it was very expensive even as part of the wedding it was 150euro for a double room bed and brekkie which i thought was expensive especially since they were making plenty from the wedding as most the guests stayed.
brekkie the next morning was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Just had a second trip to Cabra Castle hotel and once again it was excellent.
Even thought there was a large wedding on when we were there the service was excellent.
Food in the restauraunt was to really excellent , it never disappoints.
We will be back..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

In february 2009 I booked two nights in Cabra Castle for Valentines weekend as a surprise for my boyfriend. I looked it up on line and it looked like a fantastic place & everything about it seemed lovely. We arrived on the Friday evening and had booked our meal for later that evening. The menu was fancy the food was poor to say the least. We both love our food and when I am cooking at home I pride myself on using the freshest ingredients I can get. The price of the menu I would of expected the same from Cabra castle, as a side order we got garlic potatoes, which was very obviously made with dryed garlic powder - how difficult is it to chop so fresh garlic???? Cheap Cheap Cheap!!!! I got a braised steak which was just ok. My boyfriend got lamb which he asked to be cooked medium, it was still raw in the middle, he had to send it back. The portions were miserable and the dessert was the best part of the whole meal. We left the table,,, not hungry but certianly not full either.

After our miserable dinner we were looking forward to a relaxing night. Our room was ok, the bathroom floor was covered with Lino which is a little cheap and not what I expected to see. The rooms were anything but quiet. I am a fairly light sleeper but my boyfriend is not and even he couldnt sleep that night. In the room next to us they had probably had a few drinks and the man was snoring all night, which we could clearly hear. Everytime one of them rolled over in the bed it sounded like they were in the room with you. If we got an hours sleep that night we were doing well.

In the morning we were tired and understandably upset, we had breakfast and went to the reception to tell them that we were going to check out. The staff at the reception were nice and they gave us a key for a different room if we wanted to take a look to see if it was better. We took the key and went to the room only to find it was occupied. That was the icing on the cake, I went to the room got our stuff and brought the car around while my boyfriend checked us out.

I have travelled around the world and stayed in all sorts of accomodation from cheap hostels and camp sites to top hotels and I have never had a worse night than that.

I would not recommend Cabra castle to anyone, they didnt offer to take anything off the bill or anything! Stay away if you actually want value for money and a nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiviB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Really nice castle with many rooms and corners to enjoy sitting in antique easy chairs or at the (gas driven) chimney. Rooms in the stable are well equipped and spacious. Make-up facilities for ladies are poor, not only due to the mirror glass painting in the bathroom. 9-hole golf course is quite nice. The food in the bar was not that good. Breakfast buffet is small but some good choices from the breakfast menu. Service at the reception was a bit unfriendly during check in (that’s a matter of just one of the ladies).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
4.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
16.7 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
24.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
19.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
23.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Property: Cabra Castle Hotel
Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing