We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what was wanted”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what was wanted”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A comfortable room wit immediate sea views, a friendly welcome, and outstanding cookery. The room, though very clean, was a little tired in the fixtures and fittings, but the food more than made up for it. An excellent place to stay, and we're very likely to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    26
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
52
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Lunched with my parents who honeymooned here 48 yrs ago. They were delighted with the place still being there. Da had the fish special, cod and chips. Some size and lovely, enough to give us a taste! Crab open sandwich slightly over powered by the red onion otherwise good. Club sandwich also went down well. €100 for 5 including wine and beers..... We had more than 1 bottle. Sat outside in very comfortable seats in lovely weather all very continental except for lack of and umbrella!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cilldara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Strand in early July 2013 and truly enjoyed our stay. Johnny and Caroline were great hosts and very personable. The view from the room was amazing, looking right over the beach. The room was clean and quiet. The location is great, not only right on the beach, but close to the Loophead, boat to Scattery Island, Kilrush and the ferry across the Shannon River. Parking was always available right in front of the guesthouse. The bistro had great service and food (the best salmon in Ireland!), having the restaurant downstairs is a wonderful option for when the weather is a bit chilly and wet. We will definitely stay here again when we return to the Kilkee area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiLakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Well, We loved this place.
We had read that 1 star review by a single man who complained about squeaking floor boards etc and then we had read 2 or 3 other reviews giving 5 stars - So whilst Eliz was opting for another B&B , I wanted to give this place a try. Well we both dont regret my decision at all. (Not often I have a win). We have been free wheel traveling in Ireland for 5 nights now and last nights meal was the best food we have had to date. The baked SeaBass with a herb crust was delicious and so was everything else. Apple crumble to die for. Friendly staff - smiling happy helpful with time for a chat. Cant rate the place highly enough. And yes, it is a 100 year plus old building so it does have some quirks, but this is part of the charm. That is why we are travelling between little Irish villages. Love the atmosphere. Cheers Peter and Elizabeth Dance

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Enjoy the comfort of large armchairs in the sitting areas and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had a wish list for summer 2013 ... A sun holiday by the sea... wish granted ........... both Jerry & myself had the most beautiful few days in The Strand Bistro and Guesthouse. Staff excellent on an extremely busy and warm night. they went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible... we slept & woke to the sound of the sea........food excellent ... one of the best places I have stayed in a long, long time at an affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahsloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnykilkee, Owner at The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks a lot Jerry and Sarah for your nice comments .... Thanks also for your business and we at The Strand are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much ...looking forward to your next visit.....
Johnny and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ridge, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we planned our week long Ireland trip, (driving a rental car), we scheduled one night in Kilkee to break up our drive from Doolin to the Dingle Peninsula. So, we didn't really view Kilkee as an actual destination, but rather a brief stop to recharge. We chose the Strand because of the location overlooking the beach, as well as the convenience of having the restaurant right there (and, of course, the very positive Tripadvisor reviews.). The Strand absolutely met our expecations.

We arrived at the Strand about 8:30 pm, quite hungry (and a bit stressed) from a long day of driving through the Burren after leaving Doolin. The friendly staff at the Strand assured us we had plenty of time to eat in the restaurant, despite the 9pm closing time. We had a fantastic meal at our table overlooking the beach, and relaxed with our glasses of wine and stout.

Since the building was originally an older, smaller hotel dating back to Kilkee's earlier resort days. the rooms are not Ritz-Carlton suites. But they certainly have all the amenities you could want in this price range, as well as the unique character and charm one would expect when staying at Irish guesthouses and B&Bs. Our room had windows in the bedroom and bathroom with views of the beach.

The breakfast was as delicious as the dinner the night before, and despite a light early morning rain, it was inspirational to have the beautiful ocean/beach views.

Before breakfast, my husband had his early morning walk heading south from the Strand along the coast. He saw the home which Richard Harris had lived, and beyond that walked along a beautiful trail on cliffs which were nearly as spectacular as the Cliffs of Moher.

Driving from Kilkee that morning toward the ferry in Killimer, we wished we could have had another night at the Strand to explore Kilkee and the Loop Head Peninsula. If you're planning your itinerary for an Ireland trip via rental car, you may want to consider this if time allows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomastown, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Didn't have an end destination when driving through Clare. Stopped at The Strand, if only to check out the place where Che Guevara stopped over unexpectedly in '61.

The welcome was friendly. I asked one of the staff if there was a room available as the setting in front of the beach was a perfect setting to lay the head for a night. Caroline who was eating her meal got up to show me a room herself. What a service !. The standard of service and friendliness remained marvelous. Decided to stay an extra day, using here as a base.

The only downside was that wifi didn't work in the room but would highly recommend stopping here if passing through this part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.1 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
194 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse

Property: The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Address: Strand Line, Kilkee 123, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house popularly known as "The Strand" is now owned by Johnny (the Chef) and Caroline Redmond and Family. The Redmond's are the fourth generation of a family that have been in the business of catering and hospitality for 'visitors' to Kilkee for practically 160 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing