We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Whenever we visit Ireland again, we WILL stay...”
other travelers have booked this property
4 bed-room dormer cottage (sleeps 8) with garden, 2 living rooms, secure storage + bait fridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
4 bed-room dormer cottage (sleeps 8) with garden, 2 living rooms, secure storage + bait fridge
Kitchen - fridge, freezer, dishwasher, electric cooker, WM, microwave, blender, toaster Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
4 bed-room dormer cottage (sleeps 8) with garden, 2 living rooms, secure storage + bait fridge
Kitchen - fridge, freezer, dishwasher, electric cooker, WM, microwave, blender, toaster
Kitchen
Kitchen - electric cooker
Living room with dining space for 8, TV/DVD, Radio
Sitting Room (TV, DVD player, iPod/MP3 player, internet, games, DVDs and books)
Sitting room
Sitting room - open hearth fire (coal/wood/turf)
Bedroom 1 - Ground floor with 4' double bed
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 - Ground floor with 4' double bed
Bedroom 3 - Upstairs dormer with 4' double bed
Bedroom 4 - Upstairs dormer with 4' double bed
Shower room (electric shower)
Garden - has table/chairs - seats 6-8
Fishing stand at lake on farm
Laneway to lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cavan, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
RachaelS1...
1 review
“Whenever we visit Ireland again, we WILL stay again”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The property was a little difficult to find, but the owner was easy to reach and came to collect us and guide us quickly. The house was quite large and well equipped. The farm fresh eggs were delicious and a item. The whole family was very nice and helpful. Even took us in to the local pub a few times and collected us afterward.
Not only is the property wonderful, the local town is the best we've ever been to. The locals are also wonderful and friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer. If you want to stay in that area, this is definitely the place to be.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullinmai...
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For those who want to get "off the beaten track"”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We like variety when we travel, so we enjoy staying in a range of accommodations, from fancy guest houses (for a night or two) to "do it yourself" places that are a bit out of the way and where we can come and go as we please. This place fits the latter category. It is not luxurious, but it is comfortable, quiet, and the setting is perfect if you like being close to where ordinary people live and work. It is a great base for exploring the less visited midlands, being close to forests, trails, megalithic sites, and beautiful Irish countryside. Our hosts, Pat and Colette, were helpful and friendly, but not at all intrusive. You've got to like dogs and cows (we do) and quiet walks on country lanes to enjoy this place. Don't expect upscale accommodations; this place is comfortable, but basic. My one complaint is that internet access is spotty, but the library in Cavan has free and very good WiFi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of Wi-Fi, washing machine and coffee maker did not work well.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we hope to rectify the WiFi issue soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100ck9
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet fishing retreat”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I have just returned from staying at this cottage along with two other anglers, the cottage is set in a quiet location on a farm, there is a lake on site although we did not venture to fish it.
The accommodation is clean and comfortable, the kitchen is equipped to a reasonable standard although a more modern cooker would not go amiss. The welcome pack was a nice touch and contained many useful items, the fresh eggs from the hosts were well received.
The hosts Pat and Colette are very helpful, and explained the workings of the cottage adequately.
I have no doubt that I and my other travellers will be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazzy2
banbridge
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely family fishing escape”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this cottage . It gave us everything we needed and more; quiet, clean, comfortable, warm and cosy. Beautiful scenery and lots of good fishing lakes. Very friendly neighbours!
Nearest town about two miles away so great for quiet escapes. Internet was slow but not sure if we set it up properly.
Will be returning and hopefully soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness, scenery, the old style aga and the space
Liked least: my out of date sat nav lol
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas L
Bad Worishofen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beim Ankommen brennender Kamin, Eier und frische Milch aus Willkommensgeschenk.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing