We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value”

Big Apple Restaurant at Black Horse Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Recommend to us by the receptionist at Farnham Estate Hotel. Had good experience here, good food and very reasonable. Went with my girlfriend, she had early bird and I had item from bar menu.

Location:
The restaurant is in a bar, not overly impressive when you first walk in but nice all the same

Staff and Service:
Lady that served us was very friendly and helpful. The meal arrived very quickly.

Food:
Both dishes were lovely and well presented.

Value:
My girlfriend's early bird was €20 for starter and main. My club sandwich and chips was about €8.50. All round excellent value for money and positive casual dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fab food and great value”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Tasty food and great service. We came here for food on my birthday and it didn't dissappoint. Look forward to returning when we're back in Cavan!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nordiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blah”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went with a friend for dinner, not impressed with the venue, preferred it where it used to be. The staff were friendly but the food was abysmal. The only thing we ate that we both agreed was lovely was the home made bread served with our starter. The steak was awful, leather would have been easier to eat, not the standard I expected at all. The sides were not hot either. Overall very disappointed. Would not go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDunne_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
“Great Food in this Restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had my Lunch today 23rd June 2014 Battered Cod with lovely side salad and chips which was excellent followed by Apple and Raspberry with Custard which was equally as good.
Very fast service and helpful waitresses. I would recommend this Restaurant to anybody who enjoys good quality food and excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food from an award winning venue”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we knew the place was a good choice, wonderful greeting from the staff. Excellent service.
Concise lunchtime menu and we opted for the supreme of chicken and a lasagna, both of which were excellent and presented beautifully.
Coffee top ups at no extra charge, really great, well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Apple Restaurant at Black Horse Inn also viewed

Cavan, County Cavan
 
Cavan, County Cavan
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to Big Apple Restaurant at Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing