We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabra Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shirley Arms Hotel(Carrickmacross)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cross Square Hotel(Crossmaglen)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glencarn Hotel(Castleblayney)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellingham Castle(Castlebellingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveler rating
969
316
99
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
969
316
99
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomirish wolfhoundthe cottagesmain buildingstone wallscabra castlefirst stopfour poster bedgolf coursefree standing bathwedding receptionwedding venuedublin airportwedding guestsgrounds are beautifulcourse dinnerbridal suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took wife on a special birthday treat as she always wished to stay in an Irish Castle and this proved to be everything she had hoped for. From the moment we turned into driveway and first viewed the magnificent building we were both spellbound. Getting out of car to be greeted by Oscar the Irish Wolfhound was brilliant. Our check in was so friendly and easy with staff apologising for no room in the castle itself but gave us a courtyard room having said no one ever complained about getting one. How right they were, the room was sensational without doubt the best one we have ever stayed in. The size, decor and ambience were brilliant.
The castle was a joy to experience with many rooms, stairs, corridors, squeaky floors and loads of original items, pictures etc. It was a joy to explore.
We had a bar snack on arrival and a lovely pint of Guinness and the set dinner that evening. It all was first class and without fault. If you get the chance then go and experience the Cabra Castle, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are fantastic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a 10 day roadtrip around Ireland for my 30th birthday and I've always wanted to stay in a castle. The location was convenient to Dublin Airport and we drove here shortly after we landed from our overnight flight. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and top notch. Our room was beautiful and just as requested. We found the price for everything included and the atmosphere to be very reasonable. The one fault is that the bed was uncomfortable. A great experience overall.

Room Tip: We loved our courtyard room with stone walls and exposed beams, a more authentic castle feel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4n6_grrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Cabra Castle for one night this week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I can say hand on heart this has probably been the best hotel experience we have had and we love regular weekends away. We just loved everything about it- the squeaky floors, scary pictues on the walls, clutter, ornate drawing rooms, lots of patterns and clutter etc. I don't think it would be everyones cup of tea but it was ours!

Check in was quick and efficient and the receptionist was friendly and welcoming. We were delighted to meet Oscar in the porch, who as dog lovers, just contributed to our experience.

We were upgraded to a beautiful suite within the main castle and it was such a lovely surprise for our special day. The room was out of this world, in fact as it was quiet and mid week they were able to give us the castle bridal suite- it was perfect and much more than we had expected. Also the staff had dutifully organised wine and flowers in the room at my husbands request which was a lovely surprise.

We ate in the bar on arrival and the food was lovely- yes the drinks are a little overpriced but we didn't care as we were on a break. We had a lovely walk around the grounds in the afternoon and Oscar accompanied us, which was wonderful. He is the most placid gracious dog, we fell in love with him.

We had the 5 course meal in the Courtyard restaurant that evening. Each course was excellent and service very good. The only very very minor criticism would have been more time between courses to fully enjoy the meal but it wasn't a problem. The chef served our desserts with Happy Anniversary on both our plates which again was another lovely touch.

We loved this place so much we think this will be a yearly break to celebrate our anniversary- I would love to stay for more than one night next time. If you read the negative reviews they are mainly from people staying at the weekends in the middle of a wedding. We checked with the hotel prior to booking that there was no wedding on and I think this is important. I have no doubt our experience would have been different had a wedding being on on the night of our stay. I will always check in future and ensure we go mid week.

On check out which was again very efficient we nosily asked could someone show us around some of the other rooms. The receptionist, i think it was Paula immediately organised someone to show us around several other rooms. We really enjoyed this and gave us an idea of what rooms to request next time. They were all so different but wonderful and unique.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, We cant believe we havent been before this and cant wait to go back- if you are unsure- book it but again check if you feel a wedding would intrude upon your enjoyment. If so mid week would be best.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special

Christina and Peter

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissiemccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

my partner and i recieved a voucher for a 2 night stay with breakfast and i nights dinner at the castle - and were a bit dubious about going - the drive from belfast took just over an hour,, and just as we were starting to get a bit fed up,, we arrived - from the outside it looked amazing and when we went in and looked around the inside ,,it was captivating,- each room told a story,,and the creaking corridors and stairs just add to the charisma -,There were no bad bedrooms that we seen,,, just some more enchanting than others,-=,the staff were very friendly and helpful,, which cannot be said for a lot of hotels,,, and then there is oscar,,, charming,,, charismatic,, and very friendly,,,, ,people who have been will know who i mean,, ,,,,the bar was a little expensive,,,but that did not stop us having a lovely time ,,and would not put us off going again ,,, this was a 5 star experience ,,,,,, Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardjohn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic Experience. Had our Wedding there last November. Couldnt Complain about anything, everything from the staff, venue to the food was excellent. Had nothing to worry about on our day as the wedding planning staff had everything covered!! Says alot when 2 of my family have had their weddings there!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews