We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B ,great hospitality”
Review of Keane's Oyster Bar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keane's Oyster Bar
Ranked #5 of 6 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Keane's .We had 4 lovely nights with them ,very welcoming ,great service and food . If you want a peaceful break with a great location for all tourist attractions and scenery, this is the place to go .Thanks again to Michael, Bridie and family, hope to see you again in the future

Room Tip: The small apartments are great ,they give you extra space and you could cook - if you wanted !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolLindyhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in Kane's 23 & 24 May. Had booked B&B but was given self catering unit which was clean bright & very spacious - and no extra charge. Really comfortable bed, loads of extra towels, plenty tea/coffee etc, nicely furnished and so quiet The owners Michael & Breege were so friendly & welcoming we felt like we were among old friends. Michael went to each table during breakfast to make sure everything was ok and was more than willing to offer tips and advice for where to go and what to see in Clare. The food was excellent in quality and portion size. First time we've stayed an Irish Hotel or B & B and were able to order freshly cooked Breakfast exactly as we like it. Dinner was also above average - haven't tasted lamb like that in a very long time and the steak was superb and again generous portion size and offers of more.
The bar is small and old fashioned but all the better for that - nice to see & smell the real turf fire and talk to the locals. Its the sort of place where you can escape from the cares of the world and really relax and absorb the tranquillity of the countryside. The scenery is breathtaking and there are so many lovely walks. So glad Michael advised us to visit Loop Head - amazing scenery and no surprise it won Irish Times best place to holiday in Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I could waste 10 minutes describing the average food, high prices, atrocious service and brutal wifi but why should I bother? Not to mention the doors to the toilets jammed open which left an interesting scent 10 metres from the restaurant. I could go on but instead we paid our bill and left, I've better things to do with my time. My review relates to the bar/restaurant only, we will never return

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Only1Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Keane's for 2 nights mid May. We stayed in one of their self catering units which had everything we needed for our stay. There is a small bar with a turf fire which was warm, cosy and very welcoming and a small shop onsite.
The most outstanding thing about Keanes, without a doubt, is the food. It was excellent - 5 star quality with a fantastic selection with an emphasis on fish. Freshly cooked by the owner, Micheal, and served by his lovely daughter.
It is a family run business with a friendliness you wouldn't find in most hotels. Thanks again to Michael and Bridget for a lovely stay. We would highly recommend it!
Pat and Mary Kennedy

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marykenn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

stayed 4 nights in april and may,great location,the breakfasts and dinners were of a very high standard,try the fillet steak,yum,,,,,room was cozy and very quiet,very friendly owners,thanks michael.....hope to return in the future.kay and john...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have nothing negative to say whatsoever about this place. It is homely, the owners are friendly. It is in a good location so easy drive to all the usually toursity things. We ate in the restaurant and the food was as good if not better than anything we have eaten elsewhere. The only complaint we had is we had no room for dessert!

Other places could take a leaf out of the owners book. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designerwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My partner and I spent two wonderful nights in this family run establishment. The family were so accommodating and really made us feel at home and without doubt the food was top class. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eimear462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkee hotels
2.5 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
388 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
230 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nolan's B&B
Nolan's B&B
#3 of 6 in Kilkee
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kilkee Hostel B&B
Kilkee Hostel B&B
#2 of 7 in Kilkee
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keane's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keane's Oyster Bar

Address: Lisdeen, Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed Oyster Bar & Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast & self-catering accommodation. Situated on the beautiful South West coast of Ireland in Co. Clare, 3 miles from the renowned seaside town of Kilkee. Ideal base for touring or if you prefer, just relaxing, being lazy and enjoying the hospitality of your hosts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing