We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, first stay and it won't be my last”
Review of Hotel Kilmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kilmore
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Booked in after recommendation from work colleague.
The rooms are very clean and modern, the beds very comfortable and the free wifi works very well.
We ate in the bar, and have to say a great steak served by friendly staff.
If you are in the area for business or pleasure I highly recommend you stay here.
I know I will be the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBolton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kilmore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 256 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This review relates purely to the food served in the bar area.

Visited with family plus parents on a Monday night.

Quiet, efficient service. Choice of food available was very good, a wide range. I ended up choosing a beef fajita, with onion rings and French fries as side orders. Portions were huge. Must say though that the fajita lacked much in the way of spiciness or strong flavour, it was pretty workmanlike. Nothing to write home about. My wife quite enjoyed the burger and fries on offer though.

Eating out in Cavan is not easy due to the severe shortage of 'quality' dining establishments. This venue is one of a very small shortlist of places there that I would say is ok to try out, just don't set your expectations sky high.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank gavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had my wedding reception here in 2008 and it was amazing! The food is out of this world, no one went home hungry. The staff were great and as we live in England a lot of trust was put upon the hotel to deliver and they delivered! they were very very good if your thinking of having your wedding reception here DO IT! we come back every year since our wedding day for dinner there and it just gets better and better ( we see my family too). Its very well located on the Dublin road and is easy to find, loads of parking and lovely rooms Cavan is an amazing county and this hotel makes it perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a wedding last year(did not stay the night)....hotel was great, good staff lots of room...couldn't fault it.
Had another wedding a few weeks ago and we decided to stay this time.....was a thursday and they charged us 120 euro for a night ....very dear for thursday and the breakfast that we got looked like it was cooked hours ago(we were the 1st people for the breakfast)???strange...the food seems to have gone down hill which is a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ren101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Batt Burns really knows Ireland. Going on one of his bus tours and staying in several hotel B&Bs was a wonderful experience for our first trip to Ireland. Several people on our tour had been on Batts trips before and loved it so much they wanted to go again. He is such a wonderful person. His wife was with us. She is an accomplished dulcimer player.
The staff at Hotel Kilmore are exceptionally nice. They went the extra mile to make me feel at home when my husband became ill and was hospitalized. I will never forget their kindness. What a warm and comforting group of people they have! Our room overlooked a beautiful green hill with cows grazing on it. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we attended 2 weddings here within 2 weeks. The food was absolutely amazing at both. The rooms were very nice and the staff very attentive. It is definitely the place to have a wedding. Beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: The food is so good - you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Another Great stay at the Kilmore , this is our 4th stay & are again impressed by the courtesy & friendliest of the Staff, on Desk / Bar / Restaurant / Room, wish we could bring this Hotel back home with us to Scotland. Cheers John & Maureen. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Lovely view across to hills & meadows on 1st floor south side .
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
0.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
789 reviews
3.3 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
22.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilmore

Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $109 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kilmore 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kilmore, Cavan, situated just five minutes from Cavan Town on the main Dublin to Cavan Road.The Hotel Kilmore is the perfect blend between Old World Charm and New World Elegance. The hotel location, set amongst landscaped gardens, makes it the perfect setting for a pleasurable weekend break, lavish banquet, wedding, conference or business event. We offer our guests an uncompromising level of service, personal yet efficient. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmore Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing