We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“massive portions!!”
Review of The Wishing Well

The Wishing Well
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Kingscourt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“massive portions!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

booked a table for 8.30, there was hardly anyone else there - I think people eat earlier in Ireland. However, the food was amazing, and we didn't feel like we were putting anyone out by choosing to dine late. The waitress did ask us to move into the bar, but that was fine as it was late and she'd tidied the rest of the restaurant. The portions were huge, but delicious - the desserts looked massive but we couldnt squeeze anything else in. some other guests took home doggy bags as they couldn't finish theirs. Great place, would go again if we were in the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneShaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    38
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful steak !!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly welcoming staff / excellent menu at realistic prices.

The Wishing Well has become a regular port of call when we are in Kingscourt. Having dined there on many occasions I can only sing its praises. The sirloin steak is cooked to perfection and the quality of food is head and shoulders above many other restaurants that promise but ultimately fail to deliver.

Highly recommend, we love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Try the Chicken Carbonara !! :)”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

When we were seated at The Wishing Well in Kingscourt, Ireland, I asked, 'What do the locals come in to eat?'. Two of the wait staff answered, 'Chicken Carbonara'. So, that's what I ordered. :) It was creamy and delicious!! And it was a large portion (see pic). I was unable to finish it!

The restaurant is casual. It is preceded by a bar area, the restaurant is in the back. The staff was very friendly.

My son had a burger with 'chips'. This was our first experience (followed by many more experiences) of getting 'chips' with our meal. The 'chips' in Ireland are like super-sized steak fries from the U.S. :) But, not as dry. They were pretty tasty, but need brown sauce or ketchup. If you ask for it, your waiter/waitress will bring you a variety of condiments.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant hidden out the back”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great restaurant with a brilliant variety of meals to choose from. It looks like a local pub from the front but don't let this put you off from venturing inside. The restaurant is tucked away at the back and well worth a visit. there wasn't much left on our plates by the end of dinner!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineD587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped here for lunch - nice atmosphere and service. Food was very good too. Prices were reasonable. The place is a lot bigger inside than it looks from the outside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wishing Well also viewed

Kingscourt, County Cavan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Kingscourt, County Cavan
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to The Wishing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing