We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely lovely :)”

Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Kingscourt B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely :)”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is a beautiful b and b and is excellent value...... we stayed for a night before a wedding and the hostess kindly let us stay late the next morning so we could get ready in comfort..... the rooms are gorgeous - clean, spacious with a lovely en-suite......there was a good choice for breakfast and even an iron and ironing board available in the front room..... everything about this stay was brilliant and i would definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shesmi, Owner at Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Delighted that you had a great stay at Hollow Stream B&B and appreciate that you noticed the lengths we go to make our guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Kind regards
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sheila the owner was so welcoming made us feel at home. Very clean and comfortable. Really good value. Would definitely stay there again if I was in the area. Lovely breakfast you can have what you like, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shesmi, Owner at Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, that you felt that you were well looked after and that you got good value for money. We take pride in our personal service and love when guests enjoy their Hollow Stream B&B experience.

Kind regards, Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hollow Stream. Perfect for us. Sheila is a delightful hostess. Great breakfast with flexibility in time and what you would like to eat. The B & B has only been open for about 6-7 years, but Sheila has already perfected her role. She gave us recommendations on what to see in the area and how to get there. We have absolutely no regrets in choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyLee53719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shesmi, Owner at Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing Hollow Stream B&B Kingscourt for your couple of days stay in Ireland. We are happy to help advise on things to do and see in the area and provide flexible breakfast times in case you want an early start or a lazy lie in! Look forward to maybe looking after you again in the future.

Kind regards, Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Hollow Stream while attending a wedding in Cabre Castle. Sheila made us very welcome, she brought us to Cabre Castle and lifted us again at 1.30am. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and nothing was any trouble. We would recommend the Hollow Stream. Many thanks again Sheila.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Sheila was a gem. She made me feel very welcome from the start and was most helpful. I was attending a wedding at the nearby Cabra Castle and she left me there in the afternoon and picked me up at 1am for a minimal fee. Breakfast was really lovely too. I could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed with my family for 1 night in Hollow Stream as we are at a wedding at Cabra Castle.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone because of the location and the warm welcome from the Owner Sheila. Nothing is any bother to her and she makes you feel really at home.
She provides a service whereby she will pick you up from the hotel and take you back the following morning for your car if it was left at the castle.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodgerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Hollow Stream for 2 nights whilst we were in Ireland for a wedding, When we arrived we were amazed at firstly how big that place was from outside and secondly how well kept it looked. We were then met by Shelia the owner, who showed us around and made us feel right at home.
We decided to walk into Kings Court as we arrived near evening time and wanted to get something to eat, Shelia then offered to drive us there because the footpath is non-existent for most of the way.
On returning with a Takeaway She sorted out plates and cuttlery for us and told us she would wash it up for us later.
In the morning we went in for breakfast and began with ceral (choice of nearly every brand you would recognise) and bread with local honey, nutella etc, then we were served a lovely full IRISH breakfast which is basically the same as an English but it came with locally made black and white pudding.
This was cooked to perfection. On the table were also juices and water etc.
A few hours before the wedding Shelia set up and ironing board and an iron for everyone to use incase their suits/dresses had been creased on the journey and also brought out a steamer for more delicate items. My Partner had never used a steamer before and was unsure about using in on her dress but Shelia offered to do it for her which saved a lot of panic and worry!
Shelia also arranged for a minibus to take us to the wedding and instructed the driver where we were going.
We were unsure about how we were going to get back after the reception which was held at Cabra castle nearby (highly recommended) due to the fact we would be finishing about 2am.
Shelia gave us her business card with her number on and said if we let her know before 11pm how many of us were coming back and what time she would gladly come and collect us.
Which she did.
The following morning breakfast was bang on again and Shelia found us a direct bus back to Dublin and showed us where to stand so it wouldn't miss us.

All in all we couldn't have been happier with the service we recieved over the time we spent there, Obviously a lot of hard work and effort goes into to running this b&b but it really shows and we really appreciated it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
1.8 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plantation Lodge B&B
Plantation Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
#2 of 2 in Carrickmacross
573 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dublin Road | R162 Kingscourt Co Cavan Ireland, Kingscourt, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollow Stream B&B near Cabra Castle, Kingscourt, Co Cavan located half a mile from Kingscourt town on the Dublin Road offers guests travelling for business or pleasure to Kingscourt accommodation of a high standard at reasonable rates. Excellent choice for Cabra Castle weddings or functions,local pick up and drop off shuttle available on request, hill walking on Lough an Leagh, a stroll in Dun a Ri forest park with its wishing well, or a pint in Gartlan's thatched pub. Kingscourt Traditional Irish Music session every first Fri of the month. Warm friendly service guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollow Stream Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Kingscourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing