We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Bay View in October 2013 and we loved it! We drove in to Kilkee not really knowing what to expect and with no accommodation booked but be are glad we found this B&B. The room we stayed in was excellent. There was plenty of space for 2 people and it had ocean views from the window. Downstairs, the dining room is nice and also has views of the bay. Breakfast was really good with a selection of cereals, cold meats, fruit etc. and a hot breakfast available to order. The pub area is excellent with full bar facilities, I just wish we were there on a weekend so we could have seen some live music at the venue. Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Damon,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, it means a lot! I'm delighted that we could accommodate you at such short notice, and I'm also delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy you found the dining room to be nice, and that you enjoyed our varied selection of breakfast!

Thank you once again for your custom and kind recommendation. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Bay View again in future (hopefully during a weekend!).

Kind Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 389 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Bay View out of season so there wasn't much going on in kilkee, but the host, Mary at Bay View made us feel very welcome, looked after us and served a fantastic breakfast in the morning! Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imo2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Imo2909,
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

... most of all, the staff has been welcoming us with a warm and direct style.
It has been a great time which justifies to fly from the French Riviera directly to Kilkee !
Another point, there is a fantastic scenery on the cliffs very closed to this place.
A big big thanks to all the staff !
Xavier

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javierch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Javierch M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review of Bayview, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Bay View in Kilkee in May 2013 (sorry for late report but we have been busy!) and we found the facility to be great and most of all the service and helpfulness of the staff and of Mrs Kickie to be beyond excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View (we too have been busy!). I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Kilkee at the Bay view for one night. The rooms were large and comfortable. The part of the B&B that we stayed in had just been renovated, and all the amenities were new. The owner was very helpful in pointing out a local restaurant - That turned out to be fantastic. Breakfast was extremely well put together, we ate in a cozy dining room. Excellent place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear wood 456,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, it means a lot!
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future!

Kind Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful long weekend in Kilkee staying at the Bay View. Comfortable, clean, friendly, lovely landlady and excellent helpful efficient staff. We had a fabulous, clean, large room with a bay window view of the bay. En-suite bathroom was immaculate. Breakfast delicious, so enjoyable- could have been there all day!. Met up with friends and missed 12.30am lock-up Sat night but gained entry easily from landlady Mary ! Had a lovely bay window furnished with chairs and table in room with sea view.
Only thing missing was tea-making facility! Just what's needed when sitting there watching the sea and enjoying the stunning scenery. Will definitely go back again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Any with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, it means a lot! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future!

Kind Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Chose Kilkee as an off-the-beaten-track venue and the Bay View as a typical Irish b and b. Two great decisions! We wanted to experience typical, not tourist, Ireland and Kilkee is perfect. Nice beach, excellent, friendly coffee shops, great local village pub with music and chat and a high class eatery in Naughton's - so good we ate there twice!
Bay View was all we hoped it would be - good, slightly quirky, atmosphere, bar attached, lovely landlady and a fabulous, clean, large room with a bay window view of the bay. Staff excellent, breakfast enjoyable. The draw of the music, Guinness and chat with Munster rugby fans in the local hostelry meant we missed the 12.30am curfew but gained entry easily! Only small quibble - no tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Room 8! Very spacious, good outlook, very wecoming and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

Dear Martin,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bay View, it means a lot! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, however we now have tea-making facilities in all rooms! I hope you'll come back and test them out!

Kind Regards,
John Hickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
230 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
604 reviews
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
23.2 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,051 reviews
7.6 mi away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: $115 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing