We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and cozy”

Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Kingscourt B&B and Inns
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“friendly and cozy”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here in nov 2013. Would just like to thank Sheila for a wonderful warm welcome an stay here. She is an absolute lovely lady who just couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely and the room was immaculate. Would highly recommend this cozy intimate B & B to friends & family. Hope to see you soon Sheila and thanks again for a lovely time :)

Kind Regards

Clare & Dean xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shesmi, Owner at Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Kingscourt any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Hollow Stream twice in October, due to its proximity to Kingscourt, where I had relatives to visit and to Dublin Airport (less than one hour away).
We enjoyed our stay with Sheila who went out of her way to make our brief visits as relaxing and enjoyable as possible with her cheerful and bright personality.
One small example: We needed some strong masking tape to tape up a suitcase late at night, as we were leaving at 6am the next morning. Sheila to the rescue! She brought us some strong, solid tape that did the job perfectly.
She was always looking to see how she could make everything better for our stay, with the small touches.
The room we stayed in on the first floor (first room on the left past the banister) was spacious, with plenty of room for our luggage and the bathroom shower and sink were impeccably clean, as was the toilet. The bed linen was clean and the mattress comfortable, we did not hear the traffic from the main road not too far away in front of the house, so we slept well.
Thanks again Sheila for the wonderful stay and I hope to see you again soon.
Stewart

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a lovely time here in Hollow Stream. We were staying for a wedding in Cabra Castle. Our host Sheila was very accommodating and picked us up from the castle in the wee hours of the morning. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms just perfect.
Would definably recommend to all :)
Thanks so much Sheila!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found Sheila to be very hospitable. She also recommended a wonderful pub called The Wishing Well, which I highly recommend. We enjoyed the friendly dog too. We enjoyed a good breakfast and loved the coffee. We asked Sheila what type of coffee she used and she told us that it is Bewleys. I'm so glad that we asked because we purchased Bewleys coffee while there, and we continue to buy it online and have it shipped to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmautz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night in sept as we were attending a wedding up at Cabra Castle, we arrived late to the castle and didn't have time to check into the b&b as we had already missed our starter. We phoned to let Sheila know of what had happened and I was delighted with the response and she was very understanding of our situation. As we had still our belongings in our car Sheila came up to collect us at 2.00am after the wedding and brought us to her lovely house. We were shown our room and given the option of making tea/coffee in the room down the hall. The next morning after a breakfast cooked to perfection Sheila left us back up the castle to collect our car again and we got on our way home. I would highly recommend to anyone passing through the area or to anyone like ourselves who is attending a wedding nearby to book into this beautiful b&b. We will definitely be keeping the number for our next visit

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 230680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful rooms, welcoming dogs, and a lovely hostess to make you feel at home. You cannot do better, having stayed at Cabra Castle, I preferred the warmth of Hollow Stream, Sheila makes you feel part of the family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakin1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed 1 night for a wedding in cabra castle. The B&B is in a perfect location and Sheila, the owner brought us to the wedding and collected us! Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was gorgeous. Sheila even gave me driving directions to get home. Sheila's welcoming and friendly nature makes Hollow Stream the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
1.8 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,238 reviews
6.6 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
208 reviews
12.0 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
695 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
535 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plantation Lodge B&B
Plantation Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dublin Road | R162 Kingscourt Co Cavan Ireland, Kingscourt, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollow Stream B&B near Cabra Castle, Kingscourt, Co Cavan located half a mile from Kingscourt town on the Dublin Road offers guests travelling for business or pleasure to Kingscourt accommodation of a high standard at reasonable rates. Excellent choice for Cabra Castle weddings or functions,local pick up and drop off shuttle available on request, hill walking on Lough an Leagh, a stroll in Dun a Ri forest park with its wishing well, or a pint in Gartlan's thatched pub. Kingscourt Traditional Irish Music session every first Fri of the month. Warm friendly service guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing