We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular venue”
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabra Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here in a courtyard room for two nights for a wedding, beautiful grounds, grand interior. Spacious bedroom with walk in shower. Lovely wedding venue, food was excellent, look out for Oscar the wonderful Irish Wolfhound

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank J195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

What a charming place! We stayed here as part of a groupon deal, and were very happy with our stay. We stayed in the middle if the week, so there were no weekend wedding disturbances.
Our room was within the actual castle, which was just what we were hoping for. The room was clean and beautiful, with everything we needed. The TV in our room wouldn't turn on, but we really had no need of it during our stay.
It was fascinating to explore the castle and the grounds, and to meet the resident dog - who is charming, but almost equal to me in size!
Breakfast was delicious and the service was wonderful.
The front desk was v. kind, courteous and helpful. They even teamed up to help us map our way to Lough an Leagh mountain!
We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFrancis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were greeted at the door by an exceptionally well-behaved beautiful Irish wolfhound which was delightful. The staff at reception were really helpful, efficient and kind. Our room was stunning, clean and tidy (tho a dressing table/ mirror in good light would have been helpful for preparing for the wedding. The table that was meant to act as a dressing table was in the rather dark doorway and when I sat at the chair my head was below the mirror which gave us a good laugh!) On our first night we dined in the restaurant and had a superb meal with excellent service.
The only negative aspect was the shambles at breakfast. There had been wedding receptions on both previous nights and most of the guests arrived pretty much at the same time, which the staff were unable to deal with. On our first morning we waited at the doorway to be seated for quite a while, then found a table for ourselves. The table was set, but napkins had been forgotten. The menu selection was fantastic and service was quick. But there was no small cutlery to eat the slices of fruit we chose to start the meal. We had to ask for napkins. Toast was brought with the tea which by the time we wanted to eat it was cold and soft (hot, crispy toast was brought as soon as we asked). I ordered soft boiled eggs, and got hard boiled and no spoon. There were no preserves either on our table or the buffet table and when I asked, I was given one tiny pot of marmalade. I cannot fault the friendliness or willingness of the staff who fetched everything we asked for - but we shouldn't have had to ask or feel like complete pests by the end of the meal. The next day was even worse. When the queue had built and people were getting tetchy we were eventually led to the 'overflow' breakfast room. Again everybody had to keep asking for things and I actually went into the main dining room to collect fruit salad (the waiter said there was none) and pastries myself. Lovely food but not a relaxing experience.
Overall we loved our stay at Cabra and would recommend it to anyone - just get to breakfast early.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caromant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Great hotel for a wedding and also to experience some Irish culture, a real Irish castle that has been very comfortable adapted for the tourist industry and wedding events. The rooms are in the castle and also in the courtyard, we stayed in the courtyard and they are very comfortable although we could hear talking and footsteps upstairs when the people came in at 3 or 4 a.m! Despite this, it is a unique hotel and well worth a visit. The food for the wedding was excellent however the breakfast was underwhelming, there is no point in asking you what way you would like your eggs cooked when they all come out the same!

Room Tip: A room in the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this magnificent castle is the ideal wedding venue situated near kingscourt your first impressions are well honoured .Stayed in the courtyard accomodation which was large comfortable rooms. The wedding was professionally run with nothing left to chance. The food was of the highest quality. A very enjoyable outing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a CIE tour. Our room was in the courtyard section. It was actually two rooms. One had a queen bed, and the other two twins. The room was very clean and comfortable. The one small disadvantage was that you had to go outside, go along a covered walkway, and then manage a maze of corridors and stairways to get to the bar and dining areas. Of course, there were no elevators, but we didn't have to deal with the luggage. Meals were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first hotel in Ireland. Excellent staff love the dog!! Great room and bathroom!! Be sure to walk to each floor to check out all the beautiful sitting rooms. Great areas to relax. Beautiful grounds and setting. We loved the stay. Great parking also

Room Tip: Room 24 is amazing. You must stay it is in front of the castle with a gorgeous window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
23.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
802 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
237 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
16.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
19.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Price Range: $143 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing