We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choices on the specials”

The Oak Room Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great choices on the specials”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Went here as a party of 6, really enjoyed the food, my companions all had steak which they enjoyed and I had fish. Have left it too late to remember all the details but I would recommend it. The service was friendly and there was a good atmosphere. We were a bit limited by time as we had an early booking and had to vacate the table for another party, however we were NOT put under pressure by staff to finish on time which is a very strong plus. I would recommend this place for any diners and any occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Genepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    64
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pure heaven, with lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went here because of the great reviews it had on trip advisor and they didnt lie. Lovely atmosphere and great steak. really good value for a three course meal during the week.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank weeroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I Ate here one night during a short break in a nearby hotel. The menu we felt was limited although this was made up for by a reasonable choice of available specials. Given that it was a Wednesday night we thought that was fair enough. Fairly good value asIrish prices go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craicnceol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

First class restaurant food and service excellent. Will definitely return again. Would recommend it for any occasion. Top of my list in the area. Expensive but its worth it. Will be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Delicious"”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have dined here on numerous occassions and I have never been dissapointed. I highly recommend this Restaurant. Staff are lovely , Food and Wine excellent . What more could you ask for ?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty68296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Room Restaurant also viewed

Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to The Oak Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing