We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I attended a family wedding at the Radisson Blu Farnham Estate in Cavan recently and it was a most wonderful day. The staff were attentive and had a smile for everyone. The food was delicious and piping hot. The bedrooms are comfortable and cosy (except for the pillows which were uncomfortable). I didn't use the leisure facilities but am reliably informed that they are excellent. Didn't like that we had to walk outdoors to get from the hotel to the wedding reception rooms in freezing cold weather but we survived! But overall this is a good hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear cathennis

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor Review. Glad to hear that your family wedding went well.

Delighted that you found your room to be cosy and comfortable, apart from the pillows.

Our function room, where the weddings are held, is located outside the main hotel in order to ensure privacy for the wedding party and I am sorry for any inconvenience.

Delighted also that you will be recommending the hotel and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully next time, you will be able to use our Health Spa facilities!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    715
    287
    113
    70
See reviews for
365
1,688
42
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently & enjoyed it. The staff are amazing and go out of their way to facilitate you.

The room (Deerpark) was fabulous, lovely gas fire, bed was very comfy, bathroom was fantastic but the only thing I would say is the shower pressure could be better.

The spa: very dated and not as high a standard as others.the steam room had no steam. The outdoor pool was fantastic & even nicer at night time. As for the treatments, fantastic, the staff were lovely also. Only thing is I thought the music was a little too loud for relaxing & lunch was limited.

Food: in the restaurant is top class. Found the bar food to be slow and one night we got room service and it was horrible, burned and cold but didn't bother complaining.

The grounds are lovely and there are great trails once the weather is ok.

All in all, would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AW11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear AW11A

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit!

I am sorry about the issues that you mentioned with regard to shower pressure, spa facilities and room service and thanks for bringing them to our attention.

Great to hear that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Sad to say only stayed for one day & night 17th November 2012. Will try and get back for a longer stay. Food, rooms, & staff were all first class. The walk on Sunday morning with George was just what Doctor ordered, a beautiful estate. Sad to say never got to Spa Treatment areas, but will next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Quba22

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Hopefully next time, you will get to stay longer and enjoy a spa treatment or two!

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had 2 night break here recently. Hotel very impressive on arrival, had lovely large bedroom also. Outdoor pool offers something very different, and lots of areas to potter around & explore in the general pool area. Also was lucky with the weather and got to do a lovely walk through the forest. I do think some of the food options could be improved, e.g. when we ate in the lobby bar/cafe on the friday afternoon, I was disappointed to find that later that evening in the cellar bar the menu was very simliar give or take a few dishes. Also, the charcuterie boards that are available in the evening is something I think should be offered all day (combined cheese & meats board) - must say after a lovely relaxing day, I would have enjoyed that with a nice glass of wine. Any food we did get however was very tasty, and the breakfast was very impressive also. Would visit again. Staff very pleasant also in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepremier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear thepremier

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and lovely comments regarding the hotel and its facilities. Glad that you enjoyed them.

Your comment regarding the charcuterie boards being available throughout the day is certainly something that we will consider and thank you for suggesting this.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a SPA day with a friend of mine and was very satisfied with the services on offer. I am not a member but my friend is. I booked a facial but was able to use their pool and other spa facilites before I had my treatment. The layout and decor is very attractive and the atmosphere very relaxing. There are facilities to make tea or coffee at any time. The treatment was lovely as well. Just a fabulous place and a lovely pool. Wonderful facility to have in Cavan Town and I intend to visit it more often from now on.

Room Tip: Used SPA only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear KiwiCharley

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our Health Spa.

Lovely to hear that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel - excellent check in.
Myself and my partner stayed in a double room - the view was fab - the reason I gave the hotel
a 4 rating was there is far too much furniture in the bedroom - double bed, single bed, chaise long, relaxing chair, table and dressing table all in one small space - it's crazy they must not have heard of the minimilistic look - least is more.

But really overall excellent hotel - service very good. We ate in Cellar bar which had a lovely
atmosphere - again I feel they could broaden the menu a little to have some dinner on it (steak,
potatoes etc) as it stands it is more snack type meals - but very tasty.

As from all the other reviews the spa is excellent - the main pool - outdoor pool, and lots of different steam type rooms and snail shower (lovely), just soo relaxing.

Overall would definately return - lovely walks also - overall a quiet relaxing break so enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear irishMeath

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor Review and for your lovely comments.

I am sorry that you found the room to be cramped. All items that you mentioned, apart from the single bed, are standard 4 star rating requirements.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit, especially the Health Spa facilities.

I am glad that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I Found myself in Cavan late at night and in need of accommodation and got a great B&B rate at the very last minute.

The staff were mostly great, even the very stern lady at breakfast the next morning managed to break into a smile after some coaxing. I was most impressed by the lady who took my booking and by the reception staff in the spa (I did not use the spa but needed some emergency supplies and they were very accommodating).

The room was comfortable, clean and warm on a cold winters night.

The hotel grounds are well kept and it the location is very beautiful, amid the drumlin hills of Cavan. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieMacEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear AngieMacEire

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and that we are able to accommodate you.

Great to hear that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
739 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
18.9 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing