We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel great 2 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fabulous hotel great 2 day break”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am just back from a 2 day break with my partner & I had to review this hotel from the moment we arrived the service was amazing. All the staff from reception to bars to spa to restaurant were so friendly and attentive. I went to the spa on my second morning for a facial top class my skin is still glowing . The food was also excellent breakfast was lovely as was the food in the bar and restaurant. The room was also amazing with a lovely view overlooking the forest. I could go on and on about it it was so good!!! Just can't wait to get back. Going to bring my mum the next time so she can enjoy the spa. Also going to book a night with the girls so we can be pampered. Thanks to all the farnham

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sineadmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sineadmmo

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much and thank you for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Esatte for your girls pampering break in the near future!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    681
    281
    106
    69
See reviews for
354
1,638
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff were wonderful and very accommodating, food in the restaurant was excellent and the spa was very relaxing. Great place for a retreat. The was loud music playing until 2am on the first night of our stay which wasn't great. The room was really comfortable with a big deep bath and remote controlled gas fire.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBelle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear BelfastBelle84

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you found your visit to Farnham Estate relaxing and that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, Thursday and Friday. On arrival we arrived at the carpark. Unusually, it's a bit of a walk to the hotel but they do a shuttle bus, the driver was a gent. Seems to be plenty of room beside the hotel to build a carpark but I assume they don't want to take away from the overall look of the place? Just build it behind the hotel? Anyway, the receptionist was nice and efficient. The room was nice, great views etc and the cleaning staff did a great job and were extremely pleasant when you met them in the corridors. The food was nice, we ate in the main restaurant once. We paid €32 each for a main course, dessert and a coffee. We got pleanty of complimentary bread and a small cup of soup as a starter which was a nice touch. We had a few drinks in the cellar bar on the Thurdsay night, 2 lads were having a verbal disagreement at the bar, alot of expletives used, I was surprised the bar staff didn't interject but they just let them off, the bar staff were young, students on summer break I'd say. The spa was great, you can't beat swimming outdoors in the rain! Staff were great and it was all very relaxing, would definitely recommend it. The grounds around the hotel are next to none, lovely walks and well mapped out, you can get a map at reception. Overall I found this hotel to be a top spa hotel, great staff and they had weddings on both days but this didn't take away from the service for the rest of us. Excellent for relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear dwf55

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely comments regarding the hotel and staff here at Farnham Estate.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the Farham Estate in August whilst attending a wedding. My husband and I had a fabulous time. The food was great and plenty whilst the relaxation in the Spa area was fab. The staff were very helpful and nothing was ever a problem. The customer service was great because I didn't have to ask for anything because everything was replenished without having to ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohare11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mohare11

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again to Farnham Estate soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days at this hotel in June. Staff at reception and in restaurant were excellent as was the food. The bedroom was well appointed and comfortable but, with no air conditioning, was very warm. We played golf and used the spa and,on the whole, had a very relaxing stay.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys good food and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear RBMK2013

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Rview.

Delighted that yourself and your wife enjoyed your visit, especially our Golf Course and Health Spa.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stay frequently at this hotel. The pool is superb as is the dining room. The food is fantastic and as I have a special diet, nothing is too much trouble to the manager and staff to get me what I want. Our room is always well presented and kept fantastically by the girls who do the room and bathroom completely every day. I would add that due to recent surgery I now use aids for walking ie scooter and rollator and I would recommend this hotel for anyone with health problems as the staff will assist in every way possible. Very wheelchair friendly. Would recommend highly. Try it for a midweek break - you won't regret it. Oh and when you arrive Owen and his colleague will take your luggage to your room with a smile and a bit of the auld chat! D and L C Just one problem children under 16 not allowed in pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and depending your own personal requirements discuss with staff when booking. ie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bencor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear bencor9

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit so much.

Delighted that our staff were able to meet your dietary requirements to your satisfaction and that you found the hotel to be suitable to your disability.

I do hope that you have fully recovered from your surgery and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location, peaceful surroundings and very relaxing. The staff are top class from the first minute we entered hotel the reception staff and the manageress were so friendly and pleasant. The room we were allocated was in a corner and the people on the terrace on the ground floor could see straight into our room the room was very stuffy. We advised reception of this and the Manageress brought us straight away to another room and helps us move our luggage, top marks to her, very nice efficient and friendly lady. The rooms are too hot and windows can not open fully, privacy is an issue in the two rooms we saw the windows need voile curtains as people walking in grounds or sitting on the terraces on the ground floor can see straight into the rooms. We had a fan in the room but this did not help make the room fresh. All the staff we met from the front desk to the man driving the mini bus were so friendly, helpful and this hotel should be very proud of them all. We eat in the Cellar bar and the food was very disappointing, potatoes wedges with everything, overpriced for what was on offer. We asked to see dinner menu and it was not what we expected nothing on it that said this is exciting well presented food. We eat in a really nice restaurant in town the next night. The spa was excellent and enjoyed the pool and the lounge area very much. If the food was better this hotel would be in our opinion one of the best in the country as the staff make it such a lovely place to stay nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Don't know how to advise as the rooms we saw were too hot and stuffy and privacy a big issue wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bawnogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Bawnogue

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry that you did not like the first room, but delighted that staff were able to move you to a more suitable one and I do hope that this was to your liking.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding staff and hotel facilities, which have been passed on.

I have passed your comments regarding food to our Executive Head Chef, who welcomes and values the feedback.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing