We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum yum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Love it, Love it Love it. It's all good with beautiful rooms and fantastic staff.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
3  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,906)
There are newer reviews for Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,741 - 2,747 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Farnham estate is one of the old landed gentry estates of Ireland in Co.Cavan. Only one wing of the original house remains but has been integrated with new facilities into an upmarket SAS Radisson hotel. It is located outside Cavan town in extensive grounds complete with lakes, walks and a golf course. The hotel itself has very modern (as well as historic) rooms, a spa, an infinity pool and a restaurant and coffee shop. The rooms include those suitable for the disabled (complete with roll in shower) and the upstairs restaurant is accessible by lift. Parking is some distance away (c.400m) but a small bus transports visitors to the hotel (though disabled parking is available outside the front door). The staff are efficient and pleasant. The breakfast is extensive and very good. Dinner was enjoyable but not spectacular. I would recommend this as a place for a short break (say 3 nights). It is ideal for couples, including young (romantic) couples, those who are disabled, and potentially families who want to enjoy the countryside and the estate. The spa would certainly be atttractive to "girls-days-away" but the hotel is not for those looking for a lively evening scene.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajpdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The minute we drove up the drive way through the golf course we were getting excited.
The estate and the hotel just has that Wow factor before youv even entered it.,
Check In was quick and easy and our bags taken to all our rooms. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with information for the hotel and cavan town.

Spa was great, all the different rooms and indoor and outdoor pool can keep you amused for hours. Complimentary fruit, tea and coffee is a touch. We spent all day in the spa, great staff and great treatments and very reasonable. They have monthly offers which are value for money
The only thing I would moan about is the lack of towels that we are given, but we understand the reasons considering the economic times we are in.

Great hotel, great spa, great staff and from what I saw the managment seem to have a handle on everything. I only met the front of house manager and spa manager and both seemed very friendly and efficient.
Def will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadgro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel is lovely. The grounds hae lovely walks marked out and golf and it is a real get away.

The rooms are modern and spacious Quality bathrooms and lovely views out across the countryside and pool area.

The spa and pool is a real treat but we did find it very busy when we were there (it was a bit crowded in the thermal spa and pool area. The pool is great - it has an indoor part and then a sliding door out to the outdoor infinity edge heated pool. A real novelty in rainy and cold ireland!!

The food was nice and the hotel did not have the deserted feeling that some hotel bars and restaurants tend to have (due to number of rooms filled I would say)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lc_eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Very disappointing. The setting is good, and the reception is impressive, but for what is supposedly a quality hotel the details tended to be poorly attended to.

the room wasn't as I had requested (in terms of location within the hotel)
the response to this was unhelpful
service in the restaurant was unapologetically slow
the lobby bar is characterless and, again, the service is slow
shower wasn't working properly

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hybreasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed here for the weekend. It was amazing. The setting is superb there is a chauffeur up and down the 200m small hill to the car park so it you decided to be lazy or had bags drive up to reception unload bags and they will park the car for you. Warm welcome/check-in everyone friendly. The hotel is airy and modern. The food in the bar and restaurant was fab. The only down fall was that there were people in their spa robes having breakfast in the morning - come on guys cop yourself on!
There was a wedding going on which I didn’t realize until checking out and the receptionist mentioned it. I never heard or noticed the wedding party as they were tucked away from the main day to day enjoyment of the hotel. The spa was very nice and had special offers. The rooms are spacious with Swedish style and very clean. Food was super, walks and scenery wonderful, close to the town but we never left the hotel. If you are looking for a romantic break this is it with a lovely setting or a spa break or just to unplug from a busy day to day life – head to Farnham estate.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lenni007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My only regret is that I didn't get to spend more time there. This hotel is beautifully presented in fantastic surroundings. It's the perfect place for a chill out weekend. The rooms are very clean and modern and the whole hotel has been recently renovated.
The best part is the grounds of the hotel, there are walking tracks and cycle tracks around the grounds that make for a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venndiagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
789 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
24.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $135 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing