We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Olde Post Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olde Post Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Cavan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely early bird meal in old post inn recently. Food was delicious and enough in main course for 2 people. The beef fell off the spoon ! Staff were lovely and refreshing to be asked if we would like more vegetables and coffee! Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ltherese_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for The Olde Post Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I made out first visit to The Olde Post Inn with a little reservation as there had been a couple of disappointed reviews on trip Advisor. However, having had to put up with either rubbish service or poor quality food at rip-off prices in so many parts of Ireland, we were absolutely delighted with our experience for the evening.
Warmly received and offered aperitifs in the comfortable bar area, we were impressed with both the menu and wine list along with the descriptions of the 'specials' that our hostess relayed.
I chose a special starter of Dublin Bay Prawns and my wife the Goats Cheese - both superb, full of flavour. The Goat's Cheese comes with a nice tomato salsa that keeps the dish nice and moist.
For mains I chose the special which was pan-fried Whiting fillet and my wife had the breast of chicken. Again, excellently cooked and good sized portions that came with a nice selection of fresh vegetables.
For dessert we both plumped for specials - I had a fantastic apple and berry crumble and my wife went for a fig and almond tart. The only criticism is that the tart wasn't very almondy but the pastry was exceptional. Well done to Brid the pastry chef!
At a fixed price of €55 plus drinks it is not cheap but definitely worth it for an occasion. The service we received was excellent and anyone in the Cavan/Monaghan area who wants fine dining without Michelin star or Dublin city prices should try it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChelseaBlue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had our 2nd visit to The Olde Post for a Sunday Lunch and having previosuly been for dinner, the lunch menu lived up to all our expectations following the last visit. Service was excellent with tthe little touches that make the Olde Post stand out - our drinks were carried to our table for us. Great selection of courses as always with fresh food served promtly and tasted beautiful. We had smoked chicken salad /Goats chesse tartlet for starters and pork belly for mains. Food was as always divine and the desserts are to die for. definitely recommend the olde post to anyone looking for some place a little quaint for a nice meal out. Perfect place to celebrate an occasion

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embarpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant, having spotted it on the Georgina Campbell app last year when staying in the Radisson. we loved it so much that it's part of the reason we went back to Cavan this year.

We loved being able to sit in the conservatory and order while we had an aperitif.

We had the set menu (55/head), which is great value for the service and quality of the food. Yet again, both my husband and I ordered the steak and then afterward regretted not being more adventurous! The starters are divine and difficult to choose between. I had the bacon and cabbage terrine, which was an unusual take on a classic Irish dish! Definitely recommend the chocolate fondant for dessert - the pistachio macaroon that accompanied it was out of this world! The service is exceptional - the staff were present and aware of of your experience the whole time. They also made excellent wine recommendations.

Our only quibble was that as the last people to be seated, we were the last there and so had staff cleaning up around us. It would have been nice to relax without that! Mind, had we not been lingering over dessert wine for so long, that might not have happened!

A definitely must visit. In Dublin, this would cost twice as much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sineadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful meal at the old post Inn. The staff welcomed and explained the specials, and fussed suitably over our baby. Bread was baked on site and delicious. We availed of the 5 course set menu, which on reflection is good value. I had prawns to start which were disappointing but the Fillet that followed made up for it, however Brie had melted on my cheese plate. She had the goats cheese and Duck, slightly over done, but a wonderful crumble to finish. We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just back from an overnight visit here - our second - first was 2 years + ago when he popped the question! It's a lovely old post office building with 2 conservatory type extensions which are very tastefully done and make for a pleasant bright interior. Had excellent dinners on both occasions but obviously only remember the recent one in great detail! Would espeically recommend the slow roast pork belly mains which my husband had - it was divine! Also breakfast was very good with many choices from cereals, porridge (lovely & creamy) fresh fruit, yogurts, scones, bread & toast selection, full Irish, various egg options etc and lots of everything. Bedrooms are v comfortable withy very comfy king size beds, good cotton sheets and duvets and LCD tv and good power showers in bathtubs. Also found staff pleasant and courteous. Would recommend and will be back again!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in we're nice and very similiar. Think there's only 5 or 6 total so am...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I'm a little surprised at all the 5 star reviews for the Olde Post. It’s good enough, but it’s not excellent - my monk fish might be the worst piece of fish I've ever eaten. Having said that, the other diners round the table were pleased with their meals so it might just have been a poor fish rather than poor cooking. Service was adequate and pleasant , but relaxed/slow and the staff were inexperienced. The setting is nice enough but if you're sat in the wrong place you get to see the locals driving their cars very fast up and down the car park! All in all a reluctant 4 stars from me because other people's food was good rather than because mine was.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FoodfiendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
5.6 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
6.9 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
789 reviews
7.7 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
256 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
16.8 mi away
Glendurragh House
Glendurragh House
#7 of 14 in Cavan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Post Inn

Address: | Cloverhill, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cavan
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Post Inn, is a Michelin Guide listed restaurant, run by Gearoid Lynch and Tara Lynch. Gearoid is a Euro-toques Chef, who has racked up several awards for his food, as has Tara for excellence in customer service. The Olde Post Inn has been recognised as one of Ireland's Most Romantic Wedding Venues by Georgina Campbell. There are six beautiful upstairs bedrooms in the original "Post Office" part of the building, with open fires downstairs. Gearoid prides himself on providing a fine dining experience for those on a gluten free diet. He is happy to adapt to the individual needs of his patrons. Accommodation is available to dining guests only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing