We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, reasonably priced with good service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, reasonably priced with good service”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed here while visiting an elderly relative in hospital and found it most satisfactory. Even when i came back late after food service was finished they gave me tea & sandwiches when i asked for it which i very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
22
32
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend. Absolutely loved it and will be recommending it to everyone planning a few days away. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere around it was great .Defo be coming again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mullyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.louth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here one night and should have known better as I waited at reception there was a heavy smell of curry in the air but no receptionest to be seen, then some one came out and shouted what you looking for?. I should have walked then. Anyway the roon was the worst I have stayed in it was like a storage room for bad furniture. The bar was busy and the barman no personality it seemed to bread his heart everythime someone asked for a drink. Won't be back thanks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabrielleCo_louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cavan hotels

monaghan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

me and the guys that work for me enjoyed a great night out in cavan only to return to the farham arms hotel and to ask the night porter to let them into their room as one of their friends was in bed already due to havin a good night and their was only one key he said he could not find their names on the register so he called the so called security staff ie bouncer,s or bully,s as i would call them to make a long story short they beat me up badly they beat my two members of staff up and the funny thing about it all is after we got a goog kicking they opened the doors and let us all into bed as i am in business i know all about duty of care the farham arms hotel is a dump being run by thugs i would never advise anyone to ever stay there i am going to take this matter further watch this space what a joke

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank misterjMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Overcharged (pay in advance for the night - not at checkout time!) for a triple room with tiny beds, and unhygenic conditions. Window wouldn't close properly, room was overlooking a noisey street opposite a nightclub. Breakfast was good and plentiful however. Would be suitable if it was half of the price they were charging, and the accomodation was cleaned up a bit, and you were not expecting too much.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
10.6 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
13.5 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Breffni Arms Hotel
Breffni Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farnham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farnham Arms Hotel

Property: The Farnham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing