We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little spot”

Hard Boiled Egg Cafe
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: this is a family friendly cafe with a lot to offer the hungry traveller,with foods from all around the world form the american eggs benedict made famous by the waldorf hotel,to fajitas to fish and chips this cafe loves what it does and constantly update the menu to please as many as possible. so if you only need to take the waight off with a latte, or want to fill up on an american grill we cater to all. but if you feel you want to try a bit of history why not try our Guinness world record "World largest commercally available full irish/english breakfest" its not for the faint hearted.
Cavan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little spot”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This restaurant/cafe is on the edge of Cavan Town as you enter from the southern side (Dublin Road). Because of its peripheral location it tends to never fill up and a seat is always available. Staff are very efficient and friendly and the food is fine. Whether you're having a large lunch or a simple cup of tea the service is always quick and courteous. A lovely little spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CavanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    60
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food,bring back old menu price!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat out in Cavan . Food is always brilliant.Burgers and pancakes especially good. Only problem is the new menu is very expensive, burgers dont include chips, bring back old prices and you are onto a winner!

Helpful?
2 Thank ljak18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times and they have a bit more than your standard meat and two veg. Very varied menu, milkshakes etc. Its a diner type place and very family friendly. Try the world record breakfast if you dare! I also have to compliment the staff, my mother was in hospital recently and choking for a decent cup of tea. I wanted to get her some but it was near closing time. I went in and asked if I could "borrow" a teapot full of tea (hospital is two minutes up the road), it was no problem whatsoever they said just leave the pot at the door and they would get it the next day. A very happy mother!

Give this place a go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank designerwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Irish/american style food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, only complaint I have is as a regular I was disappointed when they brought in the new menu recently- they also greatly upped their prices on everything, up to 2-3 euro on most meals and when your eating their with a family, that adds up quickly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service & great food - what's not to love?”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

As an American living abroad, it can be difficult to marry the cost of eating out with the quality, quantity and level of service as sometimes found in Irish restaurants. This place is the exception - absolutely delicious food, in very good portion sizes for a resonable price and accompanied by superb staff and service - so good that when my American family visited, we ate here 4 or 5 times, they kept wanting to go back and try other things on the menu! Recommendations for the cajun wrap and the omlettes - amazing. And they treated our daughter like a princess, we couldn't find better service in all of Ireland. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S0hi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Boiled Egg Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Boiled Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing