We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food at a real valuable price.”
Review of Stella Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stella Maris Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

There is no doubt about it - if you visit Kilkee in County Clare and you do not dine at the Stella Maris hotel - you will not have experienced the most exquisite meal and the greatest service. Never mind the Cliffs of Mohr - The Stella Maris cuisine is truly a wonder of the world. Be prepared to want to go back there for a second and third visit - it is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Stella Maris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited Kilkee this weekend and called in for something to eat. We had the best fish, chips and peas I've ever had. It really was excellent. The price was very good too. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and were genuine with it. It was nice and warm too with a lovely real fire burning. We liked it so much we went back again the night after and tried different meals again it was beautiful and there was plenty of it. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

we met here for a drink and chat I had coffee and a sandwich was made using considine's bread
my friends liked the view from the veranda we were there for a while the prices were very reasonable coffee €2.20 sandwich €4.20

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimB787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As a regular to the small town of Kilkee i always visit the Stella Maris.
Last year my sisters wedding was held at this hotel. It was one of the best weekends of my life. The manager of the hotel was so helpful and did a lot of the preparations for us as we are from England. The day went off without a hitch and we really can't thank the Stella Maris enough. All the guest from England were amazed at how brilliant the weekend was. The views and amazing weather probably helped as well!
The food was amazing and always is.
A great place to go for dinner or just for a coffee and a chill out.
They do a brilliant pint of Guinness and I have always found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a week vacation in Ireland. We spent one night at the Stella Maris, and it spoke to our heart. I didn't know places like this existed anymore. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast, loved the view. The staff was friendly. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Walking up stairs was very nostalgic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently had a meal in the restaurant at Stella Maris with my family and the food was AMAZING and very good value. It was so good that we returned for a second meal on our last night (when we always try to find somewhere special) and we were not disappointed as again the food was exceptional with a good range of wine at reasonable prices. The only negative that impacted on our enjoyment was the waitress on the last night was very unfriendly and most unhelpful, unlike the young waitress on our first visit who was quite the opposite. But despite this we would go back and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Have the surf and turf - its really good! Also great steaks
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Kilkee after a long, long absence, we decided to stay at Stella Maris and were both pleasantly surprised and had a great time.

When we arrived Anne showed us to our room which was spacious, bright, spotlessly clean with a partial sea view. The room was located away from the street, so was very quiet at night.

A tasty breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking O'Curry Street, so it brought back so many good memories having spent many summers in Kilkee. Before breakfast I had a walk on the beach and then after eating I headed off around the town.

When in Kilkee again, we will definitely stay at Stella Maris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,315 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel

Address: O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: $113 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing