We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing stay ever...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Most relaxing stay ever...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Radisson Blu Farnham Estate is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. I spent 2 nights there & they were the most relaxing 2 days I've had in a very long time. The numerous walks are lovely & scenic. It's nice just to take a stroll down to the lake & read a book. The staff were really friendly & couldn't have been anymore helpful. I had dinner on my second night as part of a deal which I couldn't fault. It's a lovely place to go to relax. I don't think there's much to do in the area although I enjoyed the hotel & it's grounds so much I didn't venture any further. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Laura2704

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you had a relaxing visit and thank you for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    661
    273
    103
    68
See reviews for
348
1,600
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is possibly the best hotel we've ever stayed in in Ireland. It far exceeded my expectations of a 4* hotel, and I even preferred it to some 5* hotels we've stayed in. The spa is amazing and I never wanted to leave the outdoor pool, even though it was only a few degrees outside. Rooms are large and luxuriously decorated in relaxing tones. Bathrooms are equally luxurious. Our room was on the ground floor and even had a small patio with a table and chairs.

We visited the hotel for a wedding, so unfortunately didn't get much time to relax in the lovely room we were allocated, but I really want to return again. I would have loved to be staying for another couple of nights. It pained me to leave this hotel. It is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend. I'm still on the lookout for a good offer so that we can go back and get time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DCM_Dublin

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

When I last visited Farnham Estate the hotel and service was first class, on a recent visit we found things have gone down hill quite badly.

Service was very mixed and slow, the hotel was cold and lacked any atmosphere.

Dinner on the two nights we stayed was not hot enough and lacked any taste, very disappointing when we were paying a la carte prices.

Our room was cool verging on cold and when the hotel did switch on the heating the radiator made a very annoying noise.

The Spa which gets very good reviews was to say the least cold, none of the steam rooms were hot. The pool was nice and warm...........thank god.

I will not be going back again!!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor room was cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_the_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Joe_the_Red

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience on your recent visit.

Please be assured that your comments have been passed to the Management Team for discussion.

I do hope that you will consider your decision and return to Farnham Estate as we would welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel Cavan is one of the most comfortable and top of the range hotel I have stayed in. We spent two nights in the hotel on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The staff was super friendly and was very obliging.Our room was nicely decorated and very cosy .Unfortunately the car park is a bit of a walk to the hotel but a valet service will look after your car if you prefer. Overall, my stay was lovely and I will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear callaghan31

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments, which I have passed to all concerned.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in farnham in one of there suites in the house. Theres only 8 of them we had to have gotten the best one the "deerpark room". It has a gas fire which was great as it kept the room nice and warm, huge bathroom with double shower. Highly recommended.

Had dinner in the restraunt as part of package deal which was possibly the best meal i have gotten in a hotel in years.

The spa is absolutly world class made good use of pool and relaxation areas. No under 16s allowed just so you know. The outdoor pool is pretty cool also, you swim out through a slideing door from indoor pool area.

Very good rates on golf available, didnt play this time but will be back to check it out. Also the underground bar is fantastic for evening drinks.

The only tip i would give is if your staying on a weekend check is there a wedding on as the noise on our second night was unbelieveable coming from there conferance center which is across the lawn from the hotel. Guests have to walk back past the windows of room in original house to get back to the new modern rooms. We had a lovely rendition of jimmys bring sam back to donegal again about ten times at 3am.

Dont let that ruin it its a fantastic spot and i will return and book into that room again if theres no wedding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Peter1809

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Apologies for the fact that you were disturbed by wedding guests returning to the hotel.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate and once again, thank you for your lovely comments and recommendations.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Recently stayed here with my girlfriend celebrating our 2 year anniversary. Quite hard to find the hotel if you don't have any Google Maps/Sat Nav. I requested & got a Woodland View room which I assume is a Business Class Room, really great views would recommend. The hotel itself is great, a real break from the hussle and bussle of everyday routine. We had room service breakfast and there is a €6 charge for this which isnt the end of the world if you have breakfast included in your rate. We went to the restaurant but got put off by the menu really didnt suit us with the prices ranging from €24-28 for a main course. We went down to the Main Street which is 4km away, lovely restaurants down there. The swimming pool is lovely also. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to get away from all civilisation.

Room Tip: Try the room service breakfast really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear SeanByrne

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed your break away from it all.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Just back home from an amazing 3 night stay in Farnham Estate! It's our second time to go back and this time was even better !.. The staff are amazing , so polite and eager to go the extra mile , the Breakfast spread and variety was excellent . The resteraunt meal was exceptional , a blue steak to rival any I've ever had and a dark chocolate and orange tart that is nearly travel the county for!.. The Spa area is exactly what's needed , no crowds , clean, smells lovely!.. Rooms are fine , first time room was better but after all the woodland walks I would have slept in the bath and been as comfy !.. Can't recommend this place enough.. 5 Star rating from me !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear BonnieWolf

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and your lovely comments.

Delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
13.6 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Property: Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing