We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Want to start off by saying that we did have an overall lovely time. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, Sunday-Tuesday. The hotel is so close to being perfect - few things:

1. there were blood stains on the towel i was given for the pool area
2. Bedroom - there were stains on the bed cover (not the quilt - the sort of half blanket thing on the end of the bed). The room cleaning could have used a bit more attention - there was a sticky food residue in one of the drawers, really needed a good hoover in the corners and along the skirting, and the counter top was quite dusty. Also found a rather long hair on my pillow (we both have short hair). The shower also flooded at the bottom - some drain cleaner needed to improve the water flow. The flooding got worse the longer we stayed - the last shower we had flooded the entire bathroom floor by an centimetre or so of water. We stayed in room 131, and maybe just had bad luck with a lazy maid.
3. We were given a grubby wine glass in the bar.

But the pool, spa, setting, food and staff were all really excellent so they kind of made up for the few shortcomings. I think if our room had have just been given a bit more TLC, then the stay would have been absolutely perfect - so close to perfection, its a real shame. But as I said, I would be willing to give them a go again. Fingers crossed we'll get a cleaner room next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellehcim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Ellehcim25

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am glad that overall, yourself and your husband enjoyed your visit. I am truly sorry for the issues regarding cleanliness that you mentioned in your review. I would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard.

Hopefully we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    661
    273
    103
    68
See reviews for
348
1,600
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of February 9th just for some rest and relaxation. Fab atmosphere, excellent surroundings, room had everything we needed, friendly staff, sumptuous breakfast experience and a spa that is just out of this world. The nicest hotel we have ever stayed in...we didn't want to leave...only one downside..the food was tasty in the restaurant for dinner but the portions seemed a little small...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulyhonestcavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Trulyhonestc

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your relaxing break here at Farnham Estate. Apologies for the fact that you found the food portions to be small.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in the Farnham estate last night and have to say that it's simply outstanding, the perfect venue for a relaxing break. The spa is just fantastic, especially the outdoor infinity pool. The Water Mint Thermal Suite is amazing, we lounged about between the various hot and cold rooms, the pool and back again for three whole hours on Saturday afternoon and felt the stresses and strains of life ebbing away, before a great meal in the restaurant. The architecture is interesting and blends the old house and new hotel very well. The staff are very friendly and capable, and our room was comfortable and stylish. The breakfast was of a very high quality, and we will definitely be back. Without doubt it's the nicest and most relaxing place we've ever stayed in Ireland, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Barry T

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your relaxing break here at Farnham Estate and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We decided on 5th February 2013 to visit this hotel, rang that morning and were in situ that afternoon.

We had a wonderful time.

The room was lovely, the spa area is excellent, we had a few treatments which seemed expensive but were worth it because is was a fantastic experience.

We could not walk around the grounds because of the bad weather.

We had an evening meal which we enjoyed, however, the breakfast was fantastic.

The staff were exceptional.

We had a wonderful relaxing stay and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mary NG

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit, especially the Health Spa.

Hopefully you will get a chance to visit again in the near future!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed late January with my wife as part of a group on deal. Have to say it was one of the best hotel breaks we have ever had. A big statement to make, but we could not fault this hotel. Welcoming staff at reception, very helpful staff in bars and restaurants and others that we were talking to. We had food in the cellar bar on first night, but highlight was the dinner in the restaurant the second night, €32 for a 2 course dinner and excellent value for this. Breakfast had a veritable cornucopia to choose from. As for the spa, wow, it offers the opportunity for complete relaxation, my wife availed of some of the treatments whilst I spent a full day by the pool. Both the indoor and infinity pools were perfect temperature despite cold snap those 2 days we stayed. Spa area offered great variety of options, steam room, laconium and sauna along with various showers and foot baths. Genuinely one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and most definitely will be returning in the very near future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dangalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear dangalin

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that had a pleasant visit and your break was one of the best that you ever had.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Was lucky enough to spend a weekend here recently and loved it. The hotel is a beautiful combination of period architecture / features and modern furnishings / decor.

The hotel staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Special mentions must go to Willie at the Front Door for his tips and guidance as we set off on a mucky, but stunning walk around Farnham's lakes and Ciara in the Botanica restaurant, who guided us through the menu and wine list on the second evening of our stay.

Anyone going to Farnham should take time out for a treatment in the spa. Although the spa is large, it is still welcoming and an oasis of calm.

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Splash out on a suite / junior suite in the main house - well worth it. That said, all rooms are bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robm8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear robm8509

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and lovely comments and I have passed your thanks to staff.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent a glorious weekend in the hotel. The service from the staff was second to none. From the minute we arrived to the second we left we were treated with such kindness & pleasantness it made for a great time. We only left the hotel to go for a very muddy & very satisfying walk (bring your boots!) & other than that, the biggest quandary was which restaurant or bar to eat in & which part of the spa to park ourselves in.
All told, it couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: deerpark room in the main house was huge & had a fabulous mix of original old style architecture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallulahb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear tallulahb13

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the hotel's facilities.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
13.6 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Property: Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing