We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation in a lively seaside town”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Really a small hotel than a B&B the Bay View manages to provide extremely pleasant rooms, great bathrooms and fantastic power showers, while retaining; through Mary's attention, the personal touch of a B&B. There's much praise for the breakfasts, which is well earned (particularly the Irish pudding).

A caution - the whole town in tourist season can be loud and rooms at the front that benefit from the sea views can also suffer the the noise from the street and the downstairs lounge bar. Also the cleaning staff have a very indiosyncratic way of tidying the rooms and stuff gets shuffled around - its all there, just not where expected!

In summary - we had a great stay and would recommend (particularly the quieter rooms at the back!).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Wonderful B&B located in the heart of town with a breathtaking view of the beach and harbor. The ensuite rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, and bright with windows. The breakfast room was very comfortable and the food was delicious. Smoked salmon was offered as an alternative for those who were a bit weary of the Irish fry, and it was amazing. The B&B is located close to a nice variety of restaurants and pubs. Easy walk to one of the nicest beaches in Ireland. Don't miss the cliffs south of town!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TosaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Eight of us stayed in June 11. Nicely refurbished rooms and ensuites, an ironing board and iron supplied in room, no tea facilities in room, but when we asked down stairs, a fresh brew and biscuits was immediately forthcoming foc for all of us. Booking via email with John very swift and easy and Mary works very hard (she stayed up until 3.00am one night that I know of and was back on duty at breakfast). Nice full Irish breakfast, clean and central. It was a bit chilly when we arrived (this is the west coast of Ireland after all) but the heating came on early evening to take the chill off and you don't need over heated stuffy rooms in June. Parking was on street, but not a problem. We would recommend this friendly B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BegorraTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here we weren't sure what we should expect. But we were delighted with the place. The rooms were clean and ours was a very good size. It was a great location with views of the Kilkee beach. We just stayed in the pub below the hotel on the first night and it was great craic all together. They had a live band and the place was packed. I will say that if you wanted an early night it would be hard to get sleep as you could hear everything going on below you in the pub downstairs crystal clear. But we weren't there for an early night so it wasn't a bother to us. The breakfast each morning was delicious. You had your choice of a full irish, eggs with salmon, cereals, croissants, etc. We're planning on doing the same weekend next summer and will definitely be staying here again. The owner Mary was as nice as can be and gave you a good country welcoming. Overall, perfect spot in a great little town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankAndPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed at the bay view in june for two nights lovely room and very clean over looking the bay.breakfast was great.Mary john and the staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome.thanks jackie uk Mavis Australia

Room Tip: room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Bayview is a classic B&B in every sense. Mary was very business like at first but we got on very well during our stay. My wife and I were alone, but saw families with older children enjoying their stay. The location is prime, dead center of town. The breakfast was delicious and prompt, with a wide selection on the menu. Rooms were well appointed and clean. The is a bar downstairs, but we were keen to explore, and spent some time at Scotts down the road (they have a great trad band on Mondays).

Overall, I highly recommend Kilkee, and Bayview in particular, especially for the price (35€/pps).

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our first contact with the owners was by phone, who were understandably concerned that our credit card was due to expire before our stay, but once the details were confirmed they were happy to hold the reservation without taking as much as a penny by way of a deposit. We can only compare this with other establishments that insist upon full payment in advance. And upon arrival, everything just as we had expected. We were shown to a room that was well-equipped and which commanded a splendid view across the bay at Kilkee. Some trepidation upon being told about live music in the bar immediately below, but we quickly realised that no other room was likely to be as pleasantly furnished and to have such a good view as this one. Mary simply shrugged away our compliments about the quality of the furniture in the room and gave us recommendations about where to eat in the evening (we chose Naughtons, and would recommend it as well). After our meal, we returned and relaxed in the sun lounge for a while before trying one or two other bars in the town, before returning for a final drink in Hickies' Bar. Thus noise from the bar was not a problem for us. We found a good choice at breakfast set out on the buffet table as well as the expected cooked breakfast. The only point of criticism that we would raise is that the breakfast room appears to be a little small and not adequate for all the guests to be accommodated at once, so that we saw one family having to split itself across two tables in different parts of the room. On the other hand, breakfast does last for 1 1/2 hours so this was just an unfortunate coincidence and probably preferable to the alternative of having a system of 'sittings' for breakfast. Overall, it is a place that we would be happy to return to.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Myrtle_Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
227 reviews
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,331 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
21.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
377 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee V15 Y262, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: $116 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing