We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I have been looking forward to staying here for a while now so when the opportunity to book a "Valentines Retreat" arose we grabbed it as it was our first Valentines together as a married couple and we thought we would do something special.Turned out to be a big mistake. The deal we booked was marketed as a "Valentines Retreat" but there wasnt a shread of evidence in the hotel that it was even Valentines Day. There weren't any decorations or anything. The restaurant didnt even have the feel of Valentines as any other restaurant would on this evening. We were very let down at the lack of atmosphere in the hotel for our break and this would be our major complaint with the hotel. Why market it as a "Valentines Retreat" and then do nothing to back it up?
This wasnt our only complaint though. Upon arrival to the hotel we parked in the carpark and proceeded to the pick up area for the shuttle bus. The porter passed by in a car, stopped to inform us that he would be back in a minute to escort us to the hotel. This he did, and was extremely feiendly and polite and as the first point of contact he set up a precedent that was not followed. Check-in was very unfriendly and in no way welcoming. No questions asked of us, just told what room we were in and time of breakfast. In general, most of the staff were not overly friendly or in any way welcoming apart from the porter and the maitre'd of the restaurant.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant and we were informed that it was a buffet and to help ourselves and that waiting staff would be along with tea and coffee. We went to get our food and found it very difficult. Now it was busy at this period but there was no control of flow of people through the buffet area and we observed people queuing for items from all sides and turning bumping into each other and so forth. The waiting staff refused to acknowledge our existance at the table. We had to get up and find someone to get hot beverages for our table.
Dinner at the hotel wasnt too bad i have to say. Although we did find that our first two courses seemed to be rushed out to us and our dessert seemed to take ages to arrive.
The room we stayed in was nice and very well appointed and we had no complaints in this regard. The spa also is nicely appointed and nice and bright and the outdoor/indoor infinity pool is definitley worth a go. Checkout was much better than check in but still lacked that customer service quality you would expect from a 4* hotel like this. The same porter brought us back to our car, and once again he prevailed to be the customer service champion of this hotel.
Overall we were let down by our stay, and found that it did not meet our expectations although it had the capacity to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwaySandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear GalwaySandS

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit and I thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

I do hope that you did enjoy certain apsects of your visit and that possibly, we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,198 - 2,204 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the last few years - normally for 2 or 3 (ideally) nights at a time.

Food - Food is amazing and they do try source as many of the produce off their own grounds where possible, or locally. They do some good value set menus as well. I've never been disappointed with the food there. The breakfast buffet is great - a lot of choice and some made-to-order items.

Accommodation - really great rooms, very large and plenty of seating room with good views to relax to. The shower isn't great imho, the pressure could be better. The water can have a brown tint to it but that is just because of peat during flood periods.

Spa & pool: I haven't used the Spa so can't comment but the whole annex that holds the spa, pool, gym is great and chilled. The view from the gym is awesome which makes up a bit for how small the gym really is (about 5 cardio pieces and area for stretching). They do Yoga classes as well but I haven't tried that (yet!). They do have a separate room for fitness classes.
I love the pool - there's a door from the inside pool to the outside one so you can swim outside if you want. During winter the water is warm enough that you can tolerate the cold. Loads of reclines around the pool and spa rea.

Service: Great, I've always had a great experience there. The restaurant team are friendly and chatty and the people you'd meet around the grounds are great as well.

Things to do: Well, it is Cavan so do bear that in mind . The hotel is about 3 miles outside the town and is about 3/4 of a mile from the main road on private land. Have a look at whats on around the time you visit though as there are a lot of cultural events in and around Cavan area. The grounds of the hotel are big enough and they do have mapped walks that can be as short or as long as you want. They offer fishing and other activities as well, but I don't know more than that!

Room Tip: All rooms offer pretty good views. Just remember the hotel is a few miles from town and there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNoirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear TravellingNoirin

Thank you for your great Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoy the hotel and it's facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights this week and found the Hotel to be absolutely fantastic. On checking in I asked to be upgraded to a suite and as no suite was then available, the receptionist immediately offered us an upgrade to an Executive Suite for the same price as a normal suite. This was probably the best room we have ever had in Ireland over the past 20 years. The staff were excellent at all times and could not be more helpful. All our meals were first class and both the gym and Spa were great. We also played a round of golf and in spite of the weather, we thought it was one of the best courses we have ever played on.We will definitely be going back!!!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade as it is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Liam D

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your viist , your room, in particular.

Good to hear that you managed a round of golf and enjoyed the course.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Given the reviews here, I expected a little more of a 'wow' factor from Farnham. We stayed in the standard room and while the quality was fine, it wasn't quite the luxury I was expecting. The room seemed tired and in need of some refurbishment. It had quite a musty feel about it.The bed however, was extremely comfortable, allowing for a really great night's sleep. The bathroom was nice,although the shower didn't provide much in the way of strong water pressure. The selection at breakfast was fantastic and the food was wonderful, far surpassing any other hotel I've stayed in. Check in and check out were both extremely slow as we were there at a busy period. Overall, it was fine, if not a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear sassireland

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain elements of your visit, but I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for one night - mid week at the end of Jan. I really liked the room, very mod, with good style. And adjustable thermostat so you can heat the room to your liking.

The spa was very disappointing, small and cold. It wasnt a freezing winters day or anything but it certainly was not warm enough to lounge about in the spa area. One steam room was out of order and the INFINITY POOL WAS CLOSED - the one thing i was really looking forward to was the infinity pool. When i asked the staff in the spa area - she said its too cold outside so its making the inside pool cold and therefore they had to keep the doors closed to it. What a load of rubbish!!!!!! Turn the heat up and stop cutting corners. I have been in outdoor pools elsewhere in snow.

The meal was fine - well the starter was awful, but the staff in the restaurant were very nice about it. But i wouldnt eat again in the restaurant - nothing to write home about. There was a very good choice for breakfast

Cocktails in the cellar bar were lovely, spot on.

In short - we got a good deal and had a nice night away, but i wouldnt recommend the hotel and im not sure id go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Dawn M

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry for any disappointment with regard to the outdoor element of the pool being closed during your visit.

I do hope that you will perhaps reconsider your decision and return to Farnham Estate, as we would very much welcome the chance to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Stayed for Valentines night with partner. Rooms are very nice massive bed lovely bathroom walk in shower and bath very clean. Staff all very friendly. Booked a 30 minute massage as part of our overnight package was made to feel very comfortable even though I'm not used to that sort of thing really enjoyed it lady gave a great massage. The pool and outdoor pool area was great water could have been a tad warmer but probably cos was only lounging about not swimming.. Only complaint was didnt have enough time to spend there! decent value for mid week package. Breakfast was excellent nice spread buffet with anything you'd want really. Good quality sausages ;) and muffins! Didnt eat dinner here had it in town in "the oak" lovely food but that's for another review!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ushbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Ushbutler

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit, especially your Health Spa treatment.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my BF here for a 3night stay for his birthday.On arrival we parked our car outside the hotel, as it is set down only we left our keys for the valet to park not the most convinent but there is a shuttle bus to take you to the car park.reception staff average throughout our stay we enquired about different things and we seemed to get the same member of staff each time who was not very helpful each answer she gave us just sounded like a guess.we were woke up at 8am on the first morning of our stay by trees being cut down outside our room and it being valentines week and very busy surely this could have been done a quiter week.The receptionist looked puzzled when we enquired would this be happening every morning she was unaware of it and thought it wouldnt,She contacted the ground staff and although it didnt start at 8am the next 2days they did continue to cut trees from around 10am not very relaxing even if we wernt trying to sleep.Restuarants and bar food delicious although bar menu very limited but the pizza was lovely as was the buffet breakfast.Bathrobes and slippers nice touch and spa and pool totally relaxing.TV poor no dvd player or facility to rent one from hotel and no points in tv to connect media player which we had with us to watch films.Some things could do with up dating as they said they used to have movies avaiable.The side door restuarant in cavan town is worth a visit beautiful meal during our break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deirdreclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Daer deirdreclarke

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry that you were woken on your first morning by trees being cut down and did not experience true relaxation during your visit.

With regard to movies not being available, this is certainly something that we can look into.

I do hope that, overall, you had a pleasant visit and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
24.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H635, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $132 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing