We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mid week getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely mid week getaway!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend recently did a mid week groupon break at the Farhnam Estate and we were not disappointed. We have been to lots of spas and I can safely say that it is up there with the best. The pool area is just fabulous and there is lots to do in the thermal suite. Often in Spas, I find that there is not enough relaxation areas and you can be too close to others. At this spa there is loads of space to lounge and read you book or snooze in peace.

The bedroom standard enough, but did have some nice design features, including a little hatch from the bedroom into the bathroom

We went for a drink before dinner in the vaults under the building, it had really lovely atmosphere and was busy for a Tuesday evening.

As part of our groupon deal we got €10 each off the set dinner in the restaurant. The food was very nice, but not remarkable, and the ambiance was really "hotel" dining room. I will definitely be back, but next time will eat in the very cosy bar.

Breakfast the next morning had loads of choice and each and every member of staff could not have been nicer. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75JaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear 75JaneC

Thank you for such a lovely review and your kind comments regarding your visit and the hotel facilities, our Health Spa in particular.

Delighted that yourself and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit so much and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    699
    283
    110
    70
See reviews for
359
1,668
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and have enjoyed these stays each time! Looking forward to heading back again hopefully in next few months!

Enjoyed the Spa and pool area especially the outdoor pool, no matter how cold it is its brilliant!

Room Tip: Outside pool is a must visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Zara F

Thank you for such a lovely review!

Delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to Farnham Estate and we really appreciate them.

A visit to our hydrotherapy indoor/outdoor infinity pool is certainly a must and glad that you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Recently visited for dinner in the basement of the hotel - bar. Lovely menu, food top drawer and service, discreet yet effecient. Nice atmosphere in restaurant with candle light. Enjoyed a quiet drink drink in one of the old lounge rooms of the main hotel after. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughing_Gravy_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear JJD70

Delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere in our Wine Goose Cellar Bar and thank you for your lovely comments.

Its lovely to read also that you enjoyed having a drink in one of the drawing rooms in the old part of the house, which are lovely to relax in after a meal, or indeed at any time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I currently live just outside Cavan town and this place really is 'heaven on my doorstep'. From the moment you enter the grounds you won't want to leave.
The very warm and friendly service throughout the hotel - the beautiful decor and relaxed ambience - the wonderful spa and the delicious food make this hotel a perfect place to escape the hectic world that we live in. ITS A MUST VISIT.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jjmurray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jmurray1

Thank you for such a lovely review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much and thank you for your wonderful comments, which is truly music to our ears.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon for another piece of heaven!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our recent stay at Farnham was for our Mini Moon 3 nights we stayed in this hotel which was recommended to us. We were very disappointed. We left one hotel to come to Farnham and there was just no comparison.

Customer service does not exist. All staff would need a training course in this department. I cant say that anyone was rude but just so scattered and obvious skills lack in this area. For example we went to bar on 2 nights for bar food we were asked 5 times in the space of 4 hours if we wanted to open a tab and we were sitting there for the 4 hours. We had a tab opened. This is not acceptable level of service for the price you are paying. We sat in the restaurant on the other night and not once was our wine glasses or water glasses topped up. These are just the little things that could improve.

The spa was huge and clean our treatments were ok on leaving the spa nobody asked was everything ok and thank you. When there was a problem. This in turn had to be dealt with upon check out which should not have being the case.

We did not see one comment card in hotel room or by reception.

The food was very good in both restaurants and bar.

We would not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mary G

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am truly sorry for any disappointment caused on your recent visit for your Mini Moon. Please be assured that this is not our normal standard and I have discussed your review with my team, at length, here at Farnham Estate. Your comments have highlighted some retraining issues that will be addressed immediately.

After check out, all our guest receive an on-line survey to complete and I am sorry that you did not receive this and I have asked our IT Department to investigate why you did not receive one in this instance.

I do hope that you will reconsider your decision and return to Farnham Estate as we would very much welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I stayed hear this weekend and had an amazing time hope to return soon again felt very welcome... And the food was out of this world :-) staff where very friendly and the pool and all the health spa amenities where top notch would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thanks again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Michael M

Delighted that yourself and your wife were made to feel so welcome here at Farnham Estate.

Glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, food, staff and our Health Spa in particular and thank you for your kind and positive comments, which I have passed to the team.

Thanks also for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a 1 night weekend break for our anniversary and enjoyed a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful suite in the old wing of the hotel. The room was fabulous; a great mix of the original character of the house with all the modern conveniences you would expect.
The staff were really friendly and welcoming and the spa was fantastic. The indoor and outdoor pool were lovely and the thermal suite was great and so comprehensive, you could spend all day in the spa, my one minor criticism was that on a Saturday afternoon it was difficult to get a recliner in this area but I guess this is the busiest time of the week.
We ate in the main restaurant in the evening and the food was delicious. We had a bar snack for lunch and that was good too. We booked a couple of weeks in advance but couldn't get booked into the spa (which turned out to be a bonus because you wouldn't need a treatment with the thermal suite etc that the spa provides to all residents included in the price). We also couldn't get booked into the restaurant until 9pm but again this turned out fine. But if you like to eat earlier make sure and book the restaurant as early as possible. All in all a wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear JG77_13

Delighted that yourself and your husband enjoyed your break at Farnham Estate for your anniversary celebrations!

Thank you for such lovely comments regarding the hotel and it's facilities and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing