We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hotel”
Review of Hotel Kilmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kilmore
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. Lovely and warm (well heated). Everything was lovely. We were there
for three nights. Meal on Thursday and Friday was lovely. Saturday I had the same
meal as I had on Thursday and my husband had duck. The duck was terrible and when we remarked they didn't want to know. My husband mentioned it again when we were checking out but was ignored. This is the only bad comment i could make on this hotel. A pity as everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: Not too far from the stairs. Appeared to be no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alila60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed there for one night. The receptionist was very pleasant and nice on check in. We had two interconnecting rooms which worked very well. I am glad the 4 of us were not cramped into one room. One of the rooms had a king bed and the other had a double and a single. The swing doors into the bathrooms are indeed quirky at best, I would have preferred it they could lock from the inside. The room was very warm and clean.

We ate in the hotel bar and the food was fine but a little more than we would have liked to pay for a family night away. The hotel reception area became very crowded and full as the night went on and it was really hot.

At 6 am the alarm went off which was very unfortunate.

The only negative thing about the stay was the lack of free wifi, you needed to obtain a code from reception, and log in to an internet provider. When the code ran out after 45 minutes you needed to get another code from reception. Very odd.

Breakfast was plentiful if a little chaotic in service, but there was a lot of families staying.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a family celebration here. The hotel is located just outside Cavan town and has plenty of parking space free of charge. We checked in without any fuss and our room was on the 1st floor. It was very clean and had a lovely en suite bathroom. The meal we had at the party was very good and the restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and helpful.
The lobby area is lovely and spacious with a warm open fire and comfy couches where we could sit and relax and watch the world go by! The breakfast was very good and our tea and toast were topped up without us even needing to ask. I would certainly stay here again. It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

An average hotel in Cavan town, Actually the hotel is about 10 minutes out of the horrendous traffic of Cavan town. We hadn't made a reservation but reception was efficient and welcoming the room was a bit on the small size but it was only for a night. Bar food was ok we were unfortunate to have been there during a comedy show so with the influx of locals in their finery, some meals on the menu were out. My wife had a bit of a fuss with the chef when she ordered a well done hamburger that came over- rare and the waitress and bar manager claiming it was well done and it was only the dye in the meat that kept it red. This of course is a load of rubbish and catering staff should be a little more honest when mistakes are made. Breakfast was good and choices were also good. All in all an average hotel not the best or worst we have stayed in it is good for a stop over there is no wow factor in the town or hotel.

Room Tip: be away from the area where a show is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank henry091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed for one night, the room stank of cigarette smoke, was very small and the open slat saloon swing type double door on the loo was just ridiculous. The food at the wedding ok, breakfast was pretty awful. Check out was very early 11.30am. Overall very bad value for 140 euro, we won't be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aaaaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel won't win any design awards for its exterior appearance, somewhat like a 1970's pre-fab finish which is a pity because once inside there is a very cosy and welcoming atmosphere helped by the extremely friendly and efficient receptionists on the front desk.

We had meals from the bar menu which were good value and well presented, the service was a little slow but that seems to be the norm in Irish country hotels.

The room was spotlessly clean with a flat screen tv and was well heated as were the public areas we came across, the famous swing doors into the bathroom are a bit of an eye sore and whoever dreamt those up was definitely out of touch.

The breakfast was the usual fare from the ubiquitous hot bins.......... what a waste of good food left stewing for God knows how long, when will hotels go back to serving breakfast to their clients at the table, surely there must be a plus to be gained by presenting food which arrives freshly cooked and most importantly looks appetising.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel Kilmore has a lovely homely atmosphere. Especially in front of fire in the lobby. Food was excellent and everyones needs were catered for. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a wonderful time.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AMFUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
0.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
3.3 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
12.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
10.5 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
11.2 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilmore

Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kilmore 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kilmore, Cavan, situated just five minutes from Cavan Town on the main Dublin to Cavan Road.The Hotel Kilmore is the perfect blend between Old World Charm and New World Elegance. The hotel location, set amongst landscaped gardens, makes it the perfect setting for a pleasurable weekend break, lavish banquet, wedding, conference or business event. We offer our guests an uncompromising level of service, personal yet efficient. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmore Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing