We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel almost makes me wish I was a golfer! It seemed to have excellent facilities (even to the point of providing a bus from their car park to the hotel door, even though it could be easliy walked in a minute or two). Staff are helpful and friendly, from the people on the front desk to the staff in the restaurant. The food was delicious at dinner and breakfast. The room was lovely and the bed was massive and comfortable.
I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Andrew C,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the resort.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,704 - 1,710 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We styed for 2 nights, the first night we were attending at wedding reception. Everything was faultless, the food, staff, cleanliness of the hotel and the SPA and pool facilities were out of this world. Cant wait to go back to this hotel. The drink was a little expensive and there is no Cash back facility in your Debit card nor ATM so make sure to come prepared. Overall a fantastic hotel that we will be recommending to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCodown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear LCodown

Delighted that you enjoyed your 2 night break for a wedding here at Farnham Estate.

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is a very long way from Dublin but worth the drive. It is in a perfect location and the facilities are excellent. Staff are very welcoming and will do anything to help out. We held a conference there and it was very accommodating. Despite a huge wedding on the Saturday all our needs were catered for. The main disappointment is the food. I had emailed in advance to say I had dietary needs and it seemed as if they had completely ignored them. When I was finally served the fish was grey and flaccid, vegetables were overcooked, the meat was tasteless, the choice of puddings was limited most being creamy and fatty. My room service breakfast was forgotten and when it arrived the whole meal was lacklustre - the toast, the muesli and yoghurt was bog standard supermarket. With beautiful countryside I had expected fresh produce, home made muesli or granola, thick yoghurt and home made bread. I was served the kind of breakfast you would find in a low level motel. Come on Farnham, if you want to be seen as a luxury estate you need to find better produce or a new chef.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main house if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heywood08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear heywood08

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review in relation to your recent conference here at Farnham Estate.

Delighted to read that your conference went well and you were well looked after.

I am truly sorry for any disappointment with food during your visit and I wish to assure you that this is certainly not our normal standard. I have discussed your points with my Executive Head Chef, who offers his apologies also.

I do hope that you will return, as we would very much welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we stayed in the hotel as part of a wedding part lovely hotel everything is very high quality. Drink and food prices were above normal for that area expensive room rates for a weekend. Because of the way they operate their spa area it was very difficult to use in the allocated time period.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Martin T

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate for a wedding.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit and I am sorry for any disappointment caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while attending a wedding..The grounds itself are beautiful however parking is away from the hotel and although they provide a shuttle bus I still found it quite annoying especially as we forgotten something in the car and it was quite a trek back.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very professional and friendly.The interior design in our room was very impressive and we were quite happy with the room.
The wedding reception room was beautiful and food could not be faulted.
The bar however was very slow on the night and it was quite clear there was simply not enough staff to deal with the number of people.
Myself and a friend also visited the spa and were very impressed.The treatments were very well done and thoroughly enjoyable.The outdoor pool is also a very interesting feature.
Overall I think this hotel is lovely for a weekend break and would recommend to others to visit.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bsanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Bsanv

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate for a wedding and thank you for your lovely comments.

Our car park is situated to the far left of the building. This was a conscious decision so as not to destroy the spectacular views of the estate which are visible from the old house.

I am sorry that bar service was slow on the night and I have discussed your comments with my Bar Manager, who offers his apologies also.

Delighted that yourself and your friend enjoyed your treatments and the facilities in our Health Spa.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The wedding experience was highly satisfactory. The facilities are good; hospitality service is also good. Spa staff were a little curt. Amenity areas and ambiance are good. More outdoor seating at entrance to Wedding suite area would be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Jim (Junior) O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Jim (Junior) O

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate for a family wedding and thank you for your lovely comments.

Thank you also for your feedback in relation to outdoor seating and this is something that we will certainly look into.

I do hope that you will get a chance to visit us again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband surprised me by bringing me away here for 3 nights. We arrived handed our keys to the porter and didn't collect them until we left. A walk in the grounds, dinner in the wine bar and a drink in the gardens watching the sunset at 11pm was a lovely first day. Day two was breakfast in bed and then went to the spa from 11am until 7pm...yes the whole day at the pool, the thermal suite and a massage treatment. We even had lunch here. Day 3 we went for a walk and brought a picnic to the lake and finished the day with dinner in the restaurant and a drink in the old sitting room. It is the perfect place to unwind and relax and is ideal for couples wanting a rest. Staff are great, building is lovely, grounds are wonderful. I am wondering when he is taking me back.

Room Tip: The Dromellan Suite has very large windows and only blinds so doesn't get dark in the summer. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear TracyHI

Delighted that you enjoyed your surprise visit to Farnham Estate and what a lovely gesture from your husband.

Thank you for your lovely comments, which I have passed to the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
845 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
24.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H635, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $132 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing