We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We return every year...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We return to this lovely guest house every year. We have never been disappointed with either the food or the rooms. Lovely, friendly, comfortable rooms and Johnny is the best chef around....We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kilkee....

Room Tip: rooms oceanside have a great view with window seat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kflannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Strand Bistro and Guesthouse used to be simply the "Strand Hotel" when I first visited it in the 1960s. Back then it was a classic Irish seafront hotel. Now it's still classic but it's morphed into a bistro/restaurant, a bar, and a guesthouse that has a small number (six, I think) of rooms. The restaurant specializes in fish so that's what you should eat because the meal will be well cooked. Other run-of-the-mill items such as steaks are included but you're beside the sea so eat well from the sea. The bistro has tables that overlook Moore Bay, which is a sandy crescent that the town of Kilkee is wrapped around. Sunsets can be spectacular! The rooms in the guesthouse are varied - no bland hotel-to-a-recipe here. Ask to see the available rooms to select the type that you like best. Several face the front and overlook the bay so they are the best to go for.

Room Tip: Take a room to the front so that you have the advantage of the stunning view over Moore Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a really cosy and nice place to stay. Especially the owner Johnny and his small team do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. He knows al lot about the region and the economy there and is very open and friendly to tell you everything you want to know. He gave us many good advices about daytrips (Loop Head!!! which actually is so much nicer than the touristic Cliffs of Moher, the Scenic Route there really deserves its name) and walks. The cliffs near Kilkee are at a ten-minutes-walking distance and we were overwhelmed.
We had a really relaxing time there and stayed three nights. The room had a spectacular view at the sea, even though the weather was rather rough when we stayed there.
The restaurant is also run by Johnny, and the food is really good. It was the best we had in Kilkee. I can really recommend that place and will go back there whenever I am around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettinaL286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Having found the Strand on the internet, I was not confident until our arrival; we were warmly met by Johnny, who owns and operates a well run, family oriented guesthouse. It was clean; views beautiful; delicious breakfast, and good value, especially with Euro exchange! With Doonbeg just up the road, a perfect spot for golfing couples.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank conniebonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

It was stormy when we arrived, but the room was cosy, I loved the window seat looking out over the bay. The food is fantastic. The staff really helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twoatemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Every person who works at this hotel was friendly, helpful and free with their knowledge of the area. My group consisted of two adults and two hard to please teenage kids. The room was lovely, warm with loads of towels and extra pillows etc. The view was just perfect of kilkee beach and it was lovely to lie in bed at night and watch the sun go down over kilkee bay. This guesthouse is right in the centre of the beach and also the town so everything is within 100 meters walking distance from here. We had booked kayaking with NevSail that day and after a fabulous day on the ocean we ate in the hotel restaurant which is worth a visit even if you are not staying at this place. This morning breakfast was fit for a king. Even 2 ravenous teenage kids could not finish the full irish followed by cereal and unlimited toast, tea, yogurts, fresh fruit etc. Having stayed in many hotels and guesthouses I often find that they fail to live up to their glamorous image but this place is simply the best. This morning we went sailing again with NevSail and even though we had checked out of the hotel the owner kindly allowed us to use the showers etc upon our return in the afternoon. Nothing is too much effort for this hotel and I am already planning my next visit. Just fantastic. A top tip if you are visiting kilkee is to prebook activities with NevSail (eg kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, snorkelling etc) as his beach cabin is directly outside the door of this hotel and he is extremely safety conscious whilst great fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Went to the Strand and stayed for two nights. We had been there before and returned as it is a wonderful place to stay and the view is amazing. Door was locked but called number that was on the door and Johnny the owner came down and assisted us with our luggage. We had room #3 and the bedroom and bathroom had huge windows you could open giving us a beautiful view of the bay and also the sound of the waves as we slept at night. Room and bathroom were the cleanest I have ever seen. Bed was extremely comfortable. We had a nice pot to boil our water for coffee in the am before we went down for breakfast. Breakfast was wonderful and made by Johnny himself. Nice Irish breakfast and also fruits and yogurts and cereal. At the front there is a place where there are tables and chairs and it is amazing to sit there and watch the sun set and the calmness of the ocean. When we arrived back after driving around the loop(which is amazing and as beautiful as the Cliffs of Moher) our bathroom and bedroom had been cleaned and towels were replaced as well as coffee cups. Extremely clean. They have a lovely bar inside where you can still see the views and also a restaurant. We did not eat at the restaurant this time but have before and it is very good and yet again done by Johnny. He takes great pride in his place and his wife also. Knowing how busy they are running the place they still took the time to talk to us and this made us feel very at home. It also seems that his daughter is doing kayaking for people off the bay and we saw many people going on but did not get a chance to do this. Next time I hope. We would recommend this place to anyone and we will be back again soon. So Johnny thank you for your great hospitality.

Mike and Mary Bullock

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellow2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.1 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,332 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
598 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse

Address: Strand Line, Kilkee 123, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range: $42 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house popularly known as "The Strand" is now owned by Johnny (the Chef) and Caroline Redmond and Family. The Redmond's are the fourth generation of a family that have been in the business of catering and hospitality for 'visitors' to Kilkee for practically 160 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing