We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic friendly b&b great value for money!”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly b&b great value for money!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have just come back from a visit to Kilkee for a friends wedding we had a lovely time. We arrived at 10.30am and check in wasnt until 3pm but Mary made sure our rooms were serviced first so we could get into the room as soon as possible which was lovely as we had spent all day travelling! Once in the room we were pleasantly surprised ive stayed in 4* accommodation that wasnt as nice we stayed in room 3 and had a fantastic view of the bay. Room was very clean and comfortable and the bath robes were a nice touch.
All staff we came across were extrememly friendly especially the lady who helps with breakfast she went out of her way to get me a cup of tea before the bar opened. Great choice on the breakfast menu and lively friendly atmosphere in the bar.
We would most definately stay here again! The only piece of criticism I would have is that I think there should be tea/coffee facilities in the room so we could get 1 whenever we wanted but its a very small criticism. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillylana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi lillylana, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We always look forward to feedback from guest's. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, as for tea and coffee in the rooms we will have this in the rooms for 2013. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Bayview. Kind Regards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    67
    25
    20
    12
See reviews for
99
150
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just been to Bay View B&B, Kilkee and have to say more than brilliant value for money. Double and twin room, both great sizes with lovely ensuites and comfy beds. Didn't expect toiletries for price but not only did we get some but robes also. Lovely atmosphere in bar and also breakfast was tops with large selection, hot and cold - didn't have to eat again until evening. Waitress on breakfast duty extremely pleasant and hostess, Mary, lovely. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meandmysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi meandymysunshine,,Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Hickies Bar,,I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Bayview in the near future. Kind Regards John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here with family and friends in the end of May this year and it was great. We had a really huge triple room, which was very clean and comfortable. We had a great view out of the cliffs and the sea. Breakfast was lovely and delicious. I`m sure we coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for review, we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your nights stay and breakfast with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview in the near future. Kind Regards, John Hickie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at the Bayview when in Kilkee for a wedding. Couldn't have chosen a better place. Mary was most welcoming and all the staff followed her lead. We felt as if we were among friends. Our room was spotless and although smallish had a lovely sea view. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCloughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate every ones view and feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even though your room was small you still enjoyed all we had to offer. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Bayview in the future. Regards, John Hickie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am just back from a week long stay with my 13 year old son in Bayview Hotel, Kilkee, co. Clare. This place is truly a gem and super value for money. The hospitality is wonderful and the lady of the house, Mary Hickey should be a consultant to a few other places in Kilkee, as they could certainly learn a lot from her professionalism and welcoming manner.

We stayed in a lovely bay facing twin room with two small double beds. The room was bright, spacious, very clean and offered all we needed (including tea and coffee making facilities). The bathroom was also big and we were given lots of fresh towels on a daily basis.

The breakfasts are also a real treat. Lots of local healthy produce and a great menu with warm dishes. My son tried them all; pancakes, scrambled eggs, omelettes, not to mention the traditional "full Irish". The staff are all extremely polite and the whole operation runs very smoothly - all under Mary's watchful eye!

I can thoroughly recommend this cozy "old world" establishment for a wonderful break in a delightful little town on Clare's beautiful coast. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room and try not sleep over the bar, as this can be noisy during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirinda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your week long stay with us and that your son son tried all we have to offer for breakfast. We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Regards, John Hickie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on route back from a wedding, fantastic place to stay lovely staff and great facilities, wi fi in the rooms was an excellent service .hickeys bar also was very homely and had a great atmosphere overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaleenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the atmosphere and Craig that Hickies Bar can offer. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Bayview. Regards, John Hickie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Room was beautifully decorated in a "French country" style. All new furniture and very comfortable bed! The bathroom was modern and absolutely spotless! There was a great selection of food at breakfast and the location of the b&b is great with views of the atlantic from our bedroom window. The owner was lovely and went out of her way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome as we were attending a wedding the next day in the town. The bathrobes, slippers and water on arrival were a nice touch also! I can't see how anyone could say the staff were rude as we thought everyone was really nice, friendly and helpful- from the bar staff to the cleaning staff to the young man at reception. The only thing I would say they could do to improve is to put some blinds on the windows and perhaps some double glazing as it was a bit noisy. This did not take from our experience in Kilkee however and I would definitely stay here again if I were to return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetteriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your very kind words regarding staff and food. We encourage our staff on a daily basis to ensure every guest is made feel at home while staying at Bayview . Thank you for your recommendations but we had blinds in the past and found them very hard to keep clean and all our windows are double glazed. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Bayview in the future. Regards, John Hickie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing