We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in the middle of the countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
Level Contributor
237 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Heaven in the middle of the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here midweek on a work trip for 2 nights. Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Cavan countryside. Hotel rooms are beautiful and the staff (Megan the receptionist) are very helpful. The spa is not to be missed and the bar food is excellent.
The outdoor pool is lovely as are all the different steam rooms (sauna etc). Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iggyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear iggyTipperary

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and for your lovely comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    661
    273
    103
    68
See reviews for
348
1,600
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having had a busy period with work, my wife and I decided to have a couple of days away.

Having stayed in Farnham Estate before, there was only one choice of destination for us!

This hotel is very special, from the location, the staff, the facilities and the food.

When we go to Farnham Estate we feel the relaxation as soon as we enter the gates and we have no desire to leave the Hotel until we have toupon departure.

We checked in on a Monday for a two night break and were surprised at the buzz around the hotel at the start of a week. We received a warm welcome and settled into the room. There really is no such thing as an awful view from anywhere in the hotel!

Dinner on the two nights, in the restaurant was spectacular. There is a new French head chef, and although we have always enjoyed the food- this was at a different level altogether. The combinations, the standard of food and the presentation of all courses was exceptional- thank you!!

The spa treatments which we enjoyed were wonderful. There is a treatment room where couples, or friends can have there massages, etc together, which is a nice touch. My wife enjoys her massages and said that Leona was wonderful.

The leisure facilities are great and very relaxing, including the indoor / outdoor pool which was a lovely temperature on what was a cool and damp day.

Breakfast was plentiful, varied and of an excellent quality, with hot items being replenished frequently.

In summary another wonderful stay, in a very special hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy071972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Andy071972

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that yourself and your wife enjoyed your visit and the hotel facilities and thank you for your lovely comments, which have been passed on those concerned.

Thank you also for your previous visits and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Where do I start we came to the hotel before 12 I asked if they could upragde the room the reception guy was very nice so we waited about 1.30 For it but the room was amazing we had lunch it was good we loved it the staff very friendly especially thegirl named erneste something with e she was just good, the food is very good a bit pricy but good the spa is just I dont know I have no words amazing we rent out two bikes we went in the woods for half a day it was 30 euros it's good then the breakfast is ok nice set up big selection but half if the hot food was cold but the rest is good I recomended Its the best place I went so far and I will be back very soon for my birthday because monday it was our anniversary and tusday my wife's birthday we had great time very relaxed thanks guys and I can't wait to comeback.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anasergiu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Anasergiu1

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely comments, which have been passed on to those concerned.

I hope that you enjoyed your anniversary and your wife's birthday celebrations here at Farnham Estate and we look forward to welcoming you back for your own birthday celebrations in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Arrive at 10 30 pm, long drive from Belfast with a busy day ahead of you- no hot food. How many stars? There is room service but you have to be in your room to order it! The restaurant is closed but you can't eat the food you have ordered except in your room! No simple burgers after 10pm - they will do you a toastie but it takes 40 minutes on a mid-week boring night in October to arrive - which proves the point; no hot food after 10pm. Beautiful room and design but hospitality - absolutely not. Style over substance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JGS1why
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear JGS1why

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the choice of food from our room service menu and also for the delay in getting your toasted sandwich.

I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future as we would welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here as part of my honeymoon. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite in Farnham house (the Deerpark room). This was much appreciated. The room was just stunning with a demi poster bed and a massive bathroom. It was modern and very clean with lots of in room faciiltes eg a coffee machine, tea making facilities, radio, mini bar, free water, iron, hairdryer etc The decor was really beautiful, it was a very cosy, comfortable room with a very comfy bed. Found it hard to leave the room as a result!

The setting is so peaceful and Im sure the woodland walks are great but we didnt do any as we were here to mainly sleep and relax after our wedding. We ate in the bar on arrival and found it just ok. It wasnt a very welcoming area but the food was nice and reasonably priced and the staff very efficient and friendly. There always seemed to be a manager around which was great. The restaurant was too full on the Saturday night as we left it too late to book (our own fault as the hotel had rang us earlier in the wk to see if we needed a booking made and we hadnt got back to them, again great service from the hotel) so we ate in the cellar bar instead. This had the same menu as the bar upstairs. It is a really lovely atmospheric space with candles lighting and exposed brick walls, very romantic. We ate early in the evening so it was quiet enough. We went to bed early as we were still so tired after our wedding but there must have been live music later in the night as we could hear it in our room. It didnt disturb our sleep too much even though it was loud enough. There was a wedding on the Saturday too but again it didnt disturb us too much. The function room is away from the main hotel, great idea. The hotel was very busy all wknd but its a big hotel and it was the wknd so this was to be expected.

Besides the room the spa was my favourite part of this hotel. We were left really nice bathrobes and slippers in our room that do entice you to use the spa. We booked some treatments and were very happy with these. The pool is fab, being able to swim outside is a unique selling point here! There were no children around either which was a distinct bonus for us. The spa is very light filled and the open brick and high ceilings are fab. I liked it better than the spa at the 5 star Heritage in Laois.

Thw breakfast was excellent, lots of everything. Again, very busy though! Our room was cleaned so well, they even folded our clothes. Top marks for cleanliness. I would definitely return to this hotel on a spa wknd. The bar menu is perhaps a bit limited but next time Id try the restaurant. Thanks for a very enjoyable, relaxing honeymoon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deerpark room in Farnham house, it was amazing. Massive bathroom which we loved. Id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Dubheire

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

Thank you also for your lovely comments and feedback. Congratulations on your recent marriage and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable relaxing honeymoon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from a weekend break(this being my second visit)after being picked up by the courtesy van up to the hotel we were met by megan who was warm and friendly we arrived near 4 but room wasnt ready but she extended our check-out till 3 (fairs fair :)
spa is wonderful and as previously reviewed it has everything(one complaint get some fly spray ...blood things were pestering me while i was relaxing :(
went that evening to the wine cellar and were told food had finished lily(the lovely bar staff) went out of her way to get us something to eat and when we didnt like the wine she went to the restaurant 2 floors up.....(one complaint the music would send u to sleep....glad a group of lads that were staying brought there guitars as they made the night more entertaining which meant you stayed... which meant you bought more drink.. so maybe the hotel could look into that :)
Breakfast was FANTASTIC ......
SPA...Went for 2 treatments(fairly expensive) and have had massages all over the world and wasnt that impressed with the body massage but she was great at the facial......
Had dinner that evening which was very nice (was there for my mothers birthday) and had told them at the front desk(they said they'd tell the chief) the people next to us were celebrating there wedding anniversary and were brought a glass of champagne and chocolates so i was expecting that but we just got the choc's :( also my sister had phoned & ordered a bottle of wine sent to the table(which ended up goin to someone else) then the waiter just came over and said the bottle we had ordered earlier was from my sister(bit dissappointed as no apology or CHAMPAGNE :(
went back to wine cellar and this time they had no music(bring back the keyboard player or even better the guitar guys :) shame no entertainment on a sunday :(
All in all a lovely weekend :)

Room Tip: room 145 has a door goin out to the back but room 146 has a better view and seats outside there room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful location, beautiful hotel, huge range of amenities, excellent food, friendly and helpful reception, bar and restaurant staff, spacious, very well appointed and comfortable bedroom but three examples of lack of attention to detail left us feeling some people had let the team down:
• On arrival we were quoted a rate for our stay which was substantially greater than that agreed when booking. The receptionist had to go to a back room to do/check something or seek an approval before returning to confirm the rate agreed several weeks earlier. Surely the correct rate should have been recorded on the computer system at the time of booking.
• When we informed a room attendant that our bathroom had neither shower gel nor shampoo he told us (without any expression of regret) that there was none in stock until the following day. Surely, such a failure in basic stock control cannot be justified.
• Part of the bedroom carpet was frayed and raised at a joining and was approaching the stage of being a hazard (see photo). The remainder of the carpet was in excellent condition.
If those issues had not occurred I would have no hesitation in giving an overall rating of EXCELLENT

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonalGD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
13.6 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Property: Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing