We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabra Castle and Oscar”
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabra Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cabra Castle and Oscar”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We only stayed one night at the castle and really wanted to stay longer. This was a great experience-from the "haunted" room, to the views of the grounds as we had drink, to the fire places burning everywhere. Oscar, the Irish Wolfhound, will greet you (or not, he is a bit lazy) when you come through the door.

The most comfortable bed in our twelve day tour of Ireland-we really did not want to leave!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "servants quarters" which were very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieQnSteven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    292
    95
    41
    25
See reviews for
269
648
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed as part of a wedding party.
Meal was fantastic, as was breakfast.

Check in was quick and efficient. I found the staff very friendly.

Our room was HUGE, it was fabulous. It was overlooking one of the golf greens and was lovely. Bathroom was also huge and very clean. My only regret was not having another night to stay and enjoy it. Stairs are very windy and steep however going to some of the rooms.

Perhaps the only minus is that there is no swimming pool. If there was a pool/spa it would possibly be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hondapetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 1 night as a wedding guest for the 3rd time in the past few years. Each time we have had a great time.
Check in was no problem. We had managed to get a room in the main castle for the third time, and yet again the room, although quite small had everything you could want and the decor is great - you know you are in a really old building, but but yet gives you the impression that it maybe was recently refurbished (especially the ensuite).
The dinner was lovely and served promptly. The staff were efficient and, when not under pressure, very friendly. They eventually cleared the dining room well after 1am. Off to the 'ressie bar' till 5am for a bit of a singsong.
We got up at the rediculous time of 7am, thinking we would be alone, but the breakfast room was filled with a bus tour... It didn't matter. The cold buffet was lovely. Fresh fruit, lovely choice of pastries, yogurt, cereals etc. The choice for the hot breakfast was very impressive. Everything from the typical Irish fry up to French toast, smoked salmon, porridge, eggs whatever way you want them.... Far to difficult to choose at that time of the morning!
Overall a very pleasant experience.
The hotel really is out in the middle of nowhere. You will need a car (or a bus!). The perfect spot for rest and relaxation.... There is nothing else to do other than eat, sleep, drink and weather permitting, a stroll around the extensive grounds (with a set of golf clubs if that takes your fancy).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyton, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the coach house. I fell in love with the room. The big exposed beams. The furniture was wonderful. The view of the garden below was awe inspiring. It was peaceful and quiet. I loved it. They had wonderful food and service. I could have not enjoyed it anymore. I could have stayed there the entire time and been quite happy.

Room Tip: Pick the coach house. excellant size, great view. Nice and quiet. Heaven on earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from a typical Irish Wedding in Cabra Castle Hotel.Sometimes its difficult to describe excellence,and that is what this hotel is about.From the moment of Oscar(the Irish Wollfhound)greeting you at the entrance,till you leave,this place is full of special moments.You can get lost in the loads of historic passageways,or you can read about the ghost,your choice.We were there to attend a wedding,out of ten it gets a 12 from us..Staff were incredible,place was spotless,the good feeling and a special buzz could be felt all around,you knew from arrival this was special place.We didn`t stay in the Castle rooms,which i believe were really top notch,we stayed in the Courtyard rooms,a minutes walk from the Castle itself.The room itself was very large,very comfortable,very tidy,very luxurious in its own way,it also had a very spacious comfortable bathroom,with a Jacuzzi bath and the bedroom,which was glorious had.a massive King Size bed in it.,tv etc,and all you needed.Absolutely no complaints there,all bedrooms seemed to differ,with there own special trademarks,ask for your room with Jacuzzi!!The staff could do no more to make you feel welcome.As for the wedding meal,wow,the food was incredible from starter to desert,Even during the early hours,or late night,the staff were attentive,willing,helpful,and they do make a mean cocktail.One thing that impressed a lot of Guinness drinkers was the price and quality of a pint.We were in a 4 star hotel,which didn`t rip off guests with their prices,not just for Guinness but all beverages,a pint was cheaper in the hotel than my own local.a great and fantastic wedding venue,the best i have been to,and in the past two years have been to Lough Eske ,Dromoland Castle,Lyrath House,Castle Durrow,etc,all fantastic venues,but Cabra Castle holds its own,way ahead of the rest.A great and fantastic night was had by all.So we come for breakfast next morning,what a civilised delight it was,from the lady,sorry forgot her name,at the desk showing you to your table,to getting your breakfast,from big fry up to Kippers,was all done with great charm,proffesionalism,she was so good and waitresses so happy,and ,.the atmosphere made you feel as though you knew everyone in the place.Even though the rain never stopped for the two days we were there,nothing in the place could dampen your spirit.Well done to the Chefs in the kitchen,as they need special affection and attention.You guys turned out great food on all occasions,throughout day and night and next day.You are the heart of a successful place like this,,and i do believe you deserve more recognition.Well done ,job well done,thank you.We will be back.!!!!A place not to be missed, be it for a wedding or just a relaxing break,even though it doesn`t have all the pampering salons that people seem to crave,this place has real people,a real thirst from staff to make you welcome,and for you to go home wanting to come back.

Room Tip: Not one person out of 130 had a complaint,just ask for a room in the Courtyard with Jacuzz Bath,my t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meecemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed in Cabra Castle after attending a wedding there on Monday. It was an experience of a lifetime. We had a great time, beautiful surrounding, food good, some of the waitresses could smile a little more, expecially at the wedding table, got the impression they were not into weddings or perhaps not good communicators. Service was good but if you dident hold on to your plate it was whipped off the table if you looked the other way. Room in the courtyard was beautiful, bed was very comfortable but the lighting was poor. Overall a beautiful experience to stay in this castle, it was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard was very comfortable. If you are a reader bring your own plug in light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkconneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We held our wedding reception here in 2011. Hotel, staff and food were all amazing. Strongly recommend as a wedding venue. Great value for money and staff made us feel really special. Bridal suite was superb, nothing can compare....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eazy2pleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
4.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
230 reviews
23.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
769 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
694 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Property: Cabra Castle Hotel
Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing