We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful relaxing weekend at a fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the moment we entered the driveway through the golfcourse to the hotel, we could feel ourselves relaxing.

This stay was over the Easter weekend and the weather was glorious.

The hotel was busy and there was a wonderful buzz about the place.

From the moment we checked in to the time we reluctantly checked out, the experience could not be faulted. The staff were attentive, friendly and professional. The food was wonderful- the steaks were cooked to perfection. My wife enjoyed fantastic spa treatments, while we both enjoyed the spa facilities, especially the idyllic infinity pool. The suite was spectacular, with breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. The walks through the grounds are well marked, with guidebooks provided in the room.

All in all it leaves you wanting to return.

We can't wait to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy071972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you for your review and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate, your comments were wonderful.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,674 - 2,680 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed here with my Mam and 2 sisters and it exceeded my expectations. Having read some Trip Advisor reviews I was pleasantly surprised to see the rooms were not shabby and all of the staff were very pleasant and polite.

The food in the bar was excellent but we didn't think the food in the restaraunt was as good but still nice enough.

The swimming pool area was so relaxing and the outdoor pool was really nice and we actually spent most of our time in the pool in the outdoor pool. We loved the relaxing rooms off the pool area.

The sauna and steam rooms were all good and we all had treatments during our stay which were very pleasant. To be honest if I went again I wouldn't go for a treatment cause there is enough other things to do.

We went for a lovely walk on one of the mornings and it was so nice and peaceful.

This hotel is highly recommended and I have already been on to the hotel to organise a few days for myself and my husband in the hotel.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. From the moment we arrived (3 of us) everything was perfect and every member of staff was both friendly and helpful. Room was lovely, spa was great, breakfast and dinner were excellent. Only got to do one of the walks - it was lovely, Weather was fantastic so we could swim in the outdoor pool (amazing for April in Ireland!), however, even if the weather had not been so good it would still have been great. It's a real 'get away from it all' place. The hotel has some great deals for breaks and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you for the review. Reviews such as yours are great for our staff and we sincerily thank you.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We have stayed here a number of times and if anything our latest stay was on an improvement on previous stays. We got the best room so far on the first floor with a view out onto the swimming pool and the green fields. The bathroom had a tiny little window above the bath looking out over the fields which was really cool! We went to relax and chill out and that's what we got along with great weather. Dinner in the restaurant can be hit and miss but this time it was excellent and we were happy with all three courses. The only let down was that yet again I missed out on the spa treatments. Everytime we go here I try to book in a spa treatment and they are always booked up. It didn't take from the expereince though and we cam back nice and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c13Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review it is nice to know that our food is getting so much praise. With regards to the spa it does be very busy at the weekends but you can book your treatments in advance and I assure you we will look after you.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here on a romantic getaway. Lovely setting and good walks around the hotel. Had afternnoon tea in one of the sitting rooms when we arrived which was lovely. Waitress very friendly and attentive. Good meal in the restaurant but very busy, huge delay with drinks. Only problem with this hotel is loads of hen nights & weddings so did feel a bit mobbed at times. Spa very busy and not very relaxing enviornment simply due to amount of people. Saying that the treatment was very good. Room was very nice with huge bathroom and we asked for a quiet one whch we got at the end of a corridor. Unfortunately still a lot of corridor noise - an extra door in the room which there is room for would have been brilliant. Checking out was a bit dismal - receptionist barely said hello.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millaneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your review but I am sorry it was so busy when you were with us, we did have a lot of wedding in the last week of April and although they are to the side of the hotel it can get very busy. We do hope you will return in the near future.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel was absolutely amazing. We stayed over the Easter Break and made the most of it. Excellent location for exploring the North of Ireland as well. Visited the Giants Causeway on the Saturday, & spent Sunday relaxing in the hotel. Made use of the pool, and walked through the grounds. On Monday we went for a trek around the lakes!
Enjoyed the Cellar bar every evening - Tommy in the bar knew our order by heart and before we could get up to order, he would be round to check if we would like another round. We also ate in the hotel each evening, and had Sunday lunch as well. The restaurant was packed - always a good sign of quality food! The Sunday buffet was amazing - eyes were bigger than my belly for sure!! Food was absolutely suberb. Even though we were only there for 3 days, it felt like home. All the staff recognised us saying hello each time. I didn't make it to the infinity pool myself, but my partner thought it was a little slice of heaven! Lots of little touches like valet parking and wonderful views.

Room Tip: - No need to leave the hotel, everything is onsit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretravels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Wow, thank you for your review the staff will love this one as they do try very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and it is so nice to be able to pass on reviews such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Here for best friend's wedding in April. Breath taking venue with incredible views, especially from the infinity pool! Food excellent (what a breakfast!). Lovely walks to the lake. World class spa. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnhamestate, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

Thank you so much for your review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our breakfast goes down very well as the selection is very extensive. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel.
Philip Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
830 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
268 reviews
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H635, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $124 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing