We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently. I was very impressed by the scenary and drive up to the hotel. I was then greeted by a friendly helpful concierge William who made us feel most welcome and offered to assist us with our luggage, which we were delighted with as we had just driven from Limerick and we had 3days luggage!! He then offered to park the car for us and said he would leave keys at reception, which he did. This was a lovely start to three wonderful days. Room, Restautant and bar were fantastic and lived up to their reputation. Unfortunatly William was not around on the day we departed so id like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank him because a friendly welcome is always a good start to any holiday! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Limerick Lady

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor Review and for your lovely comments regarding the hotel and William. I have passed your thanks to him.

Delighted that you will be returning and I look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    716
    287
    113
    71
See reviews for
366
1,692
42
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visiting Cavan with friends looking for dead relatives (Bernard McManus, died 1847), and we started our stay at Radisson Blue, Cavan. It's a nice enough hotel. Interesting historical property, with building over 400 years old, and a taste of modern, which are the hotel rooms. Now, the hotel advertises its age, but we lived in the new. Some might say it was a little misstated. Our room, 142 was hot. I do not like to complain, but did. The weather was perfect. I hope management sees this review, for here is what could be better: snappier service. Things take too long, from the restaurant to the bar. There is a wonderful chef. The design of the restaurant has the patrons sitting 4 feet from the servers' computers. Very odd. Change it and get the computers out of the sight of the diners. Come on!! One server's butt hit our table it was so close, and there were 4 other tables within 6 feet and 50 feet of restuarant with plenty of tables away from the servers' computers. The bar downstairs was dark. And untidy. Carlson family, rethink this operation. I think it could be better. But, the staff was delightful, from barmaid to bartender to wait staff to those who clean the rooms and greet one at checkin. And George who parked our car was delightful. Any issues are management issues. The people simply need leadership to make things run and seem smoother. The prices are not low for Ireland. I, for one, expected more for such an impressive property. .

Room Tip: 142 is very hot but we used a fan and bore it. 140, our friend's room, was just fine. It mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crucian-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear crucian-high

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback on your visit. I will be discussing each of the points with my Management Team.

I hope that overall, you enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate and Cavan.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights,weekend get away to Cavan. Never been. From the impressive drive into the hotel to the warm greeting by George who drove us up to the hotel.
The hotel is excellent,clean, and really relaxing. The spa is great lo unwind. We just used the pool and the thermal suites. Very big with loads of space and the outdoor pool adjoining the indoor pool was lovely. For an Autumn day blue skies all the leaves changing colour around you. It was a very surreal moment.
I went for a walk that day then around the 1300acre estate.
This is a perfect hotel if you just want to get away for a few days. You don't have to leave the grounds. Food is lovely and reasonably priced for a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Radisson Blu Farnham Estate is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. I spent 2 nights there & they were the most relaxing 2 days I've had in a very long time. The numerous walks are lovely & scenic. It's nice just to take a stroll down to the lake & read a book. The staff were really friendly & couldn't have been anymore helpful. I had dinner on my second night as part of a deal which I couldn't fault. It's a lovely place to go to relax. I don't think there's much to do in the area although I enjoyed the hotel & it's grounds so much I didn't venture any further. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Laura2704

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you had a relaxing visit and thank you for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is possibly the best hotel we've ever stayed in in Ireland. It far exceeded my expectations of a 4* hotel, and I even preferred it to some 5* hotels we've stayed in. The spa is amazing and I never wanted to leave the outdoor pool, even though it was only a few degrees outside. Rooms are large and luxuriously decorated in relaxing tones. Bathrooms are equally luxurious. Our room was on the ground floor and even had a small patio with a table and chairs.

We visited the hotel for a wedding, so unfortunately didn't get much time to relax in the lovely room we were allocated, but I really want to return again. I would have loved to be staying for another couple of nights. It pained me to leave this hotel. It is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend. I'm still on the lookout for a good offer so that we can go back and get time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DCM_Dublin

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When I last visited Farnham Estate the hotel and service was first class, on a recent visit we found things have gone down hill quite badly.

Service was very mixed and slow, the hotel was cold and lacked any atmosphere.

Dinner on the two nights we stayed was not hot enough and lacked any taste, very disappointing when we were paying a la carte prices.

Our room was cool verging on cold and when the hotel did switch on the heating the radiator made a very annoying noise.

The Spa which gets very good reviews was to say the least cold, none of the steam rooms were hot. The pool was nice and warm...........thank god.

I will not be going back again!!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor room was cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_the_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Joe_the_Red

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience on your recent visit.

Please be assured that your comments have been passed to the Management Team for discussion.

I do hope that you will consider your decision and return to Farnham Estate as we would welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel Cavan is one of the most comfortable and top of the range hotel I have stayed in. We spent two nights in the hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The staff was super friendly and was very obliging.Our room was nicely decorated and very cosy .Unfortunately the car park is a bit of a walk to the hotel but a valet service will look after your car if you prefer. Overall, my stay was lovely and I will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear callaghan31

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments, which I have passed to all concerned.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
742 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
18.9 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Property: Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing