We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the locals go!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak Room Restaurant

The Oak Room Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
“Where the locals go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I came to Cavan for a pre-valentines weekend last week and we chose to eat in this restaurant based on local recommendations. We dined on a Friday (could not get a table for the Saturday) and the place was packed! The staff are extremely friendly and local and the service was excellent.
The menu had a good selection to suit all and there were great specials on blackboards that we could mix with the menu we had. The wine list is very good and well priced and I have to say we had a great evening and will definately recommend it to our friends.
One thing I noted was there was alot of locals dining here (could hear the waiting staff chatting to them) and in my opinion that is always a great endorsment for a restaurant in a small town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    64
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bucking the trend!! Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Question: How many restaurants do you know are booked out in January in a recession? Answer: Very good ones!!

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times and had forgotten how good it is. Staff are very friendly and atmosphere was good! They have competitive rates compared to the more affluent days of 2007-8, but I'm delighted to say that the same maximum effort is put into ensuring guests have great food. The cuisine is just quality!!!
Moreover we had vouchers that were out of date and they agreed to accept them.

We will definitely be back. And for that matter we will never let vouchers run close again, as this establishment is too good to have vouchers lying in the cupboard!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paddytrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Recommended by Hotel staff.. Food was excellent, surroundings lovely & not overly pricey, if back in Cavan would visit again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VixterF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best steaks for ages!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came here after reading Tripadvisors' reviews.
We were not disappointed. The very young staff were warm, friendly and provided a great service.
The menu is smallish but freshly prepared food is on offer and I looked at several our diners's meals and liked what I saw.
We settled on a 10oz sirloin each and were greatly encouraged by what we read about their beef written on the menu. Irish beef bought from... And the name of a local butcher.
Medium rare and , seriously, these were the best sirloins we had tasted in a very long time. We travel four months every year and have almost given up on steak because the quality is so poor but these were outstanding. It was worth a trip to Cavan Town, which impressed us, just for the sirloins.
Great little restaurant and we would definitely recommend. The duck looked good too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went for dinner on 8/12/12. when i rang i quoted menu for 27e, to be told it had increased to 30e.. which was ok. went and had dinner. enjoyed it, all was lovely

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing