We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Grounds & Spa but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Grounds & Spa but....”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

no Aircon in the rooms! how can a 4star hotel not have any aircon in the rooms?. There are loud desk fans that keep you awake all night. Apart from the 2 sleepless nights, we did enjoy ourselves.

The weather was incredible which made the walk around the grounds really nice and peaceful.

The spa/pool is great, very relaxing.

The rooms are not cleaned though, we found lots of dead flies in and around the bed side lights

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Simon M

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit, apart from the fact that you found the room to be warm and I am sorry for any discomfort this may have caused.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    681
    281
    106
    69
See reviews for
354
1,638
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back from staying at the Radisson Blu Cavan for the third time. Very pleased with the service and genuine effort to help each guest have an enjoyable stay. From the moment we arrived were met by the very friendly and professional receptionist Sonia. We had mistakenly booked a queen bed and when we realised and asked for two twin beds this was sorted out quickly and with minimum fuss by Sonia who went to a lot of trouble to sort us out with exactly what we wanted. We had just reached our lovely room when the phone rang and it was Sonia asking if our room was satisfactory! We were both very impressed with this level of friendly and genuine service from the get go. We ate in the bar the first night and in the restaurant the second. All our servers were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Really enjoyed the spa and pool area as the weather was fabulous. Lots of iced water available poolside and coffee and juices upstairs in the spa area. Have to say it is the friendliness of the staff that mean we will definitely be returning to this hotel again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcarroll64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear tcarroll64

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your third visit!

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding staff and I am glad that they were able to sort out the issue regarding twin beds to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early June 2013 with family over to see relations in Cavan area. This was second visit to this hotel and we will certainly stay there again.

The ambiance is superb. The staff are friendly, competent and helpful. Rooms are well equipped with robes etc. Clearly I can't speak for every room but the view from ours and other family member's rooms was super.

Good variety of breakfast options in a very spacious dining room. Didn't have dinner in the hotel during this visit but las time it was very good.

I would confidently recomment this hotel to anyone in the almost 100% certainty that they would have as enjoyable a stay as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinT477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear MartinT477

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Farnham Estate!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed there recently with a bunch of lads on a golfing weekend. I could not fault the hotel. Bar food was good. rooms were excellent with a lovely shower. Pool area was very good. We ate in the restauraunt one night and both food and service was very good. After we left I realised that I had left a pair of shoes in my room. I contacted the hotel and they posted them out to me straight away at no charge. Excellent service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STARRY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Starry99

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your golfing break here at Farnham Estate.

Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding staff and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A weekend away with my husband turned into 2 weeks of very strong antibiotics after a visit to the Farnham Estate in Cavan. There Spa/Swimming Pool is obviously not cleaned to very high standards as I unfortunately picked up a water born bacteria which left me very ill. At no stage did I see any staff checking the ph levels or cleaning/moping/tidying the spa/swimming pool area, which is not good for a 4 star hotel. Yes the rooms are nice but the restaurant food needs a major uplift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Lesliava,
Thank you for your tripadvisor review,
I am sorry to hear of the unfortunate ear infection you developed. Our pool is tested every 2 hours for PH, temperature and chlorine levels and I am suprised to read you did not see any staff member in the area. As our pool area is part of our Spa we do not conduct water tests in front of relaxing guests but rather opt to conduct these behind the scenes.
Further to your request the HSE conducted an inspection of our pool cleanliness and procedures and gave us a "100% satisfactory" result. We also engage third party consultants who reguarly conduct suprise audits to ensure our health and safety practices are compliant throughout our spa facility.
I can totally understand the discomfort you experienced from an ear infection but I can assure you we operate a very clean and well maintained indoor and outdoor infinity pool. As you can appreciate our outdoor pool is exposed to the elements so we are extra vigilant in this area.
I do hope that you overall enjoyed your stay, and that this incident has not detterred you from returning to Farnham Estate Golf and Spa Resort.


Kind Regards
Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've stayed in Farnham now six times and each time it just gets better and better. The professional and welcoming staff cannot be more helpful. Rooms have lovely ambiance and lovely touches not provided in other 4* hotels eg. robes, ice bucket etc.(ice machine on each floor).
The spa is fantastic with 3 different steam rooms, sauna, fabulous indoor and outdoor infinity pool, snail and foot showers etc. Weather was so good we were able to sunbathe outside. The lounging areas are really relaxing. There's even flavoured water on tap!!
The golf course has improved by leaps and bounds since my first time playing a number of years ago. The greens and tee boxes are excellent and drainage has improved greatly. Very reasonable green fees too.
I love the super variety of food at breakfast and fast, efficient service. I really can't fault this hotel and will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have lovely little outdoor patio and are closer to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntrimTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear AntrimTraveller

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoy your visits to Farnham Estate so much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a dozen times, it's only a few miles from where I live. I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world & am grateful every time that I'm in the Radisson that it is on my door step; no long drive or flights, great food, atmosphere & staff that go above & beyond. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophias-choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear sophias-choice

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that the enjoy your visits to the hotel and thank you also for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing