We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quaint castle in the Irish countryside”
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cabra Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cabra Castle for one night for a portion of our honeymoon. We would not hesitate to stay there again! The castle is absolutely adorable. It is not as large as it seems in the photo, but that only adds to its charm.
When entering Cabra, you are greeted by the castle's Irish Wolfhound. It's a wonderful and personal way to start your trip.
The lobby is warm and inviting with a small, rustic, cozy room with couches, candelabras and a fireplace.
As you walk through the castle, one room is more beautiful than the next. Every last detail was thought of. From the wall hangings, to the light fixtures, to the furnishings. It was breath-taking.
There are many sitting rooms from which to enjoy and relax. The dining room was simply amazing. Elegant and stunning. We felt like we were the only guests that night. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent.
Our room was spotless and spacious with a large canopied bed, gorgeous Jacuzzi tub and walk-in closet. We felt as though we had stepped back in time, but kept all the modern amenities.
We absolutely loved Cabra Castle. If you're looking for a beautiful castle in which to stay, I would highly recommend Cabra!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main castle, or choose an upgraded room. It's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We loved our stay at Cabra Castle, lovely rooms, great food, nice dining staff and "Oscar" was a joy. He went for a walk with us and was with us but just a little aloof. Loved the grounds, couldn't get enough picture of that beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Ireland and was able to stay at the Cabra Castle Hotel. What a beautiful place. I loved Oscar (dog mascot). He was adorable! The rooms were spacious and beautiful. The food was fantastic. The wait staff were attentive.

The whole service was fantastic and I would love to revisit. Especially visiting with Oscar!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingles1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first of four castles in our April 2013 Ireland Castles vacation. I travelled with my 10 year old son. So, as I review each castle, I'm remarking on the experience from his perspective as well.

We had no idea what to expect, upon arrival at our first castle ever, Cabra. As we drove up the long driveway, we were in Awe at the beauty of the castle (see pics). Some comment that the castle is 'cluttered' with stuff. But, we found it ornate and very interesting.

The staff was very friendly from the moment of check in to our departure. The 'lobby' was cozy with a nice, warm fireplace.

We stayed in a courtyard room, which provided us with the old castle feeling we were seeking. The room key was a large, old mortice style key. My son thought it was the coolest thing. The rest of the castle in our tour had card keys.

The grounds and building were beautiful. The room was lovely. We had a view of the castle garden, which was in the interior of the courtyard.

There isn't much to do in the area, but we weren't looking to do much as this was our first stop after a long flight and a lot of sight-seeing in Dublin.

At the very least, visit the Dun An Ri Forest Park just down the street from the Castle. It costs $5 Euro to drive in. Park in the rear parking lot, and follow the path and signs to the wishing well. We went twice, as it got dark on our first attempt. The wishing well is only a 5 minute walk from the parking area. Go straight the path that leads out of the end of the parking lot... shortly after arriving at a clearing / grassy area, take the path to the right. Go down some steps toward the Cabra river, and you will find the wishing well (with a ladle on a chain) to the left. Drink from it!!

We also recommend you dine at the Wishing Well restaurant in town. See my separate review on it.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms have parking along the curb in front of the room. So, it is very convenient whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were part of a CIE tour. What a beautiful hotel. The rooms were great - bed was very comfortable and loved the walk in shower. Hotel staff very friendly and it even had wireless in certain spots of the castle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VieraGirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Came here for a family wedding in October...gorgeous, breathtaking scenery perfect for a wedding. Food was good and rooms ample. This was perfect for a wedding setting. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Say hello to Oscar!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
23.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
802 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
237 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
16.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
19.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Price Range: $143 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing