We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Tyrone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Got married in November 2008 and we had our wedding reception in Cavan Crystal Hotel.. It was excellent. The attention to detail by Una, Chris and Siobhan was unbelievable. Food was delicious. Will definately be back to stay for a weekend break.

  • Liked — staff and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMacTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    239
    93
    32
    22
See reviews for
216
277
17
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
jgarry28
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My brother got married here and we all had an unbelieveable day. The food was excellent and the staff couldnt do enough for us. Everytime I stood up at the top table someone was there to put my chair in behind me! I dont generally have soup so one of the staff got me a pint instead! We were also very well looked after by Warren in the residents bar who kept us entertained and made sure we were all served promptly. I will definately be back with my girlfriend for a weekend in the new year.

  • Liked — Fantastic Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave it!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgarry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I must start this review by saying how I had a wonderfully relaxing weekend with my boyfriend!

I loved the decor and atmosphere of the hotel and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful at all times!! It was modern but not clinical as some hotels are.

The rooms was wonderfully spacious, bed was huge (the size of bed that I would love at home!) room was warm but not stuffy. it was clean and very comfortable.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. presentation was top dollar, taste was amazing!!

Both my boyfriend and i went for back massages on Saturday morning. This was a fantastic idea! it was so relaxing!! The girls in the salon where friendly and very professional and welcoming!!

Unfortunately I did notice a few things that slightly bothered me;
When i had a shower the floor got soaked! Everytime!
The bathrobes were not 'fluffy', they were towel robes but could have done with a little more care at the laundry, the tie rope for the robes were not connected to the robe (no little loops at the sides)
In the bar the sofas and chais could do with some attention as they were very worn (a hole in the arm of the chair that I could have fitted my thumb in)
The salon was in a strange location; on the fith floor in what seemed to one have been a guest room as it felt a little cramped and almost like an after thought inthe hotel's plans.

Even with these small negative details i would very happily return to the Cavan Crystal Hotel because of the staff, atmosphere, food, cleaniness and the massages!!

  • Liked — The huge comfy bed that I would like to have taken home
  • Disliked — The slight wear and tear
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This is a fabulous hotel on the outskirts of Cavan and came so close to getting an Excellent score. The hotel is immaculately presented and has a nice Crystal showroom for Cavan Crystal in its midst.

Reception staff were very friendly and check-in was quick and easy. The rooms are modern and spotless and a turndown service is offered.

I was with work colleagues and ate in the restaurant. Staff were fantastic and accommodating and the service was excellent and the food superb.

The only downer was in the bar the staff changed shortly after we frequented the room and although the first member was jovial and chatty her replacement seemed disinterested and just wanted to text her friend rather than take part in the atmosphere.

The hotel boasts a health club although I did not get the chance to use.

Breakfast was plentiful although the hot selection was cooked to order rather than buffet style which meant less ability to pick and choose.

Overall this was an excellent hotel and I would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Clean, Great Restaurant
  • Disliked — Taxi Ride from Cavan, Second Bar worker and Views not gbreat
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sufflad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This hotel is great. We have stayed twice now. Once in a standard room and once in a suite. The rooms are all decorated beautifully, very modern. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The suite was definitely worth the extra charge - there was a scented candle lighting when we arrived. The room had a huge four poster bed, widescreen TV, stereo, jacuzzi bath and double shower. Plenty of space - it really was huge! When we returned from dinner in the town, the sheets were turned down with chocolates on the pillow - very nice touch! Will be staying here again next year for a friend's wedding.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgergirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We had our wedding reception at this hotel and we seriously could not fault one thing. The staff went so out of their way from the initial booking to make it the best day of our lives. Function room, food, restaurant staff, bedrooms were all top class. Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week end celebrating our 33rd Wedding Anniversary at the Cavan Crystal Hotel.Our room was comfortable and had all the extras you expect from a 4 star Hotel - pool and jacuzzi spotlessly clean and easy to access from the bedrooms - (we nipped down wearing the bathrobes provided!)
Opus One Restaurant superb, nice little touches such as pre - dinner appetizer of a delicious tomato consomme, and a mini ice-cream cone pre - desert! All the food cooked carefully and beautifully presented, staff were all well trained and polite. Comphehensive wine list sensibily priced.A delight for even the most serious of "Foodies!"
We had breakfast in our room on both mornings - this arrived on time and again was well cooked, and morning paper provided too!
We look forward to returning to th Cavan Crystal Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
2.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
11.8 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
23.5 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
567 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
11.3 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavan Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavan Crystal Hotel

Property: Cavan Crystal Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavan Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavan Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing