We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great variety and lovely staff”

Hard Boiled Egg Cafe
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: this is a family friendly cafe with a lot to offer the hungry traveller,with foods from all around the world form the american eggs benedict made famous by the waldorf hotel,to fajitas to fish and chips this cafe loves what it does and constantly update the menu to please as many as possible. so if you only need to take the waight off with a latte, or want to fill up on an american grill we cater to all. but if you feel you want to try a bit of history why not try our Guinness world record "World largest commercally available full irish/english breakfest" its not for the faint hearted.
virginia cavan
1 review
“Great variety and lovely staff”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Myself and my mother are regular visitors when we go shopping every Thursday and we always enjoy the food and even more so, the lovely staff. The variey is great and lately they've added "specials" to make it even better. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
thanks margaret, glad you and your mother enjoy what we do. look out for the new menu comming soon and a new range of specials. thanks again, Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    61
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rub-a-dub-dub...thanks for the grub”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I love this place and have taken my family there a couple of times. The food is great. It is a diner menu and there are plenty of Burgers and chicken dishes on the menu. Make no mistake though, you will not leavethis place hungry. I particularly like the Americfan Grill which has your full fry content plus Steak for €15.

The staff really make this place especially if you have young children as there is always a supply of colouring books and pencils/crayons to keep them entertained after ordering. There's usually ice cream given to them as well which is a really nice touch.

I've only one issue. The last two times I've been there, the toilet was a bit of a mess. Granted it was very busy both times and maybe no-one said anything to the staff but it was a disappointing to see for the second time in a row. It wont stop me going back though, but maybe I'll use the loo somewhere else first!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurgan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
hi Kurgan, thanks very much for your kind review, we do strive for the best and i really apoligise for the toilets the last time you were in, in respone to this we have started a new regime of toilet checks at least every half an hour and intalled new bins in both toilets. in the longer term we will have a new toilet in place in about 3 weeks and this will ease the pressure on the existing two toilets. we thank you for your comments and your custom. Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just to clarify, this is not a restaurant. It is a "greasy spoon" style cafe. It has some American theme features but its core menu item is a fried Irish Breakfast. I don't think it even opens in the evenings.

They have what they claim is a Guinness World Record breakfast at 4kg. If you finish this you don't have to pay.

I have had the pancakes on one occasion, which were nice, and a fried breakfast on another which was just average. If you are looking to grab a quick bite in Cavan it's fine.

If you are looking for an excellent restaurant in the Cavan area, the Olde Post Inn a few miles outside of town is superb. The Oak Room is the best restaurant in the town itself.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abc246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
hi abc246, thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the pancakes, yes we are an american style cafe (not themed) and we offer a wide and varied selection of breakfast, lunch and early evening meals, apart from the traditional irish breakfast we offer eggs benidict, monte cristos and lots of other selections for breakfast and ckicken, beef and fish dished for lunch alongside paninis, wraps and a mexican section plus lots more all cooked fresh to order and at reasonable prices. thank you for your comments and we hope your back soon and maybe try one of our homemade burgers. thanks Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of the Rest”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

What can i say only id travel back to Cavan just to eat here,friendly staff and my god great food,i have not attempted it yet but they have a record breakfast that i must try soon because im sure once i start eating it there will b none left,best in town that ive tryed.keep up the great work guys,see you soon

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belturbet, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Birthday Suprise”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We eat here a few times a month and since today was the hubbys 50th Birthday, but he wanted to keep things "low key", he said let's go out for a nice quiet breakfast. So we went to our favorite place, the Hard Boiled Egg in Cavan Town. I told the crew it was his birthday and the whole staff brought him his breakfast and sang Happy Birthday to him.....so much for his low key, quiet birthday. Thanks to John and all the wonderful staff for the awesome food and the great service!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smithhouse_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
i do hope we sufficantly embarrassed him and will gladly do it again. thanks Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Boiled Egg Cafe also viewed

Cavan, County Cavan
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to Hard Boiled Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing