We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fab weekend away”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent a glorious weekend in the hotel. The service from the staff was second to none. From the minute we arrived to the second we left we were treated with such kindness & pleasantness it made for a great time. We only left the hotel to go for a very muddy & very satisfying walk (bring your boots!) & other than that, the biggest quandary was which restaurant or bar to eat in & which part of the spa to park ourselves in.
All told, it couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: deerpark room in the main house was huge & had a fabulous mix of original old style architecture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallulahb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear tallulahb13

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the hotel's facilities.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    685
    281
    106
    70
See reviews for
356
1,646
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and the only complaint I have to make is that we were'nt staying longer it was fab! The staff were so helpful the rooms were lovely and spotless! The spa was amazing it was so relaxing we ate in the bar the first evening as we were rushing and heading to a concert can highly recommend the ceasers salad for starters it could have been a main course the size of it! We had drinks in the bar after our concert and they had excellent entertainment a one man band whom could play absolutely anything! Great atmosphere! We had breakfast the following morning couldnt beleive the selection of breads and fruits and all lovely and fresh! After breakfast we sat in one of the rooms and read the papers which was lovely as it was a miserable day outside! I cannot reccommend this hotel highly enought the pictures on the websites dont do it any justice cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Siobhan G

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully next time for a longer visit!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

4 night stay in January, really enjoyable...long country walks on the estate, made use of pool/spa everyday. Pool area lovely and warm for just lounging around in robes and relaxing. Massive health spa with 18 treatment rooms and many treatments available. Breakfast everyday excellent and staff very welcoming and accommodating. Very near Killykeen Forest Park (5 min drive) well worth a visit for a walk. Ate in The Cellar Bar in the hotel on just one night, food was good but atmosphere a little dead. Would recommend a trip into Cavan Town for dinner and highly recommend The Oak Room on Main St.
The estate is well set back from main road so is very quiet and peaceful. Only a quick 90 mins drive from Dublin on new M3.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Class_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear J-Class-only

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay. Rooms are lovely, very clean, beds big and comfy, bathrooms spotless. The spa here is amazing, best I’ve ever been too, the treatments were wonderful and the staff are so professional. Also really enjoyed the couple of hours in the relaxation room after. The thermal suite and the pool are also to a very high standard, there is also an outside door which unfortunately was closed while we were there, would like to have tried that.
The food is quite good, but not amazing. We ate in the restaurant one night and had dinner as part of our package and the menu was very limited, they offered us another menu but we would have had to add €20 extra to choose from that menu, which i thought was a bit much to be honest. We ate in the bar another night and that was nice, not a great selection there either though, my only other gripe really with the food was that on both days someone beside us sent their food back, so it didn’t leave a great impression on me.. Breakfast was nice enough, i thought for a hotel of this standard though that breakfast would be made to order, the cooked buffet breakfast wasn’t great, but the alternatives more than made up for it, with lots of delicious choices
The walk ways were closed also while we were there due to bad weather, but to be honest i think we were told that as they didn’t want you coming back with mud on your shoes.. so i was very disappointed with that as had really been looking forward to exploring the 7km of walking trails. we did however take the path around the golf course and got a 45 min walk out of that so not all was lost..
The sitting rooms to the front of the old part of the hotel looking out onto the garden are just amazing. The kind man on reception lit one of the fires for us and we relaxed in there for a few hours, the rooms are decorated beautifully and def worth spending some time in..
Overall , this hotel is great, the spa is wonderful and we were totally relaxed after our couple of days and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear AMK1981

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your Health Spa and thank you for your lovely comments regarding it.

I am sorry for any disappointment caused due to the walkways being closed. They were closed due to Health & Safety issues arising from the bad weather we had being experiencing.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a brilliant overnight stay here at the end of January. Everything about the hotel is first class from the staff, rooms, the grounds, food, lively bar, cleanliness and the spa. With hotels of this quality on offer at a reasonable price it's a sure sign that Irelands on the way back. Now we only have to sort out the weather.

Room Tip: They've all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Joseph B

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review and lovely comments regarding the hotel and it's amenities.

I do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and 2 girlfriends stayed here in October 2012 for 2 nights BNB with 1 evening meal and also added in some spa treatments. I can honestly say i have never stayed in such an amazing, friendly and relaxing hotel. We arrived to the hotel, had our car parked for us by the best member of staff ever William!! We loved him, anything we needed he was more than willing to help. I hope he is a very valued member of staff because he is a treasure. All the staff were more than helpful and lovely to deal with. The location was easy to find we had no problems at all. Our room was massive, 3 single beds so spacious and cosy. The spa was amazing the relaxation suite, the pool and complimentary juices ect all top class. I had the pregnancy treatments which were amazing. We then enjoy a 40 minute walk to the lake before dinner. After dinner we sat outside in a patio with a log stove burning. Breakfast is great there is anything you could wish for our want. Overall this hotel is a must visit, i will def be back and cant wait!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Charlene G

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor review and comments.

Delighted that yourself and your friends enjoyed your visit and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January and I absolutely loved the place. The walks on the grounds are really well sign-posted and utterly peaceful.

The hotel itself is gorgeous - the food menus in the two bars was the same but incredibly tasty. The restaurant was nice but expensive.

The thermal area was large, not as intimate as in other hotels I've been to but then, considering unlimited use of it is allowed, it was pretty great.

The only negative was our deal included a bottle of Prosecco on arrival and it wasn't in the room. I rang reception and couldn't get through so I rang the restaurant and they sent it up. The lady who arrived with it didn't apologise for the oversight - little niceties such as this do go a long way.

My other half went for the golf and he said the man dealing with him couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating.

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay in a gorgeous hotel room with a nice breakfast and a nicer bar menu. The highlight of it all for me was walking through the soggy leaves by the lake in to a world of utter peace and tranquillity. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Twinkle T

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor review and comments.

Glad that you had a relaxing visit and enjoyed the hotel facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing